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Executive Summary

This report complies with Minnesota Laws 2007, Chapter 147, Article 9, section 36 stating
that fees related to hearing instrument dispensers may not be increased until after the
Minnesota Department of Health provided a report to the Legislature regarding the need and
reasons for any fee increase. As the regulatory activity certifying hearing instrument
dispensers has a projected deficit of about -$313,000 in state fiscal year 2010 based on
current expenditures and revenues, it is necessary to request an adjustment to fees or take
other corrective action to create a positive balance in the State Government Special Revenue
account.

The purchase of a hearing instrument is unlike that of other commercial products and
services in two respects: the consumer is most often elderly and hearing impaired; and the
product is classified a medical device by the Food and Drug Administration. These attributes,
in addition to the potential for economic harm because of their cost, are the primary reasons
for protecting consumers of hearing instruments through Federal regulation of hearing aid
dispensing activity and Minnesota regulation of the persons who dispense them.

Concerning Minnesota Department of Health activity protecting hearing aid consumers by
regulating persons providing hearing instrument products and services, Staff in the
Department responsible for the regulatory activities required by Minnesota Statutes Chapter
153A documented the following:
= The number of Minnesotans aged 65 or older who are or may be hearing aid
consumers is currently over 150,000 and is projected to grow to over 400,000 by
2035.
= In 2006 Minnesotans purchased 52,323 hearing aids at an average price of $1,912, for
an estimated total value of over $100 million.
= About 180 certified hearing instrument dispensers are estimated to have sold a
combined total of over $58 million worth of hearing instruments and services in
Minnesota in 2006.
=  The most frequent reason for a complaint to the Department is the dispenser’s failure
to make a timely refund when the consumer cancels the purchase agreement.
Investigation of the complaint often reveals other issues such as dispenser promises to
extend the consumer’s trial period when the aid does not satisfy the consumer, the
dispensing of hearing aids that are inappropriate for the consumer’s hearing loss, and
failures in accurately measuring the consumer’s hearing loss and determining the
need for hearing aids.
= The vast majority of certified dispensers (87%) do not currently have open complaints
against them. However, the Department expends significant staff resources
investigating complaints and enforcing regulations against persons who are not
currently certified. About 25 percent of investigative staffs’ time goes to investigative
and enforcement activity against uncertified persons at an estimated cost of $23,000
annually.
= There are currently no education, training or experience requirements in Minnesota’s
regulations to become a certified hearing instrument dispenser. Anyone 21 years or
older may take the Department of Health’s certification examination, and if passed,
may qualify for certification to dispense hearing instruments.
= |n 2006 and 2007, the overall pass rate for the practical or skill and performance
portions of the certification examination was 27%.



= Current regulatory activity by MDH involves 2 FTE’s, costing $190,000 annually
with revenues of $96,000. The primary consumer protection activities include
providing consumer information and assistance, investigating consumer complaints,
annually certifying dispensers and examining applicants for certification.

= The cost of regulating hearing instrument dispensers has historically exceeded
revenues because of substantial changes to regulations and extraordinary expenses for
examination development and investigation/enforcement efforts. Currently,
administration of the certification examination and investigation/enforcement
activities regularly cost more than fee revenues support.

= Consumer protection and MDH certification efforts would be more effective with
voluntary manufacturer verification of dispenser certification before sale of hearing
aids to individuals for sale at retail.

= Changes to the certification regulations that would balance future costs and revenues
include requiring education and training to qualify for examinations and increasing
the examination fee. There is the possibility that directing some types of complaints
to the Attorney General’s Office may reduce investigation and enforcement costs.

= Other alternatives to raising certification fees of certified dispensers include a
surcharge on each hearing aid sold, a sales-based fee on business revenues, and a
general fund appropriation.

The Department of Health recommends that consistent with legislative policy for
occupational regulation fees, annual certification and examination fees be adjusted to $700
and $500 respectively. This is an increase of 100 percent from current levels and will
produce revenues at a level approximating costs involved in providing the consumer
protection services. As current fees under recover the regulatory cost for hearing instrument
consumer protection services, it is appropriate to establish a fee that will recover the cost. In
addition, an annual surcharge of $550 for two years is recommended to recover the current
deficit.
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Chapter 1

Background and Overview of Regulation

A. Aging Population In Minnesota and Estimated Hearing Aid Users.

The National Institute of Health (NIH) states that approximately 15%, or 32.5 million, of
Americans say that they have some degree of hearing loss. Other sources estimate the
percentage of the general population with a hearing loss to be nine to ten percent.* NIH also
says that about one third of Americans 65 to 74 years of age and 47% of those 75 and older
have hearing loss. 2

Minnesota’s population is currently estimated at just over 5.2 million, and is projected to
grow to 5.7 million by 2015 and over 6.4 million by 2035. From 2005 to 2015, the fastest
growth will be for ages 55 to 69. The over 65 population will more than double between
2005 and 2035, from 523,200 to 1.4 million.® Though estimates vary regarding the
percentage of the population with hearing loss, between now and 2035, the number of
Minnesotans with hearing loss over age 65 is projected to grow more than 2.5 times to nearly
one-half million people.

Although not all hearing loss is remediated with hearing aids (some deaf persons are not
potential hearing aid purchasers), approximately 450,000 Minnesotans may be assumed to
represent current actual and potential consumers for new or upgraded hearing instruments.
The number of Minnesotans aged 65 or older who are or may be hearing aid consumers is
currently over 150,000 and is projected to grow to over 400,000 by 2035.

B. Estimated Number and Cost of Hearing Aids Sold in Minnesota.

Table 1A represents hearing instrument unit sales in the State of Minnesota in the most
recent calendar years for which data is available.* These numbers do not correlate exactly to
an estimate of the number of hearing aid users, as some individuals have one and others two
hearing aids to address their hearing loss. Also, these numbers include hearing instruments
sold by both dispensing audiologists and non-audiologist dispensers. As of October 2007
certified dispensers comprised 33% and licensed audiologists 67% of the health care
practitioners authorized to serve consumers in Minnesota. A national dispenser survey found
that the number of hearing instruments dispensed per month per dispenser (either audiologist
or non-audiologist) was 15 in both 2005 and 2006.°

! Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services Division, DHS, citing Gallaudet Research Institute and advocacy
organizations.

2 National Institute of Health — Senior Health http://nihseniorhealth.gov/hearingloss/fag/fagla.html

® Minnesota Population Projections 2005 — 2035, Minnesota State Demographic Center, June 2007

* The Hearing Journal, December 2006, Vol. 59. No. 12; December 2005, Vol. 58, No. 12; December 2004,
Vol. 57, No. 12; December 2003, Vol. 56, No. 12. http://www.thehearingjournal.com

® The Hearing Journal, April 2007, Vol 60, No. 4.
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Table 1A
Number of Hearing Aids Sold in Minnesota
Calendar Years 2003-2006

2003 2004 2005 2006
40,982 45,297 46,025 52,323

A national survey of dispensing audiologists and non-audiologist dispensers reported that the
prices per hearing instrument bundled with services ranged from $908 for the least
sophisticated instrument to $2,769 for the highest-end instrument in style, signal processing
and product features. The average unit price for all hearing aids sold by all dispensers who
bundled the cost of services with the price of the hearing instrument itself, regardless of style
and technologic level, was $1,912.°

Using this data, we calculate that:
= The total economic value of hearing instrument sales activity in Minnesota in 2006
was over $100 million.
= Excluding dispensing audiologists, certified dispensers may have sold a combined
total o7f over $58 million worth of hearing instruments and services in Minnesota in
2006.

C. Regulation of Hearing Instrument Dispensing in Minnesota.

In 1988 the Minnesota Legislature determined that it was necessary to protect potential and
actual purchasers of hearing instruments, and it passed Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 153A
regulating any person who dispensed hearing instruments. The law required that all
dispensers, regardless of any other professional credentials, obtain a permit from the
Commissioner of Health to sell hearing instruments. Thus, anyone who sold hearing aids at
retail, including medical doctors, chiropractors and audiologists were required to obtain a
permit. Other important aspects of the law are as follows:

= Prior to 1993, there were no minimum requirements for obtaining a permit. Anyone
21 years or older, regardless of education or training, could qualify for a permit.

= |n 1993 the Legislature converted the permit to certification and required the passing
of written and practical examinations of knowledge and dispensing skills. Even so,
there are currently no education, training or experience requirements in the
certification regulations. Today, anyone may apply and take the certification
examinations.

= Alsoin 1993, a law change authorized “trainees” to dispense hearing instruments
under supervision of a certified dispenser. Though trainee status was created as a
method of entry to the occupation in lieu of requiring formal education and training,
many persons taking the certification examinations were never dispenser trainees.

® Ibid.

" Figure calculated as average price of $1,912, times average of 15 aids sold per month in 2006, times 169
certified dispensers in calendar year 2006. Though there are twice as many audiologists as non-audiologist
dispensers, not all audiologists dispense hearing instruments, and of those that do, other audiological services
are provided and not bundled into the price of devices sold.
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= Other changes in the law in 1993 strengthened consumer protection measures. A new
provision required dispensers to give a consumer rights brochure to each potential
buyer of a hearing instrument. The brochure is written by MDH and contains
information about legal requirements pertaining to sales of hearing instruments. The
law requires dispensers to obtain on the contract of sale the signature of hearing aid
purchasers indicating receipt of the brochure. The brochure contains the address and
toll free number for contacting MDH for information, assistance and to make a
complaint about a dispenser or hearing aid sales activity.

= |n 2005 the Legislature removed the requirement for licensed audiologists to also be
certified hearing instrument dispensers. The number of practitioners in the
certification system fell from over 410 at the end of 2004 to 170 at year-end 2005. At
that time only five audiologists were certified, because they must be certified to
supervise dispenser trainees. There were then 367 licensed audiologists in Minnesota,
and 298 of these practitioners also dispensed hearing instruments under the scope of
their license. Table 1B details the number and types of dispensers in Minnesota from
2004 through year-end 2007.

