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November 7, 2017 Effective 12/07/2017 

Katherine Marie Coffee 
 
 

RE: MDH File Number: OTC17010 

Dear Ms. Coffee: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you performed services of an 
occupational therapy assistant (OTA) in an incompetent manner or in a manner that falls below 
the community standard of care in violation of Minnesota statutes, section 148.6448, 
subdivision 1(3); that you violated sections 148.6401 to 148.6450 in violation of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 148.6448, subdivision 1(5); that you engaged in dishonest, unethical, or 
unprofessional conduct in connection with the practice of occupational therapy that is likely to 
deceive, defraud, or harm the public in violation of Minnesota statutes, section 148.6448, 
subdivision 1(12); and engaged in fraudulent billing practices in violation of Minnesota statutes, 
section 148.6448, subdivision 1(17). Therefore, MDH is issuing you a conditional license and 
requiring that you successfully complete continuing education in occupational therapy ethics 
and billing. Further, MDH is assessing you a civil penalty in the amount of $613.00 The 
conditions on your license, including the assessment of a civil penalty, are authorized by 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 214.131, subdivision 2 and 148.6448, subdivision 2.  

This decision will be made final and effective 30 days from the date it is received by you.  During 
that 30-day period, you have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as 
provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in 
writing and include specific grounds for challenging the Department’s decision. If you wish to 
request a hearing, please send a written hearing request, within 30 days of your receipt of this 
letter, to: 
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Catherine Lloyd 
Manager, Health Occupations Program  
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
to Ms. Lloyd at (651)201-3839.  If you have any questions about this matter, please contact 
Patricia Forsberg at (651)201-3721. 

Sincerely, 

 
Susan Winkelmann, Assistant Division Director 
Health Regulation Division 

Enclosure 
cc:  Catherine Lloyd, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 
 



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

 

A Determination in the Matter of 
Katherine Marie Coffee 

Occupational Therapy Assistant, License No. 202111  
 

AUTHORITY 

1. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has the statutory authority to discipline 
occupational therapy assistants under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 2, 
and section 148.6448, subdivision 3.  The types of disciplinary action MDH may impose 
include a civil penalty that deprives the licensee of any economic advantage gained by the 
violation, or that reimburses the Department for the costs of the investigation and 
proceedings or both; and any reasonable lesser action against an individual upon proof that 
the individual has violated sections 148.6401 to 148.6450.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 
Section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data.  

2. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.6448, subdivision 1(3), MDH may take 
disciplinary action against an occupational therapy assistant for performing the services of 
an occupational therapy assistant in an incompetent manner or in a manner that falls below 
the community standard of care. 

3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.6448, subdivision 1(5), MDH may take 
disciplinary action against an occupational therapy assistant for violating sections 148.6401 
to 148.6450. 

4. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.6448, subdivision 1(12), MDH may take 
disciplinary action against an occupational therapy assistant for engaging in dishonest, 
unethical, or unprofessional conduct in connection with the practice of occupational 
therapy that is likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public, is a ground for disciplinary 
action. 

5. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148.6448, subdivision 1(17), MDH may take 
disciplinary action against an occupational therapy assistant for engaging in abusive or 
fraudulent billing practices, including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid laws, 
Food and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical assistance laws. 
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FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On March 22, 2016, Katherine Marie Coffee (hereinafter “Practitioner”) was licensed as an 
occupational therapy assistant in the State of Minnesota by the Department of Health, 
under license number 202111.  Practitioner has renewed her license biennially and has a 
current license to practice occupational therapy. 

2. On February 3, 2017, MDH received information alleging her employer terminated her for 
billing for services not rendered. According to the information: 

A. From December 13, 2016 through January 17, 2017 Practitioner was employed in a 
skilled nursing facility providing services as an occupational assistant.  

B. In December of 2016, Practitioner attended training on the use of the mobile device for 
documentation as a transition from paper documentation to her employer’s electronic 
medical records system. The training included group classroom instruction, hands on 
instruction, as well as collateral material as a reference.  

C. On January 4, 2017, Practitioner was placed on unpaid leave due to an investigation 
being opened regarding billing for services not rendered. 

D. On January 17, 2017, Practitioner was terminated from her position following an 
internal investigation that revealed Practitioner billed for 299 minutes of services not 
rendered.  

