The Office of Vital Records (OVR) at the Minnesota Department of Health maintains records for births occurring in Minnesota in a statewide electronic system. Birth records from 1900 to present are in the electronic system. OVR and county vital records offices both use the electronic system to issue birth certificates to requesters who meet requirements established in Minnesota Statutes.
Historically, birth certificates were filed in the county where the birth took place. Over time, the process of registering births and managing birth records has shifted from the county office to the state office and from paper records to electronic records.
If you need a certificate for someone born in another state, see the National Center for Health Statistics website for contact information.
How do I get a birth certificate?
You must complete an application.
You must meet the legal requirements to get a certified birth certificate.
- You must complete an application to request a certificate.
- You must show valid identification.
- You must sign your application
- You can get a birth certificate only if you have tangible interest.
- You must qualify to get a confidential record in addition to having tangible interest.
- You must pay a fee of $26. If you order more than one copy, each additional copy of the same record is $19. Fees are non-refundable, per Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226.
- You will receive a certified “Statement of No Birth Record Found” if you request a certificate and the state or county vital records office cannot identify or find a record using the information you provide.
Payment is required to get a birth certificate and most other vital records documents.
The fees are the same at all county vital records offices statewide. Check with the county vital records office for payment options. The Office of Vital Records at the state accepts payment by credit card (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover), check or money order. Payment is deposited upon receipt.
All certificates are mailed using First Class Mail®. Rush processing and United Parcel Service (UPS) shipping are offered for additional fees. See the Birth Certificate Application (PDF) for more information. The Office of Vital Records and UPS are not responsible for deliveries that do not require signatures.
How long does it take to get a birth certificate?
The fastest service for most birth and death certificate requests is available from any Minnesota county vital records office. If you need a birth certificate or a death certificate, please make a request in person or by mail to one of the 109 county vital records offices in Minnesota. Increased demand for certificates and special services has created a processing backlog of more than a month at the state Office of Vital Records.
The Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health takes approximately four to six weeks to process a request for a birth certificate. Certificates are mailed by regular First Class Mail®, unless rush shipping via United Parcel Service (UPS) is requested at an additional fee. Rush processing service is also available at an additional fee.
As of April 24, 2017, the Office of Vital Records is mailing birth certificates from applications received on April 11, 2017.
Birth certificates from applications specifying rush processing and received on April 19, 2017 have also been mailed.
If you mailed your request to a county vital records office, check with that office to find out when your request will be processed.
Where do I get a birth certificate?
Birth certificates for people born in Minnesota are available from all county vital records offices and the Office of Vital Records (OVR) at the Minnesota Department of Health. Requesters must meet certain requirements to obtain a birth certificate.
For in person service: Visit any Minnesota county vital records office. Pre-1900 records are available only in the county of birth. In person service is available only at county vital records offices; the Office of Vital Records (state office) does not have walk-in service.
For service by email, fax or mail: Use the Birth Certificate Application (PDF) form to order a certificate. You must sign and date the application in front of a notary public. Send your request to the Office of Vital Records. The Office of Vital Records accepts requests for certificates by email, fax, and mail. Check with the county vital records office about service by mail.
- By email. Scan and email your application to email@example.com. If the notary uses a raised or embossed seal, instead of a rubber ink stamp, please lightly shade over the seal with a pencil so it is visible on the scanned image.
- By fax. Fax your application to 651-201-5740. Do not fax it more than once; each application is processed as a separate request. If the notary uses a raised or embossed seal, instead of a rubber ink stamp, please lightly shade over the seal with a pencil so it is visible on the fax.
- By mail. Mail your application to:
Minnesota Department of Health
Central Cashiering – Vital Records
P.O. Box 64499
St. Paul, MN 55164-0499
If you order a certificate from the Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health, please allow approximately four to six weeks for the office to process your request.
Requests for changes or other services in addition to a certificate may take longer. Certificates are sent by First Class Mail®. The Office of Vital Records offers rush processing for an additional fee, and rush shipping for an additional fee.
Where can I get more information?If you have questions about Minnesota birth certificates, email the Office of Vital Records at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 651-201-5980. You may also contact your county vital records office.