June, 2000

Information Bulletin 00-12

State Operations Manual Provider Certification
Transmittal 16 (Medicare Distinct Part Requirements)


The purpose of this information bulletin is to provide nursing homes with the current HCFA requirements for Medicare distinct part changes which are contained in the attached State Operations Manual Provider Certification Transmittal 16.

Effective Date

Transmittal 16 is dated May 2000 and is effective June 1, 2000.

Medicare Distinct Part Change Time Frames

The major change contained in Transmittal 16 is that it provides greater flexibility in making distinct part changes than was reflected in Information Bulletin 99-2 [now Obsolete] The notice period for a distinct part change has been reduced from 120 days to 45 days prior to the first day of the facility's cost reporting year or the first day of a cost reporting quarter.


A request to change a Medicare distinct part must include room numbers, number of beds per room, a floor plan showing the location of the rooms to be Medicare certified and the facility's cost reporting period. The request should be sent to the following address:

Carol Hirschfeld
Minnesota Department of Health
85 East Seventh Place, P.O. Box 64900
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900
Fax Number: (651) 201-4121

If you have any questions regarding this Informational Bulletin, please contact in writing:

Minnesota Department of Health
Health Regulation Division
Licensing and Certification Program
85 East Seventh Place, Suite 300
PO Box 64900
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900

Updated Wednesday, February 04, 2015 at 03:28PM