E. Practitioner billed for services when she was not actually physically in the building or 
with a patient at the time she documented occupational therapy services. 

3. MDH sent a Notice of Investigation to Practitioner on February 6, 2017. On March 7, 2017, 
Practitioner responded to the Department’s request for information and provided the 
following explanation of why she was terminated. 

A. Practitioner provided occupational therapy for patients in a skilled nursing facility. 

B. Practitioner was issued an electronic device to document patient services. Practitioner 
stated she was not provided training because a separate employer at a different facility 
trained her on the same system. 

C. On January 4, 2017, Practitioner was placed on unpaid leave regarding the treatment 
times she entered. 

D. Practitioner stated she cooperated with internal investigation.   

E. Practitioner stated she feels she was terminated due to training inconsistencies. 
Practitioner said she requested feedback related to her performance, “In an attempt to 
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establish whether or not I in fact did something wrong and if so how I could do better in 
the future…” 

CONCLUSION 

Practitioner violated Minnesota Statutes, section 148.6448, subdivision 1(3), 1(5), 1(12), and 
1(17) when she failed to accurately document the amount of time she actually spent in patient 
care.  Although Practitioner stated she received poor training regarding electronic records 
management from her employer, the evidence indicates this is not true. On numerous 
occasions Practitioner was not with clients at times she documented she had. Practitioner failed 
to accurately document and bill for occupational therapy services in December 2016 and 
January 2017, resulting in providing occupational therapy in a manner that falls below the 
community standard of care. 

DETERMINATION 

Practitioner’s occupational therapy license is conditioned as follows: 

1. Practitioner must pay a civil penalty of $613 to reimburse MDH for costs of investigation 
and the economic advantage received by the practitioner. 

a. Practitioner may pay the $613 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to four months 
after the effective date of this action.  If Practitioner chooses to make installments, she 
must notify MDH in writing about her intentions, including how many installments she 
intends to make, in what amount, and over which time period.  Practitioner must send 
this information to: Investigation and Enforcement Unit, Health Occupations Program, 
MDH, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882. 

b. Each payment must be made by check or money order payable to “State of Minnesota 
Treasurer” and mailed to: Investigation and Enforcement Unit, Health Occupations 
Program, MDH, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882.  Each payment is due by the 
last day of each month; however, Practitioner may prepay at any time. 

c. Before a debt becomes 121 days past due, MDH may refer the debt to the 
commissioner for collection at any time after a debt becomes delinquent and 
uncontested and the debtor has no further administrative appeal of the amount of the 
debt. When a debt owed to MDH becomes 121 days past due, MDH must refer the debt 
to the commissioner for collection. MDH may file and enforce the penalty as a judgment 
without further notice or additional proceedings under Minnesota Statutes, section 
16D.17.  

2. Within 12 months of the effective date of this Determination, Practitioner shall successfully 
complete the following continuing education (CE) courses, sponsored by the American 
Occupational Therapy Association, and available online or in CD-ROM format: 

a. Managing the Madness: Reimbursable Documentation and Ethical Concerns (.5 CEU) 
available through HomeCEU at 
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https://www.homeceuconnection.com/course/managing-the-madness-reimbursable-
documentation-and-ethical-concerns/.  

b. Medicare Billing: 8371 and Form CMS-1450 available through Medicare Learning 
Network at https://learner.mlnlms.com/Default.aspx.  

c. Practitioner is responsible for any costs associated with taking the continuing education 
course and Practitioner must provide MDH with a copy of the certificate demonstrating 
successful completion. 

d. Practitioner must complete the continuing education credits in addition to the 
continuing education requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.6443. 

3. Upon completion of the conditions in paragraph one (1) and two (2) of this Determination, 
Practitioner may petition MDH, in writing, for an unconditional license.  Practitioner must 
send her request to:   

Health Occupations Program, Investigation and Enforcement Unit 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882.   

https://www.homeceuconnection.com/course/managing-the-madness-reimbursable-documentation-and-ethical-concerns/
https://www.homeceuconnection.com/course/managing-the-madness-reimbursable-documentation-and-ethical-concerns/
https://learner.mlnlms.com/Default.aspx
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