Statutory Authority for the Residential Care and Services Electronic Monitoring Workgroup - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Statutory Authority for the Residential Care and Services Electronic Monitoring Workgroup

2016 Minnesota Session Law, Chapter 179

Sec. 39


(a) A residential care and services electronic monitoring work group is established to create recommendations for legislation that authorizes the use of voluntary electronic monitoring to protect vulnerable children and adults and hold accountable perpetrators of abuse.

(b) Members of the work group shall include:

(1) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the house and one appointed by the minority leader;

(2) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed by the minority leader;

(3) the commissioner of health or a designee;

(4) the commissioner of human services or a designee;

(5) one representative of consumers or victims;

(6) the ombudsman for long-term care established under Minnesota Statutes, section 256.974;

(7) one representative from Care Providers of Minnesota;

(8) one representative from LeadingAge Minnesota;

(9) one representative from the Minnesota Home Care Association;

(10) one representative from the Minnesota chapter of AARP;

(11) one representative of a nonprofit organization with a focus on Alzheimer's disease;

(12) one representative of county attorneys;

(13) one representative with legal expertise on medical privacy; and

(14) one representative of direct-care workers.

The commissioner of health shall appoint the work group chair and convene its first meeting no later than July 1, 2016.

(c) The work group shall be exempt from the appointment requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 15.0597.

(d) The work group may accept donated services from a nonprofit organization that prevents abuse, neglect, and financial exploitation of vulnerable adults.

(e) Work group members shall serve without compensation or expense reimbursement.

(f) The work group shall issue a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over civil law, judiciary, and health and human services by January 15, 2017.

(g) The work group expires 30 days following the completion of the work required by this section.


This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Updated Wednesday, September 28, 2016 at 08:49AM