


 

HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
HEALTH REGULATION DIVISION 

A Determination in the Matter of 
Kasandra St. Clair Doelp 

Speech-Language Pathologist License 8867 

Authority:   

1. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has statutory authority to suspend a 
speech-language pathologist’s license for violation of the law under Minnesota Statute 
148.5195, subdivision 4(2). 

2. Pursuant to 148.5195, subdivision 4(5), MDH may impose a civil penalty not exceeding 
$10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation 
and that reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation and proceedings resulting in 
disciplinary action. 

3. Pursuant to 148.5195, subdivision 3(2), MDH may take disciplinary action against a 
speech-language pathologist who has failed, within 30 days, to provide information in 
response to a written request by the commissioner or advisory council. 

4. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 148.5195, subdivision 3(4), MDH may take 
disciplinary action against a speech-language pathologist for failure to comply with the 
continuing education requirements set forth under Minnesota Statute 148.5193, 
subdivision 1(b). 

Findings of Fact:  

1. On November 4, 2015, MDH sent Kasandra St. Clair Doelp (hereinafter “Practitioner”) 
her speech-language pathologist license renewal notification for license number 8867.  

2. Practitioner is also licensed as a speech-language pathologist by the Minnesota 
Department of Education (number 473256) with an expiration date of 2020. 

3. On January 27, 2016, Practitioner’s license was renewed. The letter states, “As of 
January 27, 2016, your Continuing Education (CE) reporting form has not been received. 
Your CE’s are due in our office by February 29, 2016.” 

4. On October 6, 2016, MDH sent Practitioner a letter informing her that the required 
continuing education report had not been received. 

5. On February 24, 2017, MDH sent Practitioner a letter stating the CE report was not 
received and assessed a non-disciplinary penalty fee of $700 pursuant to Minnesota 
Statute, section 148.5194, subdivision 8(c).  
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6. On April 7, 2017, that information was forwarded to Investigations and Enforcement for 
follow-up. A “Notice of Application Investigation” letter was sent to Practitioner on April 
10, 2017 requiring a response by May 19, 2017. 

7. On May 31, 2017, a second “Notice of Application Investigation” letter was sent to the 
practitioner. The letter was sent by email on July 17, 2017 to the address her employer 
listed as her contact email with Independent School District 917. 

8. On September 6, 2017, Practitioner told MDH staff she is no longer working in a non-
educational setting. MDH staff asked Practitioner to send a letter verifying that she is 
not providing speech-language pathology services in a non-educational setting. 

9. On September 6, 2017, MDH sent Practitioner a letter requesting written 
documentation that she is no longer working for the two non-educational employers 
listed in MDH records. MDH also requested the information in an email. 

10. On November 29, 2017, MDH sent a Final Notice to Practitioner by certified mail. 
Practitioner signed for the letter on December 2, 2017. Her response was due by 
December 30, 2017. 

11. MDH has not received the requested documentation showing that Practitioner is no 
longer working for non-educational employers. 

Conclusion:  

Practitioner violated Minnesota Statute, section 148.5195 subdivision 3(4) when she failed to 
comply with the continuing education requirements set forth in Minnesota Statute 148.5193, 
subdivision 1(b). Further, Practitioner violated section 148.5195, subdivision 3(2), when she 
failed to respond to provide information in response to a written request by the commissioner 
or advisory council and violated a disciplinary order issued by the commissioner. 

Determination:  

1. Practitioner's license is hereby suspended. In order to lift the suspension, Practitioner 
must complete the following: 

a. Practitioner must submit a report for the 30 contact hours of Continuing 
Education for the renewal period of February 1, 2014, through January 27, 2016. 
This is in addition to the 30 contact hours needed for the February 1, 2016, 
through January 31, 2018 renewal period. 

2. Practitioner is assessed a civil penalty of $1,115, representing the economic advantage 
gained by the violation and to reimburse MDH for costs of investigations and 
proceedings to date 

a. Practitioner may pay the $1,115 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 12 
months after the effective date of this action. If Practitioner choses to make 
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions. This 
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document must include how many installments she intends to make, in what 
amount, and over what time period. Practitioner must send this information to: 
Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN  55164-0882, within 
30 days of receipt of this document.  

b. Each payment will be made by check to “State of Minnesota, Treasury,” and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN  55164-
0882. Each payment is due by the last day of each month; however, Practitioner 
may prepay at any time. 

c. The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), 
Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statute, section 16D.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Practitioner without further notice or proceeding. 

3. Practitioner must cooperate with MDH and all requests for information related to 
Practitioner’s license as a speech-language pathologist. Practitioner must sign any 
release forms necessary to obtain information related to her employment and practice 
as a speech-language pathologist in a non-education setting.  

4. Upon completion of the conditions in paragraphs one and two of this Determination, 
Practitioner may petition MDH, in writing, for the suspension to be lifted.  Practitioner 
must send her request to:  Health Occupations Program, Investigation and Enforcement 
Unit, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882.   
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