Statutes and Rule Regulations
The Vital Statistics Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.211 to 144.227, and Minnesota Rules, chapter 4601 define requirements related to death registration in Minnesota. The following is a description of requirements by selected topic.
and Other Permit Requirements
Effective August 1, 2005, the disposition permit must be issued from the electronic death registration system (MN VRV2000) upon filing a fact of death. Funeral directors not using MN VRV2000 must obtain a disposition permit by filing the completed death worksheet with a local registrar.
Changes for Funeral Home Fact Sheet
This fact sheet summarizing the changes in disposition and other permit requirements.
Death Registration Requirements
For each death which occurs in the state, Minnesota Statutes, section 144.221, subpart 1, requires a death record to be filed within five days after death and prior to final disposition. See also Minnesota Statutes, section 149A.90, subdivision 1.
Minnesota Rules, part 4601.1500, require the mortician, funeral director, or other person in charge of disposition of the body to file the fact of death and demographic information before interment or other disposition of the body.
Minnesota Rules, part 4601.1600, require the person in charge of disposition of the body to collect fact of death and demographic information and contact the physician to request the cause of death information.
Minnesota Rules, part 4601.1900, require funeral homes that do not register deaths electronically to provide monthly reports of the death records for which the funeral home provided fact of death and demographic information.
a Death Certificate
Minnesota Statutes 2005, section 144.225, subdivision 7, allow a funeral director to obtain a death certificate if he or she filed the record. Additionally, according to paragraph (b), a funeral director, who filed the death record, may request a death certificate on behalf of the child, spouse, parent, grandparent, grandchild, or sibling of the decedent within 180 days of the time of death.
Certified Death Certificate - Fact of Death:
A fact of death certificate shows information required by Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2550, subpart 1, to record the time and place a death occurs and to identify the decedent.
A fact of death certificate may be purchased immediately upon filing. The family or personal representative of the decedent may use the fact of death certificate to close bank accounts, cash in stocks or bonds, notify credit card companies, initiate property settlements, and begin other activities related to settling an estate.
Certified Death Certificate - Fact and Cause of Death:
In addition to the information collected for the fact of death, a fact and cause of death certificate shows cause of death information required by Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2550, subpart 2.
A fact and cause of death certificate may not be available immediately. The physician, coroner, or medical examiner may require additional time to determine the cause of death. A fact and cause of death certificate may be required by life insurance companies.
for Death Certificates
Minnesota Statutes 2005, section 144.226, set fees for the death certificates ($13), delayed death registrations ($40), and amendments to death records ($40 if it has been more than 45 days since the record was filed).
August 1, 2005 Fees Fact Sheet
This fact sheet summarizing the fees for birth and death records and related services effective August 1, 2005.
Amending Death Records
Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2100, allow a funeral director to correct, without charge, a record that he or she filed, and allow a funeral director to assist an individual to amend a death record that is in error.