Environmental Health Continuous Improvement Board (EHCIB) - EH: Minnesota Department of Health

Environmental Health
Continuous Improvement Board

The Environmental Health Continuous Improvement Board (EHCIB) was chartered by the Local Public Health Association (LPHA) and the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) to fundamentally advance Minnesota’s state-local partnership in Environmental Health (EH). As of March 24, 2017, the EHCIB is a workgroup of the State Community Health Services Advisory Committee (SCHSAC).

 *Elements of the EHCIB’s vision

Board Membership

Dawn Beck, Olmsted County*
Jeff Brown, City of Edina
Daniel Disrud, Anoka County
Bill Groskreutz, Faribault County Commissioner
Tom Hogan, Minnesota Department of Health*
Jeff Luedeman, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Sarah Reese, Polk County
Diane Thorson, Becker County (PartnerSHIP4Health)
John Tracy, Stearns County
John Weidner, Lake County
John Weinand, City of Minnetonka



FPLS Annual Performance Measures Reporting

The FPLS Annual Performance Measures were developed to provide a picture of FPLS across MN. They were developed in collaboration – local programs, MDH, and MDA all worked together to develop these annual performance measures. They will be used to assess statewide performance and identify opportunities for statewide improvement.

A recording of the instructions webinar is available below:

Webinar: What you need to Know for Reporting
Note: A transcript is available under the "Notes" tab within this presentation.

The FPLS Annual Performance Measures reporting instructions are available below. Please review them carefully. Contact Becky Buhler, MDH Center for Public Health Practice, with any questions.

FPLS Program Re-evaluation Process and Feedback

In response to wide-spread concern and frustration, the Environmental Health Continuous Improvement Board developed and adopted the following re-evaluation process document:

Programs that participated in the FPLS program re-evaluation process provided feedback about the process through interviews conducted by MDH Public Health Practice Section staff. The following is a summary of their feedback:

FPLS Program Evaluation Workgroup

The EHCIB is committed to improving the FPLS program evaluation process. The following is the approved charter for and membership of the workgroup charged with developing the metrics and tools to support the new FPLS program evaluation process.


FPLS Program Evaluation Workgroup Meeting Information

    Upcoming meetings
  • To be determined
Past meetings
  • July 2016 Notes (PDF)
  • September 2016 Notes (PDF)
  • October 2016 Notes (PDF)
  • February 2017 Notes (PDF)
  • Statement of Support

    The Environmental Continuous Improvement Board issued the following Statement of Support outlining their commitment to Minnesota’s state-local environmental health partnership.

    Work Plan

    Meeting Materials

    Upcoming Meetings:

    These meetings will occur from 9 a.m. until 1:30 p.m. at Minnesota Counties Intergovernmental Trust in St. Paul. All are welcome to attend:

    • 2017
      • November 8, 2017
    • 2018
      • January 4, 2018
      • March 1, 2018
      • May 3, 2018
      • July 26, 2018
      • September 6, 2018
      • November 1, 2018

    September 13, 2017

    July 12, 2017

    May 3, 2017

    March 8, 2017

    January 11, 2017

    November 9, 2016

    September 14, 2016

    July 13, 2016

    May 11, 2016

    March 9, 2016

    January 27, 2016

    2015 Archived Meeting Materials

    Older meeting documents are available upon request by calling 651-201-4571 or sending an email to: health.ophp@state.mn.us


    Updated Friday, September 08, 2017 at 01:01PM