There is not currently any report of a shortage of hearing instrument dispensers in Minnesota,
though in outstate areas, persons may need to travel some distance for access to services.
Both certified dispensers and licensed audiologists appear to be distributed equally across the
state. Appendix 1 contains a map showing the location by zip code of persons authorized to
dispense hearing instruments in Minnesota as of March 2007.

Table 1B
Types and Numbers of Persons Authorized in Minnesota
to Dispense Hearing Instruments

Practitioner Type CY’04 | CY’05 | CY’06 | CY’07
Certified Dispensers 155 158 169 175
Dispenser Trainees 30 12 12 7
Certified Audiologists 225 12 5 5
Licensed Audiologists 345 341 349 367
Licensed Dispensing Audiologists N/A N/A N/A 298
Temp Licensed Dispensing Audiologists N/A N/A N/A 18
Total Dispensing Practitioners 410 N/A N/A 498

N/A: Figures not available.
D. Regulation in Other States.

All states and the District of Columbia require hearing instrument dispensers to hold a
license, certificate or other credential to dispense hearing instruments. In addition, twenty
states and the District of Columbia also require audiologists to hold a hearing instrument
dispensing license to dispense hearing instruments.®

8 Sources:  International Hearing Society, Licensing Board Contacts for Hearing Aid Specialists, August 27,
2007, http://ihsinfo.org/lhsV2/Communities_Chapters/Licensing%20contacts_web.pdf American Speech
Language Association, State Licensure Trends, http://www.asha.org/about/legislation-advocacy/state/

-3-



Chapter 2

Protecting Hearing Instrument Consumers

This Chapter describes the overall regulatory scheme and major activities comprising the
Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification system as recently and currently conducted by
the Health Occupations Program in the Minnesota Department of Health. The following
information gives an overview of certification activities, details provision of consumer
information and assistance, the administration of certification examinations and
credentialing, and analyzes complaint activity in the investigation and enforcement area.

A. Overview of Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification Activities.

The Health Occupations Program in the Minnesota Department of Health’s Division of
Compliance Monitoring administers the Hearing Instrument Certification system. Table 2A
below provides a summary of the staffing, costs and revenues for fiscal years 2005 to 2007
for each of the categories of activities listed.

Table 2A
Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification System
Summary of Staffing, Costs & Revenues (SFY ’05 -‘07)

Staff FTE’s Costs ($000) Revenues ($000)
Activity/Fiscal Years ’05 06 | ‘07 ‘05 ‘06 | ‘07 ‘05 ‘06 ‘07
Information/Assistance 50 | b1 | Bl 33 34 32 0 0 0
Examinations 40 35 | .35 38 42 35 24 21 24
Credentialing 60 | .30 | .20 56 33 32 152 69 70
Investigation/Enforcement 25 | 1.05 | .95 31 93 91 0 15 2
FY Totals 1.75 | 2.21 | 2.01 | $158 | $202 | $190 | $176 | $105 $96

Notes: FY’06 Exam cost includes Attorney General’s Office and Office of Administrative Hearings costs of
$6,000 for an appeal of failing score results. FY’06 and 07 Revenues declined significantly because
230 fewer audiologists were certified than in SFY*05.

Within the categories listed above, the following regulatory activities occur and are described
in further detail in the sections that follow below:

Information and Assistance: through phone calls, emails and mailings, administrative
support, credentialing and investigative staff answer questions and requests from potential
and actual purchasers of hearing instruments.

Examinations: processing applications for written and practical examinations that are
administered every three months;

Credentialing: annual issuance of certification credentials; annual audits of continuing
education reports; administration of four advisory council meetings per year; depositing fees,
data entry and providing consumer information and assistance in response to phone call and
email requests;

Investigation and Enforcement: investigation of allegations of unethical,
unprofessional and incompetent dispensing practice; convening competency review
committee meetings as needed to pursue investigations and enforcement actions; and
discipline of dispensers for illegal conduct.




B. Information and Assistance.

In a process called “intake,” administrative support staff are the first point of contact for three
primary types of inquiries concerning hearing instrument dispensing and consumer-related
services. Usually by phone, but increasingly by email, these inquiries are from consumers,
examination applicants and certified dispensers. Administrative support staff may or may not
refer callers to staff responsible for credentialing, examinations or investigations. Calls may
be very brief (five minutes) or lengthy (up to 45 minutes), and callers may make repeated
contacts depending upon their needs. The following numbered sections provide information
on the nature and content of inquiries from the certification system’s primary constituencies.

1. Consumer Information Center.
Hearing Aid Consumers call or write to obtain several types of information or assistance. The
majority of consumers who contact the Department seeking information utilize the
Department’s toll free and general phone numbers included on the Hearing Aid Consumer
Brochure and on the Department’s website. On occasion, the Department receives calls from
consumers who utilize the MN Relay service or TDD/TY'Y. The Department receives
correspondence via US mail, the website or through electronic mail. Inquiries fall into three
main categories:
- consumers who are interested in purchasing a hearing instrument and want literature
(Appendix 3 contains a list of the materials disseminated);
- consumers who have identified a hearing instrument dispenser and want to check
credentials and/or discuss their purchasing and return rights; and
- consumers who have already purchased a hearing instrument and have questions about
their purchase agreement, the MDH brochure or complaints about the sales transaction.

Most hearing aid consumers contacting the department are elderly, and their ability to
communicate may vary widely. Generally, Department staff must assist these callers with
additional patience and helpfulness: it not uncommon to assist hearing aid consumers who
speak very slowly, repeat information and are confused in their understanding of the details,
timing and nature of events involved in their hearing aid purchase. In many cases an advocate
(family member, friend or neighbor) contacts the Department on behalf of the consumer
because of their vulnerability and/or difficulty communicating.

The Consumer Information Center often receives more calls after holidays when visiting
relatives and friends learn that a new hearing aid was recently purchased, how much it cost,
and that hearing does not appear to be improved. Other trends in phone calls show increases
in July and August coinciding with dispenser promotions and advertisements. Consumer calls
taper off in February and March, and then pick up in April. Details concerning types and
numbers of requests from consumers for various periods are shown in Appendix 4. In
summary, the Department’s consumer intake records show:
= Most calls to the Consumer Information Center are from consumers requesting copies
of the Department’s Legal Rights and Consumer Information brochure and other
literature; and
= Advocates call on behalf of consumers in nearly 25% of the inquiries received.

Other consumer information and assistance activities in addition to phone calls include the
following:



a. Consumer brochure:

The consumer brochure was first developed in summer 1990, and was revised
periodically to update phone numbers and addresses. In 1999 a Speech-Hearing
Committee comprised of audiologists, non-audiology dispensers and consumers
substantially revised the brochure after many months of discussion. The changes were
then reviewed and approved by the Commissioner. In 2005 the brochure was updated
to reflect technical changes in the regulations, and at that time it was also decided that
more substantial revisions were needed. The current version of the brochure is
reproduced in Appendix 5.° The costs of producing and disseminating the consumer
brochure are included in the figures for Consumer Information and Assistance in
Table 2 above, but were not recorded or calculated separately.

b. Mailings:

The Hearing Aid Consumer Brochure is one of several items mailed to consumers in
response to requests for information related to hearing instruments. Mailings are
important because the current population of elderly do not have a comfort level or
access to technology for email or web site information. Other items included in
packets sent to consumers are publications from the Food and Drug Administration,
the Federal Trade Commission, the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services Division of
the Minnesota Department of Human Services, the Commission Serving Deaf and
Hard of Hearing People, a list of financial resources, a conciliation court booklet
produced by the Office of the Minnesota Attorney General, and a Minnesota
Department of Health complaint form. Appendix 3 lists the items included in
mailings.

c. Web Site:

The Department of Health has created and maintains a web site for hearing
instrument consumers which links to the web sites of organizations providing the
print resources mentioned above. A copy of the web page is reproduced in Appendix
6. This methodology for disseminating information is available at all times, is not as
dependent on Department staff assistance and is therefore more cost-effective, and
may show greater utilization in coming years.

2. Examination Applicants.

Individuals who want an application for the hearing instrument certification examinations
contact the Department by phone or email. Examinations are scheduled and administered
four times each year. These inquiries are referred to the credentialing staff responsible for
administration of the certification examinations. These inquires may take five to 15 minutes
to answer. However, not infrequently after exam applications are mailed to individuals who
have requested them, applicants will call repeatedly, several times in a day, and daily or
nearly daily over a one to two week period. For the last three years and currently, demand for
exam space has exceeded supply, and the resulting anxiety about opportunity to take the
exam as well as preparing for the exam creates a greater need for staff assistance.

°After six months of effort at drafting, receiving comments and making changes, it was clear that obtaining
consensus from stakeholders by means of routing successive edited versions would not succeed. A meeting of
interested persons was convened to resolve differences in viewpoints, content, language and format. Several
more drafts, reviews by both audiology and certified dispenser advisory councils and final approval by the
MDH information office resulted in completion of the current version of the brochure in September 2006.
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3. Hearing Instrument Dispensers.

Individuals who have passed examinations call or email to obtain information and forms
related to applying for initial certification, and certified dispensers call concerning renewal of
certification and for submitting continuing education reports. Renewal of certification occurs
annually. Also applicants for initial certification contact us by phone or email. These contacts
rise and fall in relation to the release of examination results that occur four times per year.
These inquiries are referred to the credentialing staff responsible for certification. In
conjunction with these activities, credentialing staff respond to email and phone call requests
which may take five to 15 minutes to answer, and which may be repeated by the same
individual several times a day, and daily or nearly daily over a one to two week period.

