Initial and Renewal Process: Minnesota Certified Food Manager - EH: Minnesota Department of Health

Initial and Renewal Process
Minnesota Certified Food Manager (CFM)

Minnesota food code requires one full-time Minnesota certified food manager (CFM) in most food establishments. You may choose to strengthen your establishment’s food safety team by having more than one CFM. In addition, having at least one Minnesota CFM satisfies the requirements for events that are exempt from licensure under the "Church Lady” Law.

Use the information and resources provided here to become a Minnesota CFM or to renew your certification.

On this page:
Initial Minnesota CFM
Minnesota CFM Renewal

Initial Minnesota CFM

If you have never been a Minnesota CFM, follow these steps:

1. Attend an approved training course and pass an approved exam.

If your exam certificate is less than three years old, no additional proof of continuing education is required for initial Minnesota CFM.

If your exam certificate is three to five years old, you must complete four (4) hours of approved continuing education before applying for initial Minnesota CFM.

If your exam certificate is expired, you cannot use it to apply for initial Minnesota CFM. If you wish to apply, you must pass one of the approved exams.

2. Mail initial application, required documentation, and $35 fee to MDH.

Apply for initial Minnesota CFM no more than three years after passing the exam.

Documentation requirements depend on your exam date (see chart below).
If your exam certificate is less than 3 years old, include: If your exam certificate is 3 to 5 years old, include:
  • Application
  • Copy of exam certificate
  • $35 check or money order payable to MDH
  • Application
  • Copy of exam certificate
  • Copy of continuing education certificate(s) (four hours required)
  • $35 check or money order payable to MDH

If your exam certificate is more than 5 years old, you must retake the exam before applying.

Mailing address:

Minnesota Department of Health
Food Manager Certification Program
Food, Pools, and Lodging Services Section
P.O. Box 64495
St. Paul, MN 55164-0495

Go to > top

Minnesota CFM Renewal

Your Minnesota CFM is valid for three years. To renew your Minnesota CFM follow these steps:

1. Attend approved continuing education.

You must complete four (4) or more hours of approved continuing education in order to renew your Minnesota CFM.

Take continuing education after the effective date and no more than one year after the expiration date printed on your Minnesota CFM. Make sure to keep your continuing education certificate(s).

2. Mail renewal application, approved continuing education certificate(s) and $35 fee to MDH.

Apply for renewal of your Minnesota CFM no more than one year after your Minnesota CFM expires.

Renewal documentation requirements
Include:
  • Application
  • Copy of continuing education certificate(s) (four hours required)
  • $35 check or money order payable to MDH

Mailing address:

Minnesota Department of Health
Food Manager Certification Program
Food, Pools, and Lodging Services Section
P.O. Box 64495
St. Paul, MN 55164-0495

Go to > top

Updated Tuesday, June 23, 2015 at 07:47AM