The Office of Vital Records maintains death records for the state of Minnesota. Deaths have been registered electronically since 1997.
State death records start in 1908. If you want a copy of a death record prior to those years please contact the local issuance office in the county where the death occurred.
If you want a copy of a record for a death that occurred in another state, see the National Center for Health Statistics website for contact information.
Where do I get a death certificate?
Death certificates are available from all county local issuance offices and the state. Walk-in service is available at county local issuance offices only. Service through the mail is available from state and county offices. The state office provides service by mail only.
Check with your county office about walk-in service hours and their status on mail services. The Minnesota Office of Vital Records (state office) does not have walk-in service.For in person service: Visit any Minnesota county local issuance office for records 1997-present. Pre-1997 records are available only in the county of death or through the Minnesota Office of Vital Records (see below). Pre-1908 records are available only in the county of death.
Payment is accepted by credit card (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover), check or money order and is deposited upon receipt.
- By email. You can scan and email your application to firstname.lastname@example.org. If the notary uses a raised or embossed seal, instead of a rubber ink stamp, please lightly shade over the seal with a pencil so it is visible on the scanned image.
- By fax. You can fax your application to 651-201-5740. Do not fax it more than once; each application is processed as a separate request. If the notary uses a raised or embossed seal, instead of a rubber ink stamp, please lightly shade over the seal with a pencil so it is visible on the fax.
- By mail. You can mail your application to:
Minnesota Department of Health
Central Cashiering – Vital Records
P.O. Box 64499
St. Paul, MN 55164-0499
How long does it take to get a death certificate?
The Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health takes approximately four to six weeks to process a request for a death certificate. Certificates are mailed by regular USPS Mail, unless rush shipping is requested at an additional fee. Rush processing service is also available at an additional fee.
As of August 22, 2016, the Office of Vital Records is mailing death certificates from applications received on August 16, 2016.
Death certificates from applications specifying rush processing and received on August 18, 2016 have also been mailed.
How do I get a death certificate?Regardless of where you go to get a Minnesota certificate, you must complete an application. Use the Death Certificate Application (PDF) to order a certificate. You must sign and date the application in front of a notary public.
You must meet the legal requirements to get a certified death certificate.
- You must complete an application to request a certificate.
- You must show valid identification.
- You must sign your application.
- You can get a death certificate only if you have tangible interest.
- You must pay a fee of $13. If you order more than one copy, each additional copy of the same record is $6. Fees are non-refundable, as per Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226.
- You will receive a certified “Statement of No Death Record Found” if you request a certificate and the state or local issuance office cannot identify or find a record using the information you provide.
Payment is required to get a death certificate and most other vital records documents.
The fees are the same at all issuance offices statewide. Check with the local issuance office for payment options. The Office of Vital Records at the state accepts payment by credit card (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover), check or money order and is deposited upon receipt.
If you order a death certificate from the Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health, please allow approximately four to six weeks for the office to process your request. Your certificates will be sent by United States Postal Service First-Class Mail. For faster service and shipping, the Office of Vital Records offers rush processing for an additional fee and overnight shipping for an additional fee. Please see Death Certificate Application (PDF) for more information.
If you still have questions about how to apply for a death certificate, email us at email@example.com
or call 651-201-5980.
If you still have questions about how to apply for a death certificate, email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 651-201-5980.