C. Certification Examination and Exam Administration.

Written and practical examinations are the sole requirement for obtaining hearing instrument
dispenser certification.’® The purpose of the examination requirement is to assure a minimum
level of competency so that the dispenser performs the activities comprising dispensing with
the least risk of harm to the consumer. Currently there are no pre-requisites to taking the
written and practical examinations, and anyone may apply to take the examinations with or
without prior formal or informal education or training.

Appendix 7 shows the results of eight administrations of examinations offered in fiscal years
2006 and 2007. In summary:
= The overall pass rate for the examinations (written and practical) qualifying for
certification as a hearing instrument dispenser is 46%.
= The overall pass rate for the written exam (testing basic physics of sound, anatomy
and physiology of the ear, the functions of hearing instruments. and the principles of
hearing instrument selection) is 75%.
= The overall pass rate for the practical exam (testing audiometry, hearing instrument
trouble shooting, Minnesota and federal laws regulating hearing instrument
dispensing and ear mold impression taking and fitting) is 27%.
= The portion of the practical exam most difficult for examinees to pass is
audiometry,™ where a 100% failure rate frequently occurs.

In view of these results, the Department concludes that requiring a minimum amount of
education and specific training would improve examination outcomes. Until recently,
consensus had not been reached on education and training requirements. Though there is now
agreement that requirements to sit for examinations are needed, defining the content and type

19 Examinations to become certified were first required in the regulations in 1993. Prior to 1993, there were no
requirements related to knowledge, skill or competency to qualify for a credential to dispense hearing
instruments. Neither was a background check required. Anyone 21 years or older could obtain a permit.

! The audiometry section of the practical examination is comprised of a performance test and a written test.
Tasks in the performance test are designed to evaluate the candidate’s ability to conduct pure tone audiometric
tests, including obtaining valid pure tone air and bone conduction thresholds using the modified Hughson-
Westlake technique, and masking procedures as necessary; correctly prepare audiograms; set up an audiometer
for speech testing; and conduct speech audiometric tests. Also, the candidate is expected to interview clients
appropriately and identify ear conditions requiring medical referrals. The written test is designed to evaluate the
candidate’s ability to interpret three completed audiograms and identify the need for masking in order to obtain
a valid hearing threshold in air and bone conduction measurement and additionally, explain the reason for doing
S0.
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of education and training appropriate is not completed. The Department, through its Advisory
Council, expects to reach consensus on qualifications to take the dispensing examinations in
2009.

As shown in Table 2A, examination expenses consistently exceed examination revenues, and
the examination expenses are therefore a major contributor to total annual operating deficits.
(This matter is discussed in greater detail in Chapter 3. B.2.) As described earlier, the
examination consists of two parts: written and practical. TheDepartment uses a written
examination created, owned and made available by the International Hearing Society. Each
written exam costs $95, and this price includes scoring and reporting results to MDH. The
Department created, owns and uses a practical examination that it developed in the mid-
1990’s. A national practical exam was not and still is not available to provide performance-
based testing of skill, knowledge and competence as required by statute. An Examination
Committee of audiologist and non-audiologist dispensers updates and makes changes to the
exam; the Committee has also been convened to address appeals of exam results by persons
failing the practical exam.

D. Credentialing Activities.

Credentialing activities are so named because they involve the processing of applications for
certification (initial and renewal) and for trainee status. All requirements and procedures are
set forth in Minn. Stat. Ch. 153A. A person does not apply for certification unless they have
taken and passed the written and practical examinations. A person may apply for trainee
status and dispense hearing instruments under supervision of a certified dispenser for a one-
year period. The statute does not require a person to be or have been a trainee in order to
apply for certification or to take the certification exams.

Appendix 8 contains data showing the number of certifications issued in fiscal years 2004
through 2007, and the number of trainees representing potential new applicants for
certification. The data in Appendix 8 shows that:
= The number of certified hearing instrument dispensers (excluding audiologists) did
not exceed 175 until FY2007, when 178 persons were certified.
= The number of trainees has steadily and significantly declined each year, from a high
of 35 at fiscal year end in 2004 to 12 at the end of FY2007.

The credentialing function also includes other activities in addition to processing new trainee
and certification applications throughout the year and renewing certifications annually.
Renewal of certification requires submission of continuing education reports. These reports
are reviewed for compliance with requirements. Approximately 10% of renewals are late and
an equal percentage of continuing education reports are noncompliant. These are assessed
penalty fees calculated on the degree of the violations.

Finally, credentialing includes staffing and conducting quarterly advisory council meetings
each year. At these meetings staff report statistics on credentialing activity, examinations,
investigation of complaints and enforcement actions and budget, expenditure and revenue
numbers. Agendas for these meetings also include discussion of issues relating to regulatory
requirements and effects of regulations on certified dispensers and their business. Issues
related to consumer protection are also regular agenda subjects.
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E. Investigation and Enforcement Activities.

Most investigation and enforcement activities begin by a consumer complaint. Consistent
with the data on inquiries to the Consumer Information Center, data collected concerning
written complaints about hearing instrument dispensing reveals a significant number
submitted by advocates for the consumer. Generally 25% or more of the complaints are
submitted by a relative, friend, another professional or agency instead of the person who
purchased the hearing instrument.

Table 2B summarizes the types of allegations made by consumers in written complaints to
the Department. The most frequent reason for a complaint to the Department is the
dispenser’s failure to make a timely refund when the consumer cancels the purchase
agreement. Investigation of the complaint often reveals other issues such as dispenser failure
to honor terms of extensions to the consumer’s trial period when the aid does not satisfy the
consumer, the dispensing of hearing aids that are inappropriate for the consumer’s hearing
loss, and failures in accurately measuring the consumer’s hearing loss and determining the
need for hearing aids.

Table 2B
Types of Allegations in Consumer Complaints
FY’05-FY’08

FY FY FY FY

Allegations Received & Investigations Opened 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008

Intakes Received - Allegations 44 47 44 45
Investigations Opened — Allegation 23 20 21 16
Type of Allegations:

False or misleading advertising, high pressure sales, 2 3 6
deception or fraud

Failure to follow hearing testing protocol, FTC or FDA 3 5 4

regulations, including issues related to health records &
documentation

Conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm public 9 4 8 2
including incompetence or negligence

Failed to provide timely refund, including incorrect 13 10 6 6
contract language, product and repair

Illegal practice, continuing education, application issues | 2 4 4 2

As shown previously in Table 2A, an average of one full time staff person was committed to
investigation and enforcement activities in SFY’06 and ’07. Table 2C below provides
detailed information on the types and levels of performance occurring in this activity.




Table 2C
Investigation and Enforcement Activity
Opened, Closed and Pending Investigations & Enforcement Actions

FY’05-FY’08
ACTIVITY FY2005 | FY 2006 | FY 2007 | FY 2008
Intakes Received — Allegations in Year 44 47 44 45
Investigations Opened — Allegation in Year 22 20 21 16
Investigations Closed in Year 7 12 18 23
Investigations Pending as of Year: 73 81 84 77
Enforcement Actions Opened in Year 1 3 5 2
Enforcement Actions Closed in Year 0 3 3 1
Enforcement Actions Pending as of 2 2 4 5
Total Cases Pending as of 75 83 88 82

There are three primary avenues consumers and practitioners utilize to file a complaint about
hearing instrument dispensers. The first and most often used method is by phone call
received through the Consumer Information Center; the second is via the web site where
consumers can print out a complaint form and mail it; and the third is by a direct phone call

to the Investigator.

Not every phone call and allegation about dispensing conduct results in opening an
investigation. Intake staff asks and answers questions, screens information to determine that
the practitioner involved and the conduct are regulated by the certification system and may
arrange to send the consumer rights brochure and information packet to callers. Through the
information and assistance provided in phone conversations, mailings and the web-site,
approximately 50% of the contacts in the intake process result in callers being able to help
themselves. However, receipt of a written complaint does trigger the opening of an
investigation. The intake, investigation and enforcement processes are described in more

detail in Appendix 9.

Table 2C indicates that the number of allegations received and investigations opened have
been fairly constant over the three and one quarter years shown. Investigations closed and
enforcement actions completed fluctuate over the period and are dependant on staff resources
and the complexity of the cases. The Department has authority to and must investigate any
allegation concerning a person dispensing hearing instruments, certified or not. Findings
from an analysis of dispensers subject of open and pending complaints as of September 30,

2007 are presented in Tables 2D and 2E.
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Table 2D
Consumer Complaints Against
Persons Not Authorized to Dispense
As of September 30, 2007

Status of Dispenser* Dispensers Complaint Investigations
Number Percent Number Percent

Currently Certified 25 61 37 54
Not Authorized to Dispense: 16 39 32 46

Never Certified 5 12 13 19

Certification Denied 1 2 9 13

Certification Expired 5 12 5 7

Trainee Status Expired 5 12 5 7
TOTALS 41 100 69 100

* For purposes of this table only, a Dispenser is a person who sold or attempted to sell a hearing instrument to a
consumer. These figures do not include complaints against licensed audiologists or unlicensed persons with
audiology training.

Table 2D shows that as of September 30, 2007, 39 percent of the persons subject of open
consumer complaints were not certified. More significantly, these persons accounted for
46 percent (32 of 69) of the open complaints under investigation at that time.

Table 2E
Distribution of Open Consumer Complaints Between
Certified Dispensers* & Persons Not Certified
As of September 30, 2007

Number of Open Persons Not Dispensers Total Open
Complaints N=24 Certified N = 16 Certified N=184 Complaints N=61
9 1 0 9
5 1 0 5
4 0 2 8
3 2 1 9
2 0 4 8
1 12 18 30
0 0 159 0

* For purposes of this table, a Dispenser is a person who sold or attempted to sell a hearing instrument to a
consumer. These figures do not include complaints against licensed audiologists or unlicensed persons with
audiology training.

