Requesting an amendment to a death record through the state registrar
To request an amendment to a death record through the state registrar
1) Mail your request for an amendment to the Office of the State Registrar in the Minnesota Department of Health. The Office of the State Registrar does not have in person service.
2) Submit at least one document that supports the amendment and meets the requirements established in Minnesota Rules, part 4601.1100.
Pay close attention to document requirements. An amendment cannot be made if you do not provide original or authenticated documents that are in good condition and support the amendment you are requesting. We suggest that you print the Requirements for Documents Submitted to Support the Amendment of a Death Record for reference.
3) Include a $40 fee for the amendment as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226, subdivision 1.
5) If you want a death certificate, you may complete the Minnesota Death Record Application - Certified Death Certificate and have your signature on the application notarized.
Death Certificate Application
Interactive Adobe PDF (381Kb/2pg)
The fee for a certified death certificate is $13. You can reduce the fee you are required to pay if you return a death certificate that is in error. To determine the reduced fee, look at the date issued on the bottom of the death certificate. If the date issued is one year ago or less, you may exchange that certificate for the amended certificate at no charge. If the date issued is more than one year ago, you may exchange that certificate for an amended certificate for a $4 fee.
6) Mail your documents, the notarized application(s), and the fee(s) to:
- Minnesota Department of Health
Office of the State Registrar - Death Record Amendments
P.O. Box 64499
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0499