
 
HOME CARE AND ASSISTED LIVING PROGRAM 

Closure Form 
For Home Care License or Home Management Registration 
In accordance with Minnesota Statute 13.41, ALL DATA SUBMITTED ON THIS APPLICATION 
SHALL BE CLASSIFIED PUBLIC INFORMATION. 

Please answer all questions completely and accurately to avoid unnecessary delay. All closure 
requests shall be submitted to the Department at least 30 days prior to effective date of closure 
if serving assisted living clients and at least 10 days prior to effective date of closure for all 
other home care providers. 

Home Care and Assisted Living Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64900 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0900 
651-201-5273 (Main) 
651-215-9697 (Fax) 
Email:  Health.homecare@state.mn.us 

A. Information for Closing License or Registration 
1. HFID # ________________________________________________________________________  

2. Licensee name _________________________________________________________________  

Tax FEIN for licensee ____________________________________________________________  

Provider name/doing business as (DBA) name ________________________________________  

3. Address ______________________________________________________________________  

City, State, & Zip_ _______________________________________________________________  

4. Telephone number __________________________ Fax number _________________________  

5. Authorized agent _______________________________________________________________  

6. Email address __________________________________________________________________  

7. Are you providing services in a housing with services establishment?  ☐ Yes  ☐ No 

8. Are you a Medicare certified home health agency (HHA)?   ☐ Yes  ☐ No 

9. Do you currently provide services to home care clients?    ☐ Yes  ☐ No*  

*If no, date services ended _______________________________________________________  

mailto:Health.homecare@state.mn.us


H o m e  C a r e  L i c e n s e  o r  R e g i s t r a t i o n  C l o s u r e  F o r m  
P a g e  2  
M a r c h  3 0 ,  2 0 1 6  

B. Information Regarding Closure (check one) 
 

A. Effective date of closure _________________________________________________________  

B. Reason for closure  __________________________________________________________  

 _____________________________________________________________________________  

C. Intent for license or registration (check one) 

☐ Close and terminate services for all home care clients.  (Skip section D.) 

☐ Close and provide services under other license or registration.  (Skip section C.) 

☐ Other _____________________________________________________________________  

D. Does the closing license have uncorrected correction orders?   ☐ Yes  ☐ No 

E. Does the closing license have unpaid fees or penalty assessments?  ☐ Yes  ☐ No 

F. Will your business be sold to another provider?     ☐ Yes*  ☐ No 

* Contact HCALP regarding a CHOW.  Home care licenses cannot be sold or transferred to another party.  
Before acquiring ownership of a home care business, a prospective applicant must apply for a new license 
(MN Statute 144A.472 Subdivision 5).  The Home Care & Assisted Living Program (HCALP) has 60 days 
after receipt of a complete application to issue a license.  If you are anticipating a change in ownership 
(CHOW), we request that you contact HCALP in advance by calling 651-201-5273 or via our website 
“Contact Us Form” at http:/www.health.state.mn.us/divs/fpc/homecarelic2013.html to ensure that all 
required steps are completed. 

C. Closing and Terminating Home Care Services 
 

1. Forwarding address _____________________________________________________________  

Forwarding city, state, & zip ______________________________________________________  

2. Forwarding phone number _______________________________________________________  

3. Forwarding email address ________________________________________________________  

4. Effective date of closure _________________________________________________________  

D. Closing and Providing Services under Other License or Registration 
 

1. HFID # of license under which you will now provide services _____________________________  

2. Licensee name under which you will now provide services ______________________________  

3. Tax FEIN for licensee under which you will now provide services _________________________  

4. Is license also a Medicare certified HHA?     ☐ Yes  ☐ No 

5. Effective date of change _________________________________________________________  

 

 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/fpc/homecarelic2013.html
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E. Verification 
 
The undersigned agrees to transition the care of home care clients as required under Minnesota 
Statutes, sections:  

• 144A.44 Initials _____________  
Home Care Bill of Rights 

• 144A.4791, subdivision 10 Initials _____________  
Home Care Providers Responsibilities with Respect to Clients;  
Termination of Service Plan 

• 144A.4794, subdivision 4 Initials _____________  
Client Record Requirements; Transfer of Client Records 

 
If the provider is terminating assisted living services, in a housing with services establishment the 
undersigned also agrees to transition the care of home care clients as required under Minnesota 
Statutes, sections:  

• 144A.441 Initials _____________  
Assisted Living Bill of Rights Addendum 

• 144A.442  Initials _____________  
Assisted Living Clients; Services Termination 

• 144D.09  Initials _____________  
Housing with Services Establishment; Termination of Lease 

• 144G.03, subdivision 6  Initials _____________  
Assisted Living Requirements; Termination of Housing with Services Contract 

 
Providers that need to close a housing with services registration must contact  
Licensing and Certification by calling 651-201-4126 or emailing  
Mayumi.Reuvers@state.mn.us or Debby.Baker@state.mn.us.  Initials _____________  
 
Coordinated transferring of care for home care clients is required whether closing  
a license, continuing care under a different license, or changing ownership. Initials _____________  

To the best of my knowledge, I certify that the information provided on this form is accurate and 
complete. 

 Signature of Authorized Agent   

 Name (please print or type)   

 Title:   

 Date:   

NOTE: If you have questions concerning this license closure form, please call (651) 201-5273. 

04/11/16  
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