= Table 2E shows that as of September 30, 2007, one uncertified person had nine open
complaints against them; another had five complaints. Twelve uncertified persons had
one open complaint.

= The vast majority of certified dispensers, 159 or 87%, did not have any open complaints
against them.

= Together, Tables 2D and 2E show that the Department has spent a significant portion of
its investigative staff resources on complaints and enforcement action against persons
who were not currently certified.
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The certification regulations require the Department to investigate every consumer
complaint, and, under current statute, the costs of investigation and enforcement are required
to be paid for by fees from certified dispensers.
= The Department estimates that 25 percent of investigative staffs’ time goes to
investigative and enforcement activity against uncertified persons. The cost of these
efforts is approximately $23,000 per year.

The cost of investigating complaints is primarily the cost of investigative staff time, but may
also include per diems to advisory council members, copy costs, Attorney General and
contested case hearing expenses. During the investigation of complaints, Staff often utilizes
the expertise of practitioner members of the Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification
Advisory Council. These practitioner members and a consumer member constitute the
Competency Review Committee (CRC), and their purpose is to assist the investigator in
analyzing dispensing records and audiometric data, identifying conduct evidencing lack of
competencce and advising on appropriate remedies for resolving complaint allegations,
including alternatives for holding the practitioner accountable for any incompetent or illegal
practices. Table 2F shows the level of activity of the CRC.

Table 2F
Competency Review Committee Activity
FY’05-FY’08

Hearing Instrument Dispenser Advisory Council

Competency Review Committee Meetings FY 05 | FY 06 | FY 07 | FY 08

Number of HID CRC meetings 2 2 2 3
Number of Practitioners discussed 4 6 7 15
Number of Investigations reviewed 9 7 9 14"

In the next chapter several sections illustrate consumer harm, the complexity of complaint
investigations when numerous consumers are affected or harmed by dispensing activities,
and the time involved in obtaining and analyzing records, including items such as purchase
agreements, audiograms and related hearing testing records, invoices from the manufacturers,
and service and warranty plans. Following investigation, staff must negotiate settlement
agreements, prepare for a contested case hearing if requested by the practitioner, or monitor
the settlement agreement.

12 In one investigation, the HID CRC reviewed 20 audiograms and related hearing tests representing twelve
consumers, which was approximately 15% of the audiograms submitted during the investigation.

-12 -




Chapter 3

Paying For Hearing Aid Consumer Protection

A. Why Do Regulatory Costs Exceed Revenues?

The factors most affecting regulatory costs in the Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification
system are implementation of significant changes to regulations, administration of
examinations and investigation of consumer complaints.

1. Changing Regulations, Increased Expenses.

Budgeting and setting fees so that year to year revenues approximate expenditures is difficult
when there are unpredictable and relatively frequent fluctuations in expenditures, numbers of
practitioners, and fee revenues. These kinds of changes produce extremes of alternating
annual deficits and surpluses. Appendix 2 shows the total annual expenditures, revenues and
account balances for regulating hearing instrument dispensers from inception of regulation in
1988 through SFY 2008. There is a correlation among implementation of significant changes
in regulations, increases in operating expenditures in a given year and resulting deficits when
revenues are constant or decrease because of changes. Examples detailed in Appendix 2
include converting the permit to a certification requirement in 1994, development of the
practical examination in 1995 and 1996, an enforcement action and contested case hearing in
1996 and 1997, and the removal of audiologists from the certification system in the 2005
legislative session that took effect in fiscal year 2006.

Currently, certification fees and revenues have not been adjusted to account for the 2005
legislative changes which reduced the number of certified dispensers from 410 at the end of
2004 to 158 at the end of 2005, while exam administration expenses remained constant and
investigation costs increased.

2. Certification Examination.

Administration of the practical examination is expensive because it is labor intensive. Each
practical exam administration requires recruiting and securing raters who are certified
dispensers and licensed audiologists. New raters required training by current raters and
Department staff. Each rater is paid $12/hour for eight to ten hours the day of the exam. The
Department supervises the written exam, directs exam candidates through practical exam
stations and proctors or assists raters in administering portions of the practical exam.

Following the examinations, the Department employs a consultant to score the practical
exams, tabulates the scores, and produces and mails a score report to each examinee.
Examinees who fail one or more portions of the exam frequently request additional
information concerning the failing score(s).

The Department has had eight challenges to the practical examination between 2004 and
2006. Responding to each challenge involved an investigation and written answers to
allegations. One challenge advanced to completing preparation for a contested case hearing
before the individual withdrew. Most challenges are made by individuals who fail one or
more portions of the examinations three times within a two year period, and who by statute
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must wait one year before applying to retake all portions of the exam. Challenges declined
substantially in 2007, in large part because the Department has successfully defended its
practical exam on grounds it is fairly and consistently administered.

3. Investigation and Enforcement Activities.

It is also labor intensive and time consuming to investigate complaints and take enforcement
actions against dispensers found to have violated the standards for ethical and competent
practice. As indicated in Table 2A, an average of one full time staff person was committed to
investigation and enforcement activities in SFY’06 and ’07. The following synopses of two
cases illustrate the complexity and effort of this work. Most often the initial concern
expressed by the consumer begins an investigation that then reveals dispenser conduct that is
unprofessional or incompetent or both. It is not uncommon that the Department finds
evidence that a dispenser sells a hearing instrument to a consumer who has a condition (for
example, a significant unilateral hearing loss and an air-bone gap) that FDA regulations
require the dispenser to refer the consumer to a licensed physician prior to recommending
and fitting a hearing instrument. Because of data practices requirements, the following
examples do not include current cases, but they do represent current pending investigations
and enforcement actions.

a. Dispenser not Certified and Consumer Harm.

In 2004 and 2005, the Department received consumer complaints concerning sales of
hearing aids by a person who was not certified. Investigation found that the individual
dispensed hearing instruments to twenty-one consumers with total purchases
amounting to $45,807.00. In the sales transactions, only one consumer was given the
required 30-day guarantee and buyer right to cancel, and only one consumer signed
the required FDA waiver. None of the consumers were given the MDH consumer
rights brochure.

The individual involved in this case had previously been disciplined by the
Department for dispensing hearing instruments without a certificate in October 1995
and June 1996. Even though the person had also entered into a plea agreement with
Grant County after pleading guilty to a misdemeanor for dispensing instruments
without a valid certificate, in February 2005, the person again placed advertisements
for hearing aids in local newspapers and held himself out as a “licensed hearing aid
specialist.” Under the terms of a stipulation and consent order entered in August 2005
the individual was ordered again to cease dispensing in Minnesota, cease advertising
and representing that he can legally dispense in Minnesota, pay a civil penalty of
$9,947.00, and mail a letter to all current and past customers notifying them he is not
allowed to dispense in Minnesota. Department staff is currently monitoring monthly
payments related to the civil penalty.

This case illustrates the relative ease with which consumers can be led to deal with a
person not qualified by the department to dispense hearing instruments. The case also
shows that the dispensing regulations do not prevent occurrence of harm, and that the
Department’s consumer education and outreach efforts can effectively protect
consumers and assure that they know their legal rights when purchasing hearing
instruments. Finally, the case makes a point of the fact that although hearing aids are
classified as medical devices and required by state law to be sold by certified or
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licensed practitioners, anyone can obtain hearing aids from manufacturers for sale at
retail.

Each year the Department receives inquiries and complaints about hearing aids sold
by businesses in catalogues, over the internet or through “mail order” solicitations. If
the sale does not involve a dispensing person in Minnesota, the Department does not
have jurisdiction, though it does refer these matters to the Minnesota Attorney
General’s Office and Federal Trade Commission. A more effective solution to this
situation and the harm to consumers flowing from transactions not involving face-to-
face consumer-dispenser contact would be voluntary action by manufacturers to not
sell product to persons they do not verify as state-credentialed dispensers.

b. Business Incompetence and Failure.

Following receipt of complaints from consumers that a dispenser was not refunding
payments in a timely manner on hearing aids returned and sales cancelled, the
Department found that the dispenser had conducted an advertising and sales
campaign and completed 35 sales of hearing aids worth over $112,000 between an
August 1% and September 31 time period when he was not certified. Following a
contested case hearing an administrative law judge found in favor of the
Department’s denial of certification on grounds that Practitioner had been subject to
numerous stipulation and consent orders regarding failure to timely refund consumers
as required by law and that practitioner sold approximately 35 hearing instruments
without valid certification to dispense hearing instruments. The Commissioner
ordered the Practitioner to pay $12,724.20 for the cost of the investigation and a civil
penalty of $3,500 for 35 sales of hearing instruments without a certificate. The
Practitioner was also to be denied a certificate to dispense hearing instruments for a
period of two years. To date, the Practitioner has not paid the penalties, and the
individual is not certified to dispense hearing instruments. The Practitioner’s business
ceased operations, and currently the Department has no evidence that the Practitioner
is working in Minnesota.

B. What Changes to the Certification System Might Reduce Costs?

1. Change Certification or Examination Requirements.

Current regulations do not require applicants to obtain and document a minimum level of
education (high school graduation is not required) or other training in order to take the
written or practical examinations, or to qualify for certification. The extremely high rate of
failure by certified dispensers on the practical examination we cited in Chapter 2. D, suggests
that formal education and training would result in improved pass rates on the examination.
As shown in Appendix 7, the failure rate for audiometry for persons without audiology
training who failed one or more parts of the practical exam in FY’06 and FY’07 has been
100% in six of eight administrations of the audiometry portion. Audiometric testing measures
degree of hearing loss, and improved skill and competence in this area would likely reduce
the number of consumer complaints of dissatisfaction with products and services.

The topic of establishing training and education requirements for examination and/or
certification has been frequently raised in Advisory Council meetings and other forums. As
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referenced above, in Chapter 2, D, we stated that some consensus has been reached to
consider some form of training and education requirements.

