Alcohol and Other Drugs:
- Self-Regulation in the Alcohol Industry: A Review of Industry Efforts to Avoid Promoting Alcohol to Underage Consumers – A report from the Federal Trade Commission issued September, 1999.
- Community Festivals Material: The University of Minnesota Alcohol Epidemiology Program offers ideas for alternatives and local policies regarding alcohol availability at community events. Includes a discussion of potential barriers as well as reasons to support alcohol restrictions. Also, find information about policies for alcohol sponsorships that are geared to reduce underage youth access to alcohol as well as address social norm issues.
Responsible Beverage Server Training
- Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Alcohol Enforcement Section
- What’s the Big Deal? Underage Drinking in Minnesota brochure: This brochure includes a list of Minnesota State Laws regarding illegal alcohol use and sales, along with a description of the laws.
- 340A Liquor Laws: To request a copy of the 340A Liquor Laws in book form, please contact the State of Minnesota Bookstore.
- 7515 Liquor Rules: To request a copy of the 7515 Liquor Rules in book form, please contact the State of Minnesota Bookstore.
- Alcohol advertising: All alcohol advertising must be approved by the Commissioner of Public Safety before publication. This applies to newspaper, periodical, or other advertising media including radio and television broadcasting.
- Minnesota’s dram shop statute: Dram shop liability is a potentially powerful tool for changing the environment in which alcohol is sold.
- Impaired Driving: Penalties and Driver License Sanctions:Beginning August 1, 2002, a driver can be charged with a felony if they are arrested for a fourth DWI within 10 years or were previously convicted of felony DWI. If convicted, an offender may be sentenced for three to seven years’ imprisonment and a fine of up to $14,000.
Updated Wednesday, 14-May-2014 12:22:53 CDT