Alcohol and Other Drugs:
Reducing Underage Drinking
Where and how do young people get alcohol?
A survey of over 6,000 teenagers found that they usually get alcohol from people age 21 or older.
Minnesota LawsKevin’s Law-- Increases criminal penalties on adult providers from a gross
misdemeanor to a felony in certain cases. It is a felony, punishable by fines and/or jail time "for a person other than a licensed retailer of alcoholic beverages' to sell, barter, furnish, or give alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age if that person becomes intoxicated and causes or suffers death or great bodily harm." Also known as the Social Host Liability law.
Civil Cause of Action/Zero Alcohol Providers -- Expands civil liability to include cases of adult provision of alcohol to youth. Allows injured parties the right to sue the adult provider to recover their damages.
Keg Registration Information from Minnesota Department of Public Safety -- All keg beer sold at licensed off sale retail establishments in Minnesota must bear an identification label or tag with a registration number. Retailers shall not sell keg beer that does not bear the mandatory keg registration label or tag, and consumer purchase records and keg registration label or tag information must be maintained on the licensed premises for a minimum of 90 days.
More info: Keg Registration Bill Attention: Non-MDH link
Why mandatory keg registration? Attention: Non-MDH link
|Media Campaign Materials
It Can Cost You materials -- Media campaign targeted to adults over age 21, to prevent adults from providing alcohol to underage youth.
Materials include payroll stuffer, letter to parents, letter to faith community partners, letter to editor.
Posters include messages such as "Serving alcohol to a minor could cost you" "Hosting an underage drinking party can get expensive" and "Providing a minor with alcohol doesn’t come cheap" (shown at right). Attention: Non-MDH link
The posters look like store receipts, but instead itemize potential costs associated with providing alcohol to minors.
Some Minnesota communities have used this camera-ready art for advertisements.
Materials available for free from the Minnesota Prevention Resource Center. Attention: Non-MDH link