2. Change Examination Administration.

The Department currently proctors the written examination it purchases, and administers the
practical examination it developed and owns. In the practical examination, the Department
uses certified hearing instrument dispensers and licensed audiologists that it trains and pays
to rate examinee performance of skills and tasks required to safely dispense. It has been
suggested that the Department contract out administration of both examinations to save its
effort and expenses, and to have examinees deal with an independent testing organization.
However, a practical exam is not available in the public domain. Contracting out
administration of the Department’s exam would not likely cost less. Though a significant
amount of staff time is committed to exam administration, offsetting the expenses are savings
realized by the Department utilizing its physical facilities to conduct the exam, paying its
raters an amount far less than the hourly wage they could demand as experts hired by a
testing organization and, in the event of examinee challenges to fairness and consistency in
conducting the practical exam, having direct observation and knowledge of contested events.

It has also been suggested that two instead of four administrations of the exam would reduce
costs. While this would halve the total annual cost of administering examinations, it would
also reduce the revenue while not reducing the costs of each exam administration. As noted
in Chapter 2, D., demand for examination opportunities exceeds the 100 spots available each
year. For this reason alone, the Department has not reduced the number of examination
administrations to the minimum of two required by statute. Indeed in 2004, the Department
increased the number of annual exam administrations from three to four. The Department
believes, following discussion with its Advisory Councils, that increasing the exam fee is the
best way to address the cost issue. Advisory Council members agree that a higher fee would
create incentive for candidates to take the exam after adequate preparation, rather than using
the exam as a learning tool and a check on what the dispenser does not know.

3. Use the Attorney General’s Office for Some Complaints.

As noted in the information in Section F of Chapter 1, almost 50% of the complaints
currently being investigated in the certification system involve persons who are not currently
certified, and that the vast majority of certified dispensers do not currently have complaints
against them. It may be argued that the costs of investigation and enforcement of complaints
against uncertified persons should not be borne by dispensers who comply with the
certification requirements. Department staff has internally discussed seeking assistance from
the Consumer Division of the Attorney General’s Office for cases involving these
individuals. However, not all cases currently involving uncertified persons can be easily
segregated. In some cases, the dispenser was either certified or a trainee when complaints
were received. A change in the status of the dispenser involved doesn’t change the
appropriateness of employing the Department and its advisory council’s expertise in closing
the case. Another consideration is whether delegating or transferring cases and using
Attorney General’s Office resources would also require a transfer of funds. If so, no cost
reductions would be achieved. Nevertheless, the Department intends to explore this option
for cases in which the dispenser who is subject of the complaint was never certified.
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C. What Are Possible Alternatives for Generating Adequate Revenues?

The alternative of increasing current fees was proposed in the 2007 Legislative Session and
did not pass out of policy and budget committees in either House or Senate. Concern was
raised about the amount of the increase requested by the Department. In addition to
increasing fees, the following sections discuss the pros and cons of three other alternatives
that could b considered.

1. Increase Current Fees.

Fee adjustments are consistent with the legislative policy that practitioners in each
occupation pay the costs of regulating. The reasonableness and fairness of this policy is
tested when the occupational group has relatively few members to cover regulatory costs. In
the recent past, the Legislature followed its policy and required that hearing instrument
dispensers pay the cost of investigation and enforcement actions arising from complaints
from their consumers. Further, the Legislature required that these costs not be borne by or
shared with audiologist dispensers when, from 1998 through 2003, it established the annual
fee (certification plus a surcharge) for dispensers who were not audiologists at $820 while
audiologists paid $330.

Another pertinent consideration is the fee that certified hearing instrument dispensers can
reasonably and fairly afford. Two sources indicate that hearing aid dispenser average annual
salaries range from $40,000 to $120,000." The background section of this report presented
national survey data for all dispensing practitioners indicating that an average of 15 hearing
instruments, each at an average price of $1,912, were sold per dispenser per month. This
calculates to hearing instrument sales revenues of $28,680 per month or $344,160 per year
per dispenser. Subtracting a 100% markup on the manufacturer cost of the hearing instrument
leaves $172,000 for paying other business costs. Total annual certification fees in the
amounts proposed in the budget in Appendix 8 to take effect in FY2010 would comprise just
over one-half of one percent for two years, and just over three tenths of a percent thereafter.

2. Assess a Surcharge Based on Each Hearing Instrument Sold.

The Department has discussed the idea of legislation that would place a surcharge on every
hearing instrument sold. The amount of the surcharge would be calculated using the hearing
instrument survey data stated above. This option may be perceived as a more equitable
method of raising revenues because it would be based on each dispenser’s sales volume.
Each dispenser’s certification fee would be more directly related to ability to pay. However,
some certified dispensers are business owners; others are employees, while others may
operate as independent contractors. Thus, the surcharge might most appropriately be paid by
the business entity. Currently, the Department has jurisdiction only over dispensing
individuals, not businesses, and it would require legislative authority to expand the
regulation.

This approach would require determining a cost effective way to assess and collect the
appropriate amount. Using a method similar to the 2% provider tax on health care services
collected by the Department of Revenue has been suggested. However, the collection method
must assure that the surcharge attach only to hearing instruments sold by certified dispensers
and exclude product sold by dispensing audiologists. Each licensed audiologist already pays

3 Answers.com: http://www.answers.com/topic/hearing-aid-dispenser, March 9, 2007
Payscale: http://www.payscale.com/research/US/Industry=Hearing_Aid_Dispensing/Salary, March 9, 2007
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a surcharge fee to cover the costs of licensing that are attributable to hearing instrument
dispensing consumer protection activities. Another consideration is whether this type of
collection mechanism is cost-effective for less than 200 dispensers.

3. Assess a Business Fee Based on Hearing Instrument Sales Revenue.

Using the hearing instrument dispenser survey information related previously, the
Department could calculate the surcharge rate per hearing instrument and in statute require
each dispensing business to submit a fee based on total certified dispenser unit sales. Similar
to approach number 2 above, mechanisms should assure that only certified dispenser activity
is assessed. The Department could corroborate reports by requiring submission of annual
business or individual tax returns. Following review of dispensing activity, the Department
would notify each dispensing business of the annual fee due.

4. Support Consumer Protection with General Funding.

Another alternative to increasing current fees or establishing new fees to cover the costs for
protecting consumers of hearing instruments is a general fund appropriation. This option
would represent a policy change from both historical and current funding of occupational
regulation. Current legislative policy, as previously noted and as articulated in Minnesota
Statutes 2007, section 214.06, Subdivision 1, is that all costs of regulating an occupation be
paid for by fees sufficient to cover anticipated expenditures. Justification for departing from
this policy and utilizing general funds could rest on the particular vulnerability of the hearing
aid consumer, the small size of the practitioner group, the extent to which regulatory
resources are expended on un-certified dispensers and draw on the fee revenues of fee-paying
certified dispensers, and that any imposition of higher fees would likely be passed to
consumers in the cost of hearing aids and services. Reasons against use of general funds to
protect hearing aid consumers from illegal dispensing conduct are that it would be precedent-
setting and provide a basis for future requests to subsidize the regulatory costs of other
occupations credentialed by the State.

D. Department of Health Recommendation.

The Department recommends increasing the certification fee and the examination fee for
hearing instrument dispensers so that total biennial revenues will approximate biennial
expenditures. Under Minn. Stat. sec. 16A.1285, Subd. 2, the policy for specific charges for
services related to licensure is to set the charges at a level that approximates costs involved in
providing the services. As current fees under recover the regulatory cost for hearing
instrument consumer protection services, it is appropriate to establish a fee that will recover
the cost. In addition, a surcharge is recommended to recover the current deficit.

The fee for certification would increase from $350 to $700 per year, and the exam fee would
increase from $500 to $1000. The surcharge would be $550 per year for two years. Fee
calculations assume a growth in the number of hearing instrument dispensers of five per year.
This assumption was reduced from ten per year on advice of dispenser representatives who
see industry changes adversely affecting the occupation. Lesser or greater numbers of new
entrants to the occupation will affect the account balance. These fee increases are lower than
initially estimated in 2007 due to assigning support staff to handle consumer information and
assistance, and not filling a staff vacancy.
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Changes to program operations have maintained effectiveness and reduced service costs.
Staff levels have been reduced, but further reductions will compromise consumer protection.
Current and future staffing for consumer protection, including investigation and credentialing
activity, totals 1.45 FTEs. The amount of the current account deficit attributable to
unrecovered costs incurred in FY2006 and FY2007 could be excluded from the surcharge fee
calculation under legislative policy stated in Minn. Stat. sec. 16A.1285, subd. 2. However,
limiting recovery to the two fiscal years immediately preceding the fee adjustment shifts
recovery of the costs to other unrelated regulatory programs funded by the State Government
Special Revenue Fund.
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Appendix 1

Audiologists and Hearing Instrument Dispensers
- by ZIP Code - Minnesota 2007
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Appendix 2

Fiscal History of Hearing Instrument Dispenser Regulation

Rulemaking for permitting of
hearing instrument sellers

*, Certification Exam required to dispense
Exam Development, Contested case
Exam Development, Contested case

Audiologist pay lower certification fee, and the
fee differential is based on fewer complaints

Credential fee holiday to reduce surplus
Audiologists removed from certification requirement
Examination challenges and contested case.

