OTP Licensing - MDH

Occupational Therapy Licensing

Announcements

Effective January 1, 2018, the newly created Board of Occupational Therapy Practice will be responsible for the administration of the Occupational Therapy Licensing Program.

During the transition period, the Department of Health will continue to process applications for licensure and renewal. On February 1, 2018, the Board of Occupational Therapy will assume the role of investigating complaints and taking enforcement action against occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 214.075, effective January 1, 2018, applicants for licensure will be required to submit to a criminal history records check. The fee for the criminal background check is $32, in addition to the license application fee of $145 for occupational therapists and $80 for occupational therapy assistants. Once the fee is paid, the Health Licensing Board Background Check office will contact applicants with instructions on how to comply with the background check requirements.

Please note: The additional $32.00 background check requirement is only for new Occupational Therapy applicants. If your Occupational Therapist license is up for renewal on February 28, 2018, you are not required to send in the additional $32.00.

FAQ

On December 6, 2017, the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) sent out renewal notice letters to Occupational Therapists whose current licenses will expire on February 28, 2018. MDH will continue to process the renewals and process new applications until the newly created board is ready to assume the Occupational Therapy licensing process. Occupational Therapists who were sent renewals should continue to contact the Department of Health with any questions related to their license renewal.
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 214.075, effective January 1, 2018, applicants for licensure will be required to submit to a criminal history records check. The fee for the criminal background check is $32, in addition to the license application fee of $145 for occupational therapists and $80 for occupational therapy assistants. Once the fee is paid, the Health Licensing Board Background Check office will contact applicants with instructions on how to comply with the background check requirements.
All complaints received before February 1, 2018 should be sent to the Minnesota Department of Health. Complaints submitted after February 1, 2018 should be sent to the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice.

MDH Complaint Form

When the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice website is available it will be accessible at Minnesota Health Licensing Boards

OT Renewal - February 2018 UPDATE
The December 1, 2017 renewal notice letters you received has incorrect information. A NEW UPDATED Renewal letter was mailed with the date of 12/6/2017. Please follow the instructions on the December 6, 2017 letter to begin the renewal process. We apologize for the confusion. Online renewal

OT Renewal - February 2018
Renewal notice letters for OTs whose licenses will expire on 2/28/2018 were mailed on December 1, 2017. You can begin the online renewal process by using the user ID and password sent with your renewal notice. Online renewal

If you have not received your renewal notice by December 28, 2017, please contact OT licensing at health.ot@state.mn.us or call 651-201-3725.

Alert!  New OT renewal cycle
In order to continue to renew licenses on time as the number of OT licensees grows, MDH is creating a new renewal cycle. Some OTs renewing January 2018 are being shifted to a renewal cycle that will end October 31, 2019. If you were assigned to the group whose cycle is shifting, your license fee and CE hours will be adjusted to cover the shorter period.

If you have issues or questions related to the Occupational Therapist (OT) licensing please continue to contact Occupational Therapy Licensing at health.ot@state.mn.us or call 651-201-3725.

If you have issues or questions related to the Occupational Therapy Assistant (OTA) licensing please contact Occupational Therapy Licensing at health.ota@state.mn.us or call 651-201-3724.

Occupational Therapist Licensing (OT)
Occupational Therapy Assistant Licensing (OTA)
Licensee Records (OT and OTA)
Licensee Information (OT and OTA)
Consumer Information (OT and OTA)

Occupational Therapist Licensing (OT)

OT Licensee Renewal Information

OT Initial License Application Information

Occupational Therapy Assistant Licensing (OTA)

OTA Licensee Renewal Information

Renewal notice letters for OTAs whose licenses will expire on 11/30/2017 were mailed on September 6, 2017. You can begin the online renewal process by using the user ID and password sent with your renewal notice. Online renewal 

If you have not received your renewal notice by September 29, 2017, please contact OTA licensing at health.ota@state.mn.us or call 651-201-3724. 

OTA Initial License Application Information

Licensee Records (OT and OTA)

Licensee Information (OT and OTA)

Consumer Information (OT and OTA)

If you have issues or questions related to the Occupational Therapist (OT) licensing please continue to contact Occupational Therapy Licensing at health.ot@state.mn.us or call 651-201-3725.

If you have issues or questions related to the Occupational Therapy Assistant (OTA) licensing please contact Occupational Therapy Licensing at health.ota@state.mn.us or call 651-201-3724.

Updated Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 12:38PM