Lead Poisoning in Children: Early Detection, Intervention and Prevention
Part I: Legislation, Rules and Requirements
MN Statutes and Reporting Forms
In April 2014, Health Commissioner Ed Ehlinger issued a finding that changed the definition of an elevated blood lead level (EBLL) under Minnesota statute 144.9501 Subd. 9 to a diagnostic blood lead test of at least 5 µg/dL. The previous definition of an EBLL had been 10 µg/dL. The commissioner's finding makes the statute consistent with the existing Minnesota case management guidelines and CDC recommendations.
Minnesota statute 144.9504 mandates environmental interventions for confirmed blood lead levels of 15 µg/dL or greater in children less than six years old. For levels of 5 µg/dL or greater, local public health nurses work with families to bring down elevated lead levels. For most children and adults with lead poisoning, identification and elimination of the source of lead is the primary intervention.
Child and Teen Checkups (C&TC)
Blood Lead Level (BLL) Screening Test Requirements:
Children eligible for C&TC are required to have BLL screening tests at 12 and 24 months. Additionally, all children over 24 months of age but less than 72 months (6 years) old are required to have a BLL screening test if there is no record of a previous screening test.
Note: Administering a lead risk assessment questionnaire DOES NOT meet this C&TC requirement.
Go To >> Part I: Disease and Epidemiology