Fiscal Annual  Transfers Cumulative No. of Credential
Year Expenses Revenues Acct. Bal (out)fin** Acct. Bal HIDs FeeAmnt Notes
1988

1989 ($77,754)

1990 $38,592  $37,849 ($743) $0 ($78,497) $140
1981 $96,056  $56,656  ($39,400) $0 ($117,897) 380 $140
1992 $78,100 $66,812 ($11,288) $0 ($129,185) 400 $140
1993 §$103,921  $84,001  ($19,920) $0 ($129,185) 440 $140
1994 $183,437 $126,952 ($56,485) $0 ($185670) 344 $340/$239
1995 $196,032 $118,695 ($77,337) $0 ($263,007) 226 $340/$239
1996 $155,087 $104,085 ($51,002) $0 ($313,000) 284 $340/$239
1997 $186,000 $102,000 ($84,000) $0 ($397,000) 290 $340/$239 Contested case.
1998 §$143,000 $191,000 $48,000 $0 ($349,000) 299 $820/$330
1999 $73,000 $200,000 $127,000 $0 ($222,000) 319 $820/$330
2000 $90,000 $192,000 $109,000 $0 $120,000 320 $820/$330
2001 $96,000 $212,000 $116,000 $0  $4,000 331 $820/%330
2002 $113,000 $222,000 $109,000 $0 $113,000 353  $820/$330
2003 $131,000 $247,000 $65,000 ($51,000) $175,000 376 $820/$330
2004 $157,319 $50,752 ($106,567) $0 $68,000 398 $0
2005 §$158,381 $176,357 $17,976 $9,000 $95,000 404 $350
2006 3$201,553 $104,896 ($96,657) 0 ($1.657) 172 $350
2007 $190,260 $96,370  ($93,980) $24,000 ($71,547) 184 $350
2008 $146,226 $88,374  $57,852 $0 $129,399 195 $350

* Fee differential: Audiologists, also registered by MDH, were credited $101 for their registration fees
** Transfer to General Fund in 2003; Transfer from Audiology account for exam administration costs in 2005 and for unallocated
consumer information and assistance costs in 2007 for periocd 2005 through 2007.
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Appendix 3
Materials Included in a Mailing Packet
Literature sent to consumers may include the following publications:

= Legal rights and consumer information about purchasing a hearing instrument,
Minnesota Department of Health

= Sound advice on hearing aids, Federal Trade Commission

= Straight talk from FDA about hearing loss and hearing aids, U.S. Food and Drug
Administration

= Buying medical devices online, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, U.S.
Food and Drug Administration

= Services to Minnesotans who are deaf, deafblind or hard of hearing, Minnesota
Department of Human Services, Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services Division
(DHHS)

= DHHS Hearing Aid Information Series, Minnesota Department of Human Services

Hearing and hearing loss

Myths about hearing aids

Buying a hearing aid

Types of hearing aids

Getting used to hearing aids

Care & troubleshooting of hearing aids
Assistive listening devices and hearing aids
Consumer rights and laws

Financial resources for hearing aids

O O0OO0O0OO0OO0OO0OO0O

= A User’s Guide to Small claims Court, Office of the Minnesota Attorney General



Appendix 4

Types and Numbers of Requests from Consumers

The following table shows numbers of intakes received by the Health Occupations Program

from FY 2006 through 2007. The numbers reflect requests for information received

telephonically or in written correspondence. This table does not include complaint data.

obtaining certification, and requests for applications

Intakes Received — Consumer Information & FY 06 FY 07 FY 08
Assistance and Practitioner Questions
Inquiry — Credential Check 5 15 19
Inquiry — Exam Questions N/A N/A 142
Inquiry — Public Action Check 1 4 3
Total Information Inquiries / Type 40 46 163
Information about purchasing a hearing aid, requests 20 9 14
for literature (may include credential check)
Questions related to consumer’s purchase of
instruments (terms of purchase agreement, trial period, 7 5 13
cancellation fee, refunds, adjustments during trial,
Mn/Care)
Questions related to advertising (mail order, internet,
. . 4 7 5
advertised sales, discounts and open houses)
Questions related to problems with refunds, service,
Do . 2 5
and contacting dispenser due to business closure
Questions related to home solicitation sales 1 3 1
Request for financial resources 6 1 2
Questions related to post-trial period, including
practitioner competency, hearing aids not working, 2 5 4
excessive adjustments/repairs, improper fit, or medical
Certified dispenser questions to I/E staff about laws
and regulations, purchase agreements and to request N/A 11 23
copies of MDH brochure
Certlfleql d|§penser questions to C_redentlalln_g staff N/A N/A 53
about applications, renewal, continuing education
Questions to Credentialing staff about exam, N/A 9 43

The following table shows the types of callers as related to table above for Intakes Received.

Type of Caller FY 06 FY 07 FY 08
Consumer 29 21 24
Consumer relative/friend 10 10 11
Other Professional/Agency, including dispensers 8 13 10
Total 47 44 45

The following table shows the number of calls received through intake, by month and by year
for calendar year 2005, 2006 and 2007. The table includes calls related to allegations,

A-4




credential check, consumer information, public information and practitioner information. In
July 2007, questions received through the Credentialing staff related to examinations were
added to the intake database.

January 1, 2005 through | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 Investigation & 2007 Credentialing
December 31, 2007 Enforcement (Consumer | (Application &
& Dispenser) Exam)
January 6 5 11 0
February 4 9 7 0
March 2 5 6 0
April 6 11 9 0
May 9 7 9 0
June 8 7 16 0
July 1 9 27 13
August 14 20 17 12
September 6 45 32 21
October 5 28 18 136
November 13 12 10 11
December 7 13 9 12

Electronic Call Processing (ECP)

In April, 2007, the Department implemented ECP for the toll free number (1-800-657-3837)
and the general information number (651-297-3729) for hearing instrument consumers.
These phone numbers are published on the Department’s brochures for consumer who
purchase hearing instruments or use the services of hearing instrument dispensers, speech-
language pathologists, audiologists, and occupational therapists. However, the majority of
phone calls placed to these numbers are related to hearing instrument dispensing services.
The ECP system gives callers the choice of speaking to staff, leaving their name and address
for a complaint form or brochures, and also provides the Health Occupations Program
website, fax number and mailing address. Additionally, the ECP gives callers the office hours
and instructions for using the Department’s website. The following table reflects calls made
to the Hearing Instrument Dispenser Consumer Information Toll Free number 800-657-3837
and 651-297-3729 for the period May 2007 through August 2007.

| May 2007 June 2007 July 2007 Aug 2007
Number of Incoming Number of Incoming Number of Incoming Number of Incoming
Times Box Connect Times Box Connect Times Box Connect Times Box Connect
Description Accessed Minutes Accessed Minutes Accessed Minutes Accessed Minutes
Transfer to Main
Greeting 36 0 15 3 12 2 51 49
Main Greeting 37 30 65 59 45 50 0 0
Website Address 2 2 1 1 0 0 23 10
Complaint Form/ 33 15 35 25 18 8 54 1
Brochure
Transfer to
Intake Staff 10 3 62 0 44 0 17 5




Appendix 5

Consumer Rights Brochure

Consumer information '

Shop, compare. Hearing instrument quality,
prices, models, guarantees, wartanties, and
service agreements vary widely. Meny
practitioners offer terms that exceed the
minimum legal requirements on trial periods,
cancellations, refunds and warranties.

Choosing your practitioner. You can
purchase hearing instruments from the
regulated practitioner of your choice. You
do not have to buy a hearing instrument
from the person who evaluated or tested

. your hearing.

“One ‘brand’ does not fit all.” Ask if the
practitioner offers multiple brands of hearing
instruments.

Negotiate terms. You and your
audiologist or hearing instrument dispenser
should discuss and agree on all the features
and the service agreement of the hearing
instrument you buy. You have the right to
ask the practitioner te put inte writing any
verbal promises or claims that are made to
you about the hearing instrument sale,
service contracts, guarantees, warranties,
optional features, or battery agreements.
You can ask for changes in any pre-printed
contract form.

insurance. Check with your insurance
carrier to determine if they require a medical
evaluation prior to paying for hearing testmg
and hearing aid fitting.

Locking. Some brand-name hearing
instruments may be “locked.” Ask if the
hearing instruments can be programmed,
adjusted and repaired by other practitioners.

Follow-up service is critical to the long-
term success of the hearing instrument
fitting. Before signing a contract you should
ask for written information about the
practitioner’s service policy, After
purchasing, if you do not understand any
part of your hearing instrument sale, call
your hearing instrument practitioner for an
explanation. Work with your practitioner if
you are experiencing any difficulty with
either the fit or the sound quality of the
hearing instrument.

Successful hearing aid usage requires
an adjustment period. During the trial
period, make sure fo use your hearing
instruments in many different situations,
such as while in restaurants, group
discussions, work related areas, atiending
sparting events, theaters, and while using
telephones, watching TV, etc.

Make sure you resolve problems during
the 45-day trial period. The practitioner
should schedule service check-up
appointments during the 45-day trial period
to assure your satisfaction. If a checkup is
not possible within the 45-day trial period,
or if problems exist with your fitting, you
should request an extension of the 45-days
in writing. You should return the hearing
instrument right away within this 45-day
period if the dispenser does not provide
adequate service or address fitting problems
to your satisfaction.

Earwax amnd moisture can damage the
hearing instrument. Be sure to follow
your practitioner’s instructions and those of
the hearing instrument manufacturer to keep
the hearing instrument: (1) clean and free of
wax and [continued on next page]

(2) dry, especially when the weather is
damp or perspiration is present. The
hearing instrument will not work right if it
is dirty or too damp.

Legal rights
and consumer
information
about
purchasing a
hearing
instrument

Telecoils and T-switches are available on
many hearing instrument models and can
improve use with the telephone and other
assistive listening devices. The practitioner
should explain these options to you before you
select a hearing instrument.

Directional technology improves hearing
ability in noisy environments. Directional
microphones help by providing more
amplification to sounds that come from the front
rather than sounds coming from behind you.

Used hearing instruments. Generally, you
should not purchase a used hearing instrument.

Your old hearing instrument. If it stil}
functions and fits your ear, you may want to
keep it as a backup if your new instrument
needs servicing or repair.

Questions or complaints .

