Who We Are – Minnesota Stroke Program

Who We Are
Minnesota Stroke Program

Stroke is the fifth leading cause of death and one of the leading causes of disability in Minnesota. Over 8,000 people have a stroke every year – and many will go on to experience another stroke in their lifetime. The Minnesota Stroke Program, a part of the Cardiovascular Health Unit at the Minnesota Department of Health, is committed to reducing the burden of stroke in the state through raising stroke awareness in the community, providing continuing education to health care providers, and working to improve the entire system of care for stroke patients.

Minnesota Stroke System: Stroke Hospital Designation. We designate hospitals as acute stroke ready hospitals, primary stroke centers, and comprehensive stroke centers in our statewide system of stroke.

Minnesota Stroke Registy: Our statewide registry of stroke patient quality of care data captures over 90% of all stroke patient visits in the state.

Emergency Medical Services and Stroke: We work with EMS agencies to improve statewide stroke care in the pre-hospital setting.

Transitions of Care: We work with hospitals to put systems into place to improve care to stroke patients after they leave the hospital.

Every Second Counts Stroke Awareness Campaign: We teach the public the signs and symptoms of stroke and the importance of calling 9-1-1 through media campaigns and community education efforts.

Resources: Find all of the documents, tools, guidance documents, and resources produced by the Stroke Program for our partners.

Staff

Albert Tsai • Program Lead • 651-201-5413 • albert.tsai@state.mn.us

Erica Fishman • Transitions of Care Coordinator • 651-201-4093 • erica.fishman@state.mn.us

Claire Fleming • Evaluation Specialist • 651-201-5274 • claire.fleming@state.mn.us

Allyson Fujii • Stroke Registry Coordinator • 651-201-3934 • allyson.fujii@state.mn.us

Michelle Gray Ansari • Stroke Coordinator • 651-201-4097 • michelle.gray.ansari@state.mn.us

Julie Hoffer • Research Analyst • 651-201-4527 • julie.hoffer@state.mn.us

Catherine Johnson • EMS Coordinator • 651-201-4094 • catherine.johnson@state.mn.us


Minnesota Stroke Program Home | Minnesota Stroke System | Designation List | Designation Map | Minnesota Stroke Registry | EMS | Transitions of Care | Every Second Counts | Resources