Speech Language Pathologist and Audiologist Application Instructions and Forms
- Temporary License: Clinical Fellowship or Doctoral Externship
- Licensing as a Speech-Language Pathologist
- Temporary License: Persons Credentialed by ASHA, ABA, or other States
- Licensing as an Audiologist
- Temporary License: Renewal
Application Processing Times: based on receiving a complete application.
- Full Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist License: up to 30 days.
- Clinical Fellowship or Doctoral Externship: 1-2 weeks.
- Temporary License for persons credentialed by ASHA, ABA or other states: 1-2 weeks.
Please note: Individuals applying as a Speech-Language Pathologist who will be working in the school will need to contact the Minnesota Professional Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB) for licensing procedures. Per MN Statute 148.511 – sections 148.511 to 148.5198 do not apply to school personnel licensed by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board and practicing within the scope of their school license under Minnesota Rules, part 87100.6000, or the paraprofessionals who assist these individuals.
Criminal Background Check Updates
One Time License Fee Surcharge for New Applicants
Effective October 1, 2018, All individuals applying for initial licensure, temporary licensure or relicensure as a speech language pathologist and audiologist must pay a one-time surcharge to process a criminal background check (CBC). This surcharge is in addition to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) license application fee and authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 148.5194.
Applicants submitting an application must provide a check or money order payable to the “Minnesota Department of Health” for the license application fee including the one-time CBC surcharge as follows:
- Speech Language Pathology, $10.50
- Audiology, $13.00
- Dual Audiology/Speech Language Pathology, $13.00
Please note that new applicants are also required to pay an online applicant background study fee to the Department of Human Services (DHS). Instructions for completing the background study can be accessed here: Applicant Background Study Instruction Form (PDF) We recommend applicants for an SLP or AUD license mail their application to MDH and start the online background study process on the same day.
Effective April 16, 2018, all applicants for initial licensure, temporary licensure, or relicensure after a lapse in licensure must undergo a criminal background check as required by MN Statutes 144.0572. This process can take up to three weeks or longer. Please submit both criminal background check and licensing applications around the same time. Your full license application should be submitted at least sixty days before the expiration of your temporary license, so that there is not a lapse in your licensed status.
Instructions for completing the criminal background study can be accessed here: Applicant Background Study Instruction Form (PDF)
Effective January 1, 2020, an applicant for a renewal license as an audiologist, speech-language pathologist, or hearing instrument dispense who was licensed or obtained licensure before January 1, 2018, must submit to a criminal background check.