If you have questions or complaints regarding
your practitioner, the hearing instrument or the
service you have received, you may contact our
Consumer Information Center at:
Minnesota Department of Health
Health Ocecupations Program
85 E 7" Place, Suite 300
P.O. Box 64882
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882

General and legal
information about the
purchase of hearing
instruments in Minnesota

Phone: (651) 201-3729
MN Relay: 711 M DH
TDD/TYY: (651) 201-5797

[DEPARTMENT of HEALTH]
Foll Free: (800) 657-3837 LPARTMENT of HEALTH
Web site: www.health.state.mn.us Protecting, maintaining and improving
E-mail: HOP@health state.mn.us the health of all Minnesotans



Who'is authorized to dispense
hearing instruments?

There are two types of practitioners
regulated in Minnesota and authorized to
dispense hearing instruments who may
help you with a hearing loss. Their
qualifications are:

Audioclogists are persons licensed by the
Commissioner of Health who: (1) have
completed at least a Master’s degree and a
supervised professional internship
experience in audiology; (2) provide
diagnostic hearing evaluations; (3)
specialize in the evaluation and

- rehabilitation of individuals with hearing
loss; and (4) recommend, fit and/or
dispense hearing instruments.

Hearing Instr t Disp 'S are
persons certified by the Commissioner of
Health who: (1) have passed a written and
practical examination, (2) provide hearing
testing and evaluations for the purpose of
hearing aid recommendation, selection and
fitting; and (3) recommend, select and fit
hearing instraments.

‘Minimum legal requirements -

Medical evaluation. The Food and Drug
Administration requires that you have a
medical evaluation by a licensed physician
(preferably a physician who specializes in
diseases of the ear) before purchasing a
hearing aid.

Ear, nose and throat specialists (ENT’s
or Otolaryngologists) are licensed physicians
who specialize in identifying and treating
medical conditions related to diseases of the
ear and the hearing system.

Medical evaluation waiver. You can

obtain a hearing instrument without having a
medical evaluation by a licensed physician,

if:

(1) You are 18 years of age or older; (2) The
practitioner informs you that waiving the medical
evaluation by a licensed physician is not in your
best health interest; (3) The practitipner does not
in any way actively encourage you to waive the
medical evaluation; and (4) The practitioner gives
you an opportunity to review and sign a waiver
form before you sign the contract. You can ask the
practitioner for a copy of the medical waiver form.

Minors. Minnesota law prohibits practitioners
from dispensing a hearing instrument to a minor
person 18 years or younger, unless evaluated by
an audiologist for hearing evaluation and
hearing aid evaluation.

Audiograms. You have the right to obtain a
copy of the audiogram from the practitioner
who tested your hearing,

Cancellations. The practitioner must give you
a written 45-day trial that allows you to return
the hearing instrument within 45 calendar days
after delivery for any reason. You must cancel
the sale in writing and return the instroment to
the dispenser within this 45-day period. If the
hearing instrument is in the possession of the
practitioner for any reason during those 45
calendar days after delivery, then the 45-day
trial period is extended one day for each 24-hour
period the instrument is not in your possession.

Trade-ins. Upon cancellation of your
purchase agreement and at your request, the
practitioner must return your hearing
instrument used as a trade-in or for a
discount in the price of a new hearing
instrument.

Refunds. The practitioner may keep up to
$250 of the total purchase price of the
hearing instruments as a cancellation fee if
you agree to it. You should look for the
refund amount on the contract. The
practitioner has 30 days to refund your
money.

Repair warranties. Any warranty of
hearing instrument repairs must be made in
writing and delivered to you. The warranty
must state the service provider’s name,
address, telephone number, length of
warranty, model and serial number of the
hearing instrament covered by warranty and
alt ether terms and conditions of the
warranty.

Purchases made in the home. Af the
time of the sale, the practitioner must tell
you of your right to cancel a home
solicitation sale. Like any other “in-home™
sale, you have the right to cancel the sale of
a hearing instrument until midnight of the
third business day after the sale occurs, If
you choose to cancel the sale, you must give
a writien cancellation to the practitioner at
his or her address as stated in the contract. If
you mail the cancellation before the three-
day refund period is over, it is effective
upon deposit in a mailbox. In this instance,
the practitioner has ten calendar days to
refund 100% of your money.
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Canceling an in-home purchase. The
practitioner must give you a copy of the
contract that must include, near the signature
line, a notice of your right to cancel the
contract. The practitioner must attach to the
contract or receipt a fully completed form
captioned, “NOTICE OF
CANCELLATION.” If the practitioner
does not give you this form, you can cancel
the in-home sale by notifying the
practitioner in any manner and by any
means of the intention to cancel.

User instructional booklet. The
practitioner must give you this booklet for
any hearing instrument you select. The
practitioner must review the content of the
booklet with you.

Instrument identification. All hearing
instroments must be clearly and permanently
marked with the name of the manufacturer
or distributor, model name or number, serial
number, and the year of manufacture.

Used or rebuilt instruments. If a hearing

instrument has been used, or if it is a rebuilt

model, it must state the fact on the container
in which it is packaged and also on a tag that
is physically attached to the instrument.

Reprinted By:

Revised: 8/14/2006



Appendix 6

Hearing Instrument Dispenser Consumer Information on MDH Website

HID Consumer Information Page ) ot 2

Health Health Occupations Program

Occupations

pr‘:{gram Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification Program
+ Home

o G al_Information -
eneraintorm Consumer Information

http://www.fda.gov/cdrh/consumer/ Medical Devices Consumer Information, Federal Food and Drug
ational Therapy Administration.
itioner Licensing

o http://www.ftc.gov/ftc/consumer.htm Consumer Information about internet sales at Federal Trade
Commissioner.
) Complementary ang o hitp://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/groups/disabilities/documents/pub/dhs_id 000081 .hcsp Minnesota
Alterpative Health

Department of Human Services Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services

e http://www. health.state.mn.us/divs/fh/mch/hlth-vis/index.html. Minnesota Department of Health, Hearing and
Vision Screening Information

http://www.mncdhh.com/ Minnesota Commission Serving Deaf and Hard of Hearing People

http://www.mncourts.gov/selfhelp/?page=313 Minnesota Conciliation Court Information

e http://www.mnd.bbb.org/search.html, Minnesota Better Business Bureau

hitp://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hop/hid/hidbro081406.pdf Legal Rights and Consumer Information
about Purchasing a Hearing Instrument - MDH/HOP Informational Brochure (pdf:37kb:2 pages)

For further information, please contact the Minnesota Department of Health's Division of Compliance Monitoring,

Health Occupations Program at
651-201-3724, or by e-mail at hop@health.state.mn,us.

httn-/Rararas health atate mn ne/dive/hnse/hon/hid/consumerinfo.html 08/31/2007



Appendix 7

Hearing Instrument Dispenser Exam Data for Fiscal Years 2006 and 2007

Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification Examinatioﬁs
Overall Passing Rates FY'06 and FY'07*

FY06 FY07 Total
Written Test Applicants 35 38 73
Written Passing 23 32 55
Percent Pass Rate 66% 84% 75%
Practical Test Applicants 52 65 117
Practical Passing 1" 21 32
Percent Pass Rate 21% 32% 27%
Total Applicants 87 103 190
Total Passing 34 53 87
Total Pass Rate - 39% 51% 46%

* Figures do not include results of persons with audiclogy training.

Hearing Instrument Dispenser Certification Examination
Passing Rates for 8 Exams in FY'06 and FY'07*

N =190 73 Written 117 Practical
Exam Date Pass % Pass %
71472005 38% 15%
11/8/2005 57% 20%
2/16/2006 75% 15% -
5/4/2006 88% 31%
8/3/20086 89% 31%
11/2/2006 80% 50%
212272007 78% 27%
5/3/2007 80% 19%

Breakdown of Practical Exam Failures in FY'06 and FY'07*

N=85 Practical Portions: % Failing
Exam Date Ear Mold Audiometry Fitting
7/14/2005 100% 100% 44%
11/8/2005 43% 100% 40%
2/16/2006 33% 100% 0%
5/4/2006 0% 100% 20%
8/3/2006 38% 91% 14%
11/2/20086 50% 100% 33%
212212007 13% 100% 25%
5/3/2007 20% 85% 50%

82 or 96% of the failures were Audiometry Failures
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Appendix 8

Hearing Instrument Dispensing Fee Adjustment Worksheet

HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM

HEARING INSTRUMENT DISPENSER CERTIFICATION SYSTEM

Projected Budget with Annual Renewals, Exam Costs and Revenues, Combined Certification and Examinaticn Fees

EXPENDITURES: Fiscal Year:
Sataries/Fringe
Repairs
Printing/Duplication
Professional Services
Enforcement Activities
Advisory Cncl Expenses
Communicins Pstg/Phones
Travel
Training
Publications/Memberships
Supplies
Attorney General Costs
Computer Services & Equipment
TOTAL EXPENDITURES
Salary increases {3.25% starting '10)
Direct Cost
Indirect Cost (23.9% starting '0%)
TOTAL COST

REVENUES:
Fiscal Year:
HIEY's Certified**
Aud's Certifed
Trainees
Certification Fee
Exam Fees
Trainee Fees
Late Fee
Verification Fees
Estimated Fee Receipts:
Certification Application Fees *
Initial Application Fees
Trainee Fees
Exam Fees
Verification Fees
Late Fees
Penaities
TOTAL FEE RECEIPTS

Estimated/Projected Expenditures for Certification System

* Fee Holiday FY'04;Actuat Expenditures & Receipts
**FY2008-12 figures include certified audiclcgists

BALANCE: Revenues - costs
BALANCE CARRYFORWARD
EARNINGS TRANSFERRED iN**

ACCUMULATED ENDING BALANCE

Proposed Fee Adjusiments: Additional Receipts

If Annual Certification Fee = $700 **

If Surcharge of $550 for 2 years
If Exam Fee = $500 / exam ***
Total Additional Fees

