Minnesota Fathers' Adoption Registry Search Request Instructions
Links Within This Page:
- Instructions For Completing The Form
- Fees For The Search
- Fathers' Adoption Registry Address
- Fathers' Adoption Registry Phone Numbers
Other Minnesota Department of Health Fathers' Registry Pages:
- Search Request Form
- Search Request Instructions (PDF: 22KB/1 page)
- Go To Registration Instructions
- Go To The Registration Form
- Other Resources
- Return to Minnesota Fathers' Adoption Registry Top Page
When requesting a search of the Fathers' Adoption Registry, please use the appropriate SEARCH REQUEST form for your situation. The forms include: the Biological Mother Search Form, Step-Mother Search Request; County verified, or the Standard Search Request Form. Complete the form as thoroughly as possible. All of the information is necessary to comply with statutory and data privacy requirements. Read the form carefully to insure that all requirements are met, as several forms have been revised, including the return address for submitting the form to MDH. New: the court file number associated with the search is also required, and must be provided when it is known, on the Search Request form.
Check the first box if you are requesting an optional search of the registry. This would be a search request that authorized agencies may make at any time, including any time prior to the birth of the child, or years following birth of any child born after 1998. Optional searched are in addition to the required search following thirty-one days from the child's birth.
Check the first box if you are requesting an optional search of the registry, which is any search that you request before the child is 30 days old, or for a child born prior to 1998. A required search must be completed after the 31st day following birth, or whenever the request arrives, whichever is the latter.
County child protection staff are eligible to search the MFAR in a juvenile protection matter under Minnesota Statutes, Section 260C, at any time, but in all cases the required search must be completed no sooner than 30 days following birth. Attorneys may request a search on behalf of a biological mother or prospective adoptive parent(s). In addition to completing the Search Form, the attorney must also complete and submit the Affidavit of Attorney form along with the Search Request form.
Minnesota Statute 259.52 allows the biological mother to request a search of the Registry at any time, provided that the information provided will be used for the sole purpose of notification of the putative father identified or as documentation that no putative father was identified, and must be notarized. For step-parent adoptions, the Biological Mother Search or the Step-Mother Search form must be used, unless an attorney is requesting the search. In cases of a step-mother adoption, where the search is submitted pro se, the county agency responsible for the report under Minnesota Statutes 259.53 must review and notarize the Step Mother Search Request form.
In all cases, prospective adoptive parents or their legal counsel must pay the $ 25 fee required to search the MFAR Public authorities seeking to establish a child support obligation are exempt from paying the fee. Complete information including any aliases used and the social security number should be included to reduce the likelihood of later disruption, caused by erroneous identification. Submit the form and a stamped, self-addressed envelope to:
A $25 fee is required to search the MFAR and must be submitted along with the Search Request. Checks should be made payable to: Treasurer, State of Minnesota. Any request for invoicing must include the contact persons name, mailing address and phone number. You may duplicate the Search Request form as needed, or download the form from the MDH website at
http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/chs/registry/top.htm. If you have questions regarding this form or the registry, please call toll free to 1-888-345-1726.