Requesting a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth
Use the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth (PDF) form to order a certificate. The Office of Vital Records issues Certificates of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth for fetal deaths of 20 weeks or more gestation.
You must meet the legal requirements to get a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth:
- You must complete the application to request the certificate.
- You must be a parent named on the fetal death report.
- You must show valid identification.
- You must sign and date the application in front of a notary public.
- You must pay a fee of $16.
The Office of Vital Records accepts requests for certificates by email, fax, and mail.
For service by email: Scan and email your application to email@example.com. If the notary uses a raised or embossed seal, instead of a rubber ink stamp, please lightly shade over the seal with a pencil so it is visible on the scanned image.
By fax: Fax your application to 651-201-5740. Do not fax it more than once; each application is processed as a separate request. If the notary uses a raised or embossed seal, instead of a rubber ink stamp, please lightly shade over the seal with a pencil so it is visible on the fax.
By mail: Mail your application to:
Minnesota Department of Health
Central Cashiering - Vital Records
P.O. Box 64499
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0499
If you have any questions, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Stillbirth Tax Credit
Beginning in tax year 2016, parents who experience the stillbirth of a child in Minnesota may be eligible for a tax credit. A new law (Minnesota Statutes, section 290.0685) allows a credit of $2,000 to individuals for each stillbirth in the taxable year for which a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth has been issued. To be eligible, parents must have:
- experienced a stillbirth in 2016 (stillbirths before this year are not eligible),
- received a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth from the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH), Office of Vital Records (OVR), and
- would have claimed the child as a dependent if the child had been born alive.
To claim the credit, parents must have a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth and must complete tax form Minnesota Schedule M1PSC. Parents will provide unique identifying information from the certificate on the tax form.
The Office of Vital Records issues Certificates of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth for fetal deaths of 20 weeks or more gestation that are required to be reported under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.222. County vital records offices do not issue Certificates of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.
Like other vital events, fetal deaths are required to be reported within five days of the event. Fetal deaths of less than 20 weeks may be reported voluntarily. The responsibilities of the Office of Vital Records as they relate to reports of fetal deaths, fetal death records, and the process for parents to request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth Certificate are outlined in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.2151.
For more information about the tax credit, go to the Minnesota Department of Revenue website or call 651-296-3781 or 800-652-9094.