Well Management Program

Effective July 21, 2011

Mailing Address (with fee payment)
Minnesota Department of Health
Well Management Section
P.O. Box 64502
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0502

Additional address information.

State fees for well construction notifications, well sealing notifications, variance requests, permits, licenses, rig/hoist registrations, and well disclosures are collected by the Minnesota Department of Health Well Management Section. The fee schedule (authorized under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 103I) is as follows:

Well Construction Notifications  
    Water-Supply Well
    Dewatering Well
    Dewatering Project (5 or more wells)
    Elevator Boring
    Groundwater Thermal Exchange Device
      (Heat Pump with Injection Well)
    Monitoring Well
      (Water Well, Dewatering Well, or Monitoring Well)
    Maintenance (Monitoring Well Government)
    Maintenance (5 or more Dewatering Wells)
Vertical Heat Exchanger (Heat Loop)
    Heating/Cooling Capacity <10 Tons
    Heating/Cooling Capacity 10 to 50 Tons
    Heating/Cooling Capacity >50 Tons
Well Sealing Notification
Variance Application
Monitoring Well Site Permits  
    Motor Fuel Retail Outlet
    Petroleum Bulk Storage Site
    Agricultural Chemical Facility
License Fees  
    Qualification Application
    Late Fee
    Elevator Boring Contractor (Original and Renewal)
       Note: MDH fee $75 plus $7.50 OET Licensing Surcharge*
    Limited Well/Boring Contractor (Original and Renewal)
       Note: MDH fee $75 plus $7.50 OET Licensing Surcharge*
    • Pump Installer
    • Pitless/Screen Contractor
    • Drive Point/Dugwell Contractor
    • Dewatering Well Contractor
    • Well Sealing Contractor
    • Vertical Heat Exchanger Contractor
    Monitoring Well Contractor (Original and Renewal)
    Well Contractor (Original and Renewal)
       Note: MDH fee $250 plus $25 OET Licensing Surcharge*
    Individual (Original and Renewal)
       Note: MDH fee $75 plus $7.50 OET Licensing Surcharge*
    Representative Certification (Renewal)
    Hoist/Drilling Machine Registration
Well Disclosure Certificate
    (Paid to the County Recorder)  


Permits and variance requests will not be reviewed and notifications and licenses will not be valid until sufficient funds have been submitted to the MDH. The county recorder will not accept submittal of well disclosure certificates without the appropriate fee.

The 2009 Legislature has passed Session Law Chapter 79, Article 10, which eliminates the exemption for federal, state, and local governmental entities from paying fees for wells and borings. Beginning on July 1, 2009, governmental agencies will now be required to pay all fees including notification, permit, variance, maintenance permit, and license fees. The only exceptions are for Native American reservations and Federal Military installations, where an exception is provided in federal law.

Well fees in jurisdictions of delegated well programs are established by the delegated program. Contractors should check with the delegated program for fee amounts and any other administrative requirements.

* The Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET) recently sponsored and the Minnesota Legislature passed legislation requiring a 10 percent surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional, or occupational license. The funding from this surcharge will go to OET, which will establish an electronic licensing system for the state. The surcharge will be in place through June 30, 2015. See Laws of Minnesota 2009, Chapter 101, Article 2, Section 59.

Go to > top

Return to > Information for Contractors

Contact the MDH Well Management Section
651-201-4600 or 800-383-9808

Minnesota Department of Health
Updated Friday, February 13, 2015 at 03:37PM