MCH Advisory Task Force Events

2012 Betty Hubbard Leadership Awards Presentation

The 2012 Betty Hubbard Leadership in Maternal and Child Health Awards were presented at the December 7, 2012 MCH Advisory Task Force meeting. The awards, presented by Commissioner Ed Ehlinger, recognize leadership in promoting good health for mothers and children tat the statewide and community levels.

Annamarie Saarinen received the statewide award for work on assuring screening of newborns for critical congenital heart disease (CCHD). Congenital heart disease is a heart defect that affects one in every 100 newborns. She has spearheaded both state and national efforts to ensure that all newborns are screened.

Gay Bakken received the community award for her work on a program that provides home visiting support to families with multiple risk factors in the Twin Cities metro area. Gay has had a long career working in Dakota County. Gay promoted an intensive home visiting model that became the Dakota Healthy Families program. This program has expanded to the Metro Alliance for Healthy Families.

To read more about their accomplishments, go to the Betty Hubbard Awards page.

Annamarie and Eve Saarinen with Commissioner of Health Dr. Ed Ehlinger.
Gay Bakken with Commissioner of Health Dr. Ed Ehlinger

If you have questions, please feel free to contact staff at (651) 201-3874.