ADJUSTED BALANCE: Revenues - costs

BALANCE CARRYFORWARD

EY2004* FY2005* FY2006* FY2007* FYZ2008* FYZ009 FY2010 FY2011 FY2012 FY2013

$120,902 $114,896 $154,138 $145832 $111,625 $119,915 $119915 $115,815 $119815 $119,915

50 0 $0 $0 3110 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250

$1,718  $1,522  $1,507  $1980 $1.53¢  $2,000 $1,500  $1500  $1500  $1,500

$4,167  $3,468  §2,559 83,223  $2,101 $3.500  $3,500  $3,500 83,500 3,500

0 30 3519 349 30 32,500 $2,500 $2500  $2,500 32,500

$1,155 $1.650 $1.430 $1.487  $1.266  $2,000 $2,000 $2,000 $2000  $2,000

$1,637  $1,549 $561 $252 $158  $1,000 $600 $600 $600 $600

$678 $1.082 $1,555 $1,423 $681 $2,000 $1,500 $1,500 $1,500 $1,500

$165 $0 50 $0 $89 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250

$0 30 $330 $100 80 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100

3839 $679 $390 3487 $345 3900 3650 $650 $650 $650

$2,256  $4,300 $5475 351 3¢ $5.000 $5,000 35,000 35000  $5000

30 $3.036 30  $4115  $2,0%1 $2,000 $6,000  $2,000  $2,000  $6,000

$133,517 $132,162 $168.864 $159,109 $119,955 §141,415 $143,765 $139,765 $139,765 3$143,765

30 30 $0 30 30 $C $3,897 $4024  $4,155  $4,290

$131,261 $127,862 $163,389 3$159,109 $119,955 $141,415 $143,765 $139,765 $138,765 $143,768

$23,802 $26.219 $32689 $31.1561 $26.271 $33,798 $34.360 $33.404 $33.404 $34.3860

$157,319 $158,381 $201,553 $190,260 $146,226 35175213 $182,022 $177.193 $177,324 $182415
Estimated/Projected Receipts for Certification System

FY2004* FY2005* FY2006" FY2007* FY2008* FY2009 FY2010 FY2011 FY2012 FY2012

164 168 159 178 182 185 190 195 200 205

230 236 13 6 5 3 3 3 3 3

35 25 20 19 8 18 18 15 15 15

$350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350 $350

$405 $405 $405- $405 $405 $405 $405 $405 $405 $405

$200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200

$200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200

$25 $25 $25 $25 %25 525 $25 $25 $25 $25

$0 $143,17¢ $62.116 $64,845 556,832 $64,75C 866,500  $68,25C¢ 70,000 71,750

310,144 3¢ 30 30 50 %0 30 $0 30 30

$7.000 $5,000 $4,000 $3,800 $3,200 $3,00C $3,000 $3,000 $3,000 $3,000

$25,000 $23,988 $20,640 $24485 $13,365 $12150 §12180 $12,150 $12,150 $12,150

$1,355 $9%0 $750 $150 $175 $100 $100 $100 $100 $100

$2,000  $3,000  $2,000 $1,600  $1,400 31,000  $1,000 $1,000 $1,000 $1.000

$5.253 $200 5$15,3%0 31,490 $3.402 $5,000 $5,000 $5.000 $5.000 $5.000

$50,752 $176,357 $104,896 $96,370 $88,374 586,000 $87,750 $88,500 $91,250 $93,000

-$108,567 $17,976 -$98,657 -$93,880 -$57,852 -$89,213 -$94,272 -387.693 -$36,074 -$89,415

$175,000 $68,433 $95,000 -$1,657 -$71,547 -$125,399 -5218,612 -$312 884 -$400,577 -$486,650

$C¢  $9,000 $0 524,000 30 0 30 30 %0 $0

$68,433 595408 -31,657 -371,547 -$129,399 -3$218,512 -5312,884 -$400,577 -$486,650 -$576,065
**From Audiology account for examn and consumer information & assistance costs not previcusly allocated.

$86,500 $68,250 $70,000 §71,750

$104,500 $107,250 30 30

$33,100 $33,100 833,10C $33,100

$204,100 $208,600 $103,100 $104,850

$109,828 $120,807 $17,026 $15435

-$218,612 -$108,784 $12,123 $29150

-5108,784  $12123  $29,180 $44,585

ACCUMULATED ENDING BALANCE

***100% Certification Fee & 100% Exam Fee Increases
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
HEARING INSTRUMENT DISPENSER CERTIFICATION SYSTEM
Certification & Exam Staffing & Salary Schedule*

PERSONNEL FY2004™ FY2005** FY2006™ FY2007** FY2008** FEY2009 FY2010 FY2011 FY2012 FY2013
Heaalth Prgrm Mgr. %0 $0 50 $0 $0 50 %0 $0 30 30
{Hiendlmayr} 10% 15% 15% 15% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%
Clerk Typist 4, Supervisor 30 30 30 30 30 50 30 50 30 30
(Ditschles\Vacant) 2% 5% 1% 1% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
State Prog. Admin Dir. $0 $C %0 $0 30 50 $0 $0 $0 $0
(Winkelmann/Vacant) 10% 20% 25% 25% 20% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Health Care Prog. invstgtr 50 $0 $C $o 50 $c $0 $0 $0 30
{Lloyd) 35% 20% 75% 5% 85% 50% 50% 50% 50% 50%
Office & Admin. Spec. Int. $0 30 $0 50 $0 30 30 50 30 30
(Miller 30% 5% 30% 30% 20% 20% 20% 20% 20% 20%
Office & Admin. Spec. Sr. 50 $0 $0 $C $0 $0 $0 $0 50 $0
{Rauchwarter} 20% 25% 0% 0% 1% 35% 35% 35% 35% 35%
State Program Administrator 30 30 50 30 30 30 30 0 30 50
{Fuller) 80% 80% 50% 50% 50% 50% 50% 50% 50% 50%
Legal Analyst $0 %0 $0 $0 £0 $0 $0 $0 $0 30
{Rensll) 20% 5% 25% 25% 15% 15% 15% 15% 15% 15%
Student Wrkr Paraprofessional, Sr. 30 80 30 30 30 $0 $0 5C $0 $0
{Vacant) 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 0%
Total FTE's 207 1.75 2.2% 221 1.81 1.80 1.80 1.80 1.80 1.80
Total HOP Salary+Benefit Cost $120,902 $114,895 $154,138 $145,932 $111,625 $116,815 $116,915 $119,915 $119,915 $119,915

* 8FY'09 Salary Projections **Actuai Total Cost
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Appendix 9

Complaint Investigation Process

Complaint investigation Process
Health Occupations Program, Minnesota Department of Health

The Department of Health has the authority to investigate allegations of wrongdoing by practitioners and to protect the public. The Department protects the public by
imposing sanctions against practitioners o ensure compliance with the law in the future. The Department conducts the investigation in a neutral and unbiased way and
does not represent the consumer, or the practitioner. If consumers seek refunds, they should consider private remedies, including conciliation court to obtain refunds.

Receive complaint form back & review for An investigative file is opened.

Complaint call or letter comes in. completeness.

\ 4
4

Investigation assigned to staff according to
P s
if additional information is needed, staff will priority system.
follow up.

Complaint form sent out.

The most serious cases are handled first.

Interviews of all witnesses done.
Witnesses include Complainants. Records
are obtained.

Competency Review Committee of the

Hearing Instrument Dispenser Advisory ifno r}?f\',\l,g;zr}gi},'g cgg;pitenlc Y ocr’ \;lg:jatron
P Council may review case to determine B> Conc')\ tainant and bracﬁti:?n(;?ze sified

Practitioner is contacted and given 30 days whether Practitioner acted negligently or P ‘| it re notifie

to respond in writing. Extensions are incompetently. n writing.
allowed.
if Practitioner did violate the law or act ) . If no agreement is reached, the matter
incompetently or negligently, the Department will seek an agreement with becomes a Contested Case before an
Department wilt pursue enforcement the Practitioner first, and this results in an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for
action. order. hearing

Enforcement actions range from civil
penalties, revocation, suspension,
reprimands and other actions such as
continuing education classes, being Decision of the ALJ goes 1o the
- supervised and undergoing an evaluation. Commissioner of Health for final decision.

.| Final order is public data and_is released to The Department would call witnesses
the consumer and other interested involved in case, including Complainant.
persons.

Goal of enforcement action is to protect
the public from future harm, not to punish
Practitioner.

Final decision made by the Cemmissioner
of Health.
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Appendix 10

Allegations Received and Investigations Opened

FY FY FY FY
2005 | 2006 | 2007 2008
Intakes Received - Allegations 41 44 44 45
Investigations Opened — Allegation 20 16 23 16
Type of Allegation:
False or misleading advertising, high pressure sales, 2 3 6
deception or fraud
Failure to follow hearing testing protocol, FTC or FDA
regulations, including issues related to health records & 3 5 4
documentation
Conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm public 2 4 7 9
including incompetence or negligence
Failed to provide timely refund, including incorrect
: 14 10 6 6
contract language product and repair
' Illegal practice, continuing education, application 3 4 5 2
issues
Total Investigations Closed: 6 13 19 23
Closed — dismissed with advisement 1 1 4 9
Closed — insufficient evidence to show violation 3 4 10 10
Uncooperative witness/client 1 2
No jurisdiction 1
Referred for enforcement 5 4 2
Enforcement Action Opened 0 2 5 2
Enforcement Action Closed 0 1 2* 1
Type of Enforcement Action:
Civil Penalty 1 1
Censure/Reprimand 1
* These enforcement actions were closed without a sanction imposed.
Type of Caller FY FY FY FY
2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Consumer 24 26 21 24
Consumer relative/friend 7 10 10 11
O_ther professional or agency, including certified 10 8 13 10
dispensers and audiologists
Total 41 44 44 45
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