Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist Licensing
If you would like to receive an email notice when this page gets updated, Subscribe to Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist Licensing Updates.
Criminal Background Check Updates
One Time License Fee Surcharge for New Applicants
Effective October 1, 2018, all individuals applying for initial licensure, temporary licensure, or relicensure as a speech language pathologist and audiologist must pay a one-time surcharge to process a criminal background check (CBC). This surcharge is addition to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) licensing application fee and authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5194. If you are renewing your license issued and/or have already submitted a criminal background study for your licensing application prior to 10/1/2018, you do not need to submit the one-time surcharge until effective 1/1/2020 per MN Statute 148.5194, Subd. 7a.
Applicants submitting an application must provide a check or money order payable to the “Minnesota Department of Health” for the license application fee including the one-time CBC surcharge as follows:
- Speech Language Pathology, $10.50
- Audiology, $13.00
- Dual Audiology/Speech Language Pathology, $13.00
Please note that new applicants are also required to pay an online applicant background study fee to the Department of Human Services (DHS). Instructions for completing the background study can be accessed here: Applicant Background Study Instruction Form (PDF). This background study is for the purpose of obtaining a license to practice as a SLP and AUD in Minnesota and is separate from employers who may also require a background study. We recommend applicants for an SLP or AUD license mail their licensing application to MDH and submit the Applicant Background Study online on the same day.
Criminal Background Checks Required for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists
Effective April 16, 2018, all applicants for initial licensure, temporary licensure, or relicensure after a lapse in licensure must undergo a criminal background check as required by Minnesota Statutes 144.0572. This process can take up to three weeks or longer and is separate from the processing time of the licensing applications. The Department of Human Services (DHS) processes this background study and the fee is separate from the licensing application fee. The fee for a background study is $50 which includes the cost of fingerprinting. DHS will use this information when making decisions.
Beginning January 1, 2020 for those renewing their licensure, background study will be required. For more information on how this data can be used, please refer to the statute: 144.0572 CRIMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND CHECKS.
Instructions for completing the background study can be accessed here: Applicant Background Study Instruction Form (PDF)
Effective July 1, 2017
Initial Applications: Our initial application process will change. We will no longer accept application and supporting documentation separate. You will need to submit your application, fee and all supporting documentations together in one packet.
Fee Increases: The fee for initial license and renewal for audiologist will increase to $510.00. The commissioner shall prorate the licensure fee for first time licensees according to the number of months that have elapsed between the date the license is issued and the date the license expires or must be renewed. Please see fees effective July 1, 2017.
Dual Licensure: licensure fee for a dual license as a speech-language pathologist/audiologist for an initial and renewal will increase to $510.00. The commissioner shall prorate the licensure fee for first time licensees according to the number of months that have elapsed between the date the license is issued and the date the license expires or must be renewed. Please see fees effective July 1, 2017.
Late Fee late fee for Speech-Language Pathologist, Audiologist and dual license for a Speech-Language Pathologist/Audiologist has increased to $60.00 effective July 1, 2017.
Effective December 7, 2016
Effective for hearing instruments dispensed on or after December 7, 2016, the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) will not enforce the requirement that persons aged 18 years or older either have a medical examination or waive such evaluation prior to obtaining air-conduction hearing aids.
In making this decision, MDH is following guidance from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA): Immediately in Effect Guidance Document: Conditions for Sale for AirConduction Hearing Aids (PDF). The guidance is intended to support consumer access to most hearing aids.
Both the FDA and MDH will continue to enforce the requirement that persons under age 18 be medically evaluated prior to obtaining hearing aids and to require compliance with the FDA warning regarding eight medical conditions.
Licensee Renewal Information
- If you received a renewal notice for your SLP, Aud or SLP/Aud license, please start the online process here: License Renewal
- Continuing Education Information
- Military Exemption Information
- Renewal Information
Initial License Application Information
- Application Instructions and Forms
- Licensing Statutes
- Dispenser Regulations
- Hearing Instrument Dispensing Exam Information
- Credential Verification
- Credential Look Up Licensee Search
- Name Change
- Address Change
- Employment Change
- Request Duplicate Card
- Mailing Label Requests
- Other Links
- Advisory Council
- Audiology Dispensing Contract Forms
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Telepractice Statement
- Health Professionals Services Program (HPSP)
- Speech Language Pathology Assistants
- Contact Us