Full Body Art Technician Licensing Information
2016 legislation amended several Body Art statutes. The amendments add definitions of direct and indirect supervision; require that technicians receive 60 days notice prior to license expiration; change requirements for proof of age; enact requirements for proof of identification for parents or guardians of minors requesting piercing; and make changes to requirements for individuals seeking full licensure, including:
- Requiring five hours of bloodborne pathogen training.
- Requiring 200 hours of tattoo experience for licensure.
- Requiring 250 piercings under direct supervision and 250 piercings under indirect supervision for licensure.
After December 31, 2016, applicants for licensure as a piercer must show a minimum of 250 piercings under direct supervision and 250 piercings under indirect supervision. Direct supervision means that the supervisor is within five feet and the line of sight of the temporary licensee. Indirect supervision means that the licensed technician is physically present in the establishment.
After December 31, 2016, applicants for licensure as a tattooist must show 200 hours of supervised tattooing. Activities relating to tattooing which previously counted toward the 200 hours will no longer count toward those hours.
These new requirement do not apply to applicants who apply for licensure by reciprocity.
These new requirements will also not be applied to applicants who were issued their most recent temporary body art license prior to January 1, 2017. Applicants who were issued their most recent temporary body art license prior to January 1, 2017 need to submit only 200 hours of supervised experience in the area in which they are seeking licensure.
If you are licensed in another state, you may qualify for licensure by reciprocity. If you If you do not qualify for licensure by reciprocity, you must follow the instructions below to become licensed.
To obtain a full technician license, you must:
- be 18 years of age or older;
- apply for and be licensed as a temporary technician;
- For piercing, complete 250 piercings under direct supervision and 250 piercings under indirect supervision.*
- For tattooing, complete 200 hours of supervised tattooing (skin time only).*
- complete the Body Art Technician License Application (PDF);
- submit a log of at supervised body art procedures in each area you are seeking licensure;
- submit a signed letter statement from your supervisor that they supervised you during your temporary license period;
- submit a copy of a current, legal ID showing proof of age;
- submit a copy of current course certification (taken in the last year) in bloodborne pathogens, prevention of disease transmission, infection control, and aseptic technique;
- if you have ever had a license, certification, or registration in another jurisdiction, have that jurisdiction mail directly to the Minnesota Department of Health a completed Body Art Licensing Verification of Credential Form (PDF)
- pay the fee of $100 payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."
* Applicants whose most recent temporary license was issued before January 1, 2017 need to complete only 200 hours of supervised practice in the area in the area of tattooing and/or 200 hours in the area of piercing.
Physical presence of supervisor: Your supervisor must be physically present when you are performing body art procedures. Procedures performed without the physical presence of your supervise are illegal practice.
Applicants issued their most recent temporary license before January 1, 2017 Only body art procedures count toward your 200 hours of supervised experience. This means that you must be working directly with a client, preparing to work with a client, or cleaning up after working with a client. We will count the following activities when they are done in connection with a specific client; however, these activities should make up only a small part of supervised hours.
- Scrubbing your hands, wrists and other areas of your body as necessary before and after performing a body art procedure.
- Cleaning the client’s skin where the body art work will occur.
- Setting up your work area.
- Breaking down your work area.
- Advising Client about risks, completing the consent form, and providing after-care information.
- Performing piercing or tattooing.
- Sterilization or appropriate disposal of the instruments and materials used during your procedure.
The following activities are not body art procedures and do not qualify:
- cleaning the shop,
- answering phones,
- autoclaving that does not include instruments or materials that you have used,
- watching videos,
- running errands, or
- organizing the shop.
In addition, as a matter of safety self-tattoos and self-piercings do not qualify.
If you have a question whether or not a certain activity will count towards your 200 hours, call us and ask. If you have questions about how to count piercing time, please call 651-201-3724.
Due to the concerns about the safety of body art clients, time in excess of 8 hours per day will not be counted towards the 200 supervised hours required to qualify for a full license.
Log: Your log MUST contain the date of the procedure, a description of the procedure, the name and phone number of the client, the amount of time the procedure took, and your supervisor's initials.
Length of Licensure: Full technician licenses are valid for up to two years. All full technician licenses expire on March 31st. The first renewal fee will be a prorated amount based upon the month your license was issued.
Processing Time: Up to 30 days AFTER application paperwork is considered complete.