Temporary Body Art Technician Information
A temporary license is valid for one year and may renew twice. Temporary licenses are VALID only if the body art is properly supervised. Supervision is defined as the physical presence of a technician licensed under this chapter while a body art procedure is being performed. Technicians can only be supervised by those they listed in their license application and approved by MDH. Technician interested in supervising a temporary technician must have at least two (2) years of experience as a licensed body art technician (not including temporary license).
MDH may refuse to approve a supervisor if the supervisor has been disciplined in Minnesota or in other jurisdictions. Any technician who agrees to supervise more than two temporary technicians during the same time period must provide a supervisory plan that describes how technicians will provide supervision to each temporary technician.
The fee for a temporary license is $240 (effective July 1, 2017).
To obtain a temporary technician license, you must:
- be 18 years of age or older;
- identify a currently licensed MN Body Artist who in good standing, who will agree to supervise you for your temporary license period;
- work at a currently licensed MN Body Art Establishment that is in good standing;
- supply a copy of a current, legal ID showing proof of age;
- complete the Temporary Technician Body Art License Application (PDF); and
- pay the fee of $240 payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."
If you change your supervisor, you must notify us by completing a Temporary Technician Supervisor Change Application (PDF) with the signature of your new supervisor. If your original temporary license has not expired, you do not need to pay an additional fee for this change.
Physical presence of supervisor: Your supervisor must be physically present when you are performing body art procedures. Procedures performed without the physical presence of your supervisor are illegal practice.
Applicants issued their most recent temporary license after July 1, 2016.
Supervised experience: Applicants issued a temporary license on or after July 1, 2016 must complete the following supervised practice.
- To be licensed as a body art technician - piercer, you must complete 250 piercings under direct supervision and 250 piercings under indirect supervision.
- To be licensed as a body art technician – tattooist, you must complete 200 hours of supervised tattooing (skin time only).
Due to the concerns about the safety of body art clients, time in excess of 8 hours per day will not be counted towards the 200 supervised hours required to qualify for a full license.Log: Your log MUST contain the date of the procedure, a description of the procedure, the name and phone number of the client, the amount of time the procedure took, and your supervisor's initials.
Length of Licensure: Temporary technician licenses are valid for one year. Currently Minnesota Statute allows for two renewals.
Processing Time: Up to 5-20 business days AFTER application paperwork is considered complete.