Physician Practice, Clinic and Clinic System Reporting Requirements

Physician Practices, Clinics, and Clinic System
Reporting Requirements

Physician Clinic Data Submission Update
Fact Sheet - January 9, 2012 (pdf 1 pg/106Kb)

Required Reporting

Providers of Diagnostic Imaging

Minnesota Statutes, section 144.565 requires submission of annual diagnostic imaging utilization and services information to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). All health care facilities (with the exception of hospitals) that provide or bill for diagnostic imaging services through the use of ionizing radiation (MRI, CT, PET, SPECT) using fixed, portable, or mobile equipment, must submit an annual Diagnostic Imaging (DI) Report. This reporting requirement applies regardless of whether the equipment used to provide the service is owned or leased. Reports are due March 1 for the prior fiscal year.

Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1225 requires that by August 1, 2013, advanced diagnostic imaging services eligible for reimbursement provided at facilities shall only be reimbursed if the facility where the service has been provided has obtained accreditation and has demonstrated holding accreditation annually in reports to the Commissioner of Health. Accreditation is not required for providers of Dental Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT).

  • Clinic and Imaging Facility Providers of Advanced Diagnostic Imaging
    • Reporting Formsets and Instructions
    • Submission Requirements
      • The Diagnostic Imaging Facility Utilization report is due by email to health.hccis@state.mn.us by March 1, for the prior fiscal year.
      • All submitted reports require a signed certification page, pdf attached to an e-mail or faxed to 651-201-5179, attn: HEP.
      • Accreditation Certifications are required from providers billing for Advanced Diagnostic Imaging services.
  • CBCT Dental Imaging Providers
    • Formsets and Instructions
    • Submission Requirements
      • The CBCT Diagnostic Imaging Facility Utilization report is due by email to health.hccis@state.mn.us by March 1, for the prior fiscal year.
      • All submitted reports require a signed certification page, pdf attached to an e-mail or faxed to 651-201-5179, attn: HEP.

Capital Expenditure Reporting

Minnesota Statutes, section 62J.17, require health care providers in Minnesota to report all major capital spending commitments of $1 Million or more to the Minnesota Department of Health for retrospective review. If you have major capital expenditure commitments over $1 million you will need to complete the Capital Expenditure Retrospective Review report or the Capital Expenditure Commitment portions of the Diagnostic Imaging Report.

Questions?

  • If you have additional questions about the Diagnostic Imaging reporting or the Capital Expenditure Commitment report, please contact MDH at 651-201-3572 or health.hccis@state.mn.us

Back to Top

Updated Thursday, December 22, 2016 at 11:27AM