Body Art Regulation
Temporary/Apprentice Technician Information and Applications
Guest Technician Information and Applications
Full Technician Information and Applications
Establishment Information and Applications
Temporary Event Information and Applications
Current Body Art Licenses
New Applications Posted:
Some users have reported issues not being able to view the updated 2017 new applications for licensure. If you are unable to view the updated PDFs please clear your internet history and cache from your browser, exit, and reload the page.
The 2017 Minnesota Legislative session approved changes to the Body Art Program Chapter 146B. These statute changes will be effective July 1, 2017. The Department will provide updated information including application forms on Minnesota Department of Health, Body Art Program website before July 1, 2017. The Department will process the applications postmarked before July 1, 2017 according to the statutes of 2016.
Changes include: increases to existing application fees, new fees, and changes to application requirements.**Updates Effective July 1, 2017 (PDF)**
See 2017 Amendments to 2016 Statutes under Body Art Regulatory Information below.
2016 legislation amended several Body Art statutes. The amendments add definitions of direct and indirect supervision; require that technicians receive 60 days notice prior to license expiration; change requirements for proof of age; enact requirements for proof of identification for parents or guardians of minors requesting piercing; and make changes to requirements for individuals seeking full licensure, including:
- Requiring five hours of bloodborne pathogen training.
- Requiring 200 hours of tattoo experience for licensure.
- Requiring 250 piercings under direct supervision and 250 piercings under indirect supervision for licensure.
After July 1, 2016, applicants for licensure as a piercer must show a minimum of 250 piercings under direct supervision and 250 piercings under indirect supervision. Direct supervision means that the supervisor is within five feet and the line of sight of the temporary licensee. Indirect supervision means that the licensed technician is physically present in the establishment.
After July 1, 2016, applicants for licensure as a tattooist must show 200 hours of supervised tattooing. Activities relating to tattooing which previously counted toward the 200 hours will no longer count toward those hours.
These new requirement do not apply to applicants who apply for licensure by reciprocity.
These new requirements will also not be applied to applicants who were issued their most recent temporary body art license prior to July 1, 2016. Applicants who were issued their most recent temporary body art license prior to July 1, 2016 need to submit only 200 hours of supervised experience in the area in which they are seeking licensure.
Important! FDA Recall
FDA announces recall on certain tattoo inks and needles:
Any individual performing body art without a valid license is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. Any individual performing tattoos to persons under the age of 18 is guilty of a gross misdemeanor (regardless of parental or guardian consent). If you are aware of individuals practicing without a license or tattooing minors, please complete a Minnesota Body Art Complaint Form (PDF) and mail it to us, or contact your local police.
- Body Art Licensing Statutes
- 2013 Amendments to 2012 Statutes
- 2017 Amendments to 2016 Statutes
- Minnesota Body Art Regulation Brochure (PDF)
- Body Art Related Links
- Contact Us
- If you want to become a Temporary Technician
- Temporary Technician License Application 2017 (PDF)
- If you need to renew your Temporary Technician license
- Renew Temporary Technician License Application 2017 (PDF)
- Temporary Technician Supervisor Change Application (PDF)
A temporary license is valid for one year and may renew twice. Temporary licenses are VALID only if the body art is properly supervised. Supervision is defined as the physical presence of a technician licensed under this chapter while a body art procedure is being performed. Technicians can only be supervised by those they listed in their license application and approved by MDH. Technician interested in supervising a temporary technician must have at least two (2) years of experience as a licensed body art technician (not including temporary license).
MDH may refuse to approve a supervisor if the supervisor has been disciplined in Minnesota or in other jurisdictions. Any technician who agrees to supervise more than two temporary technicians during the same time period must provide a supervisory plan that describes how technicians will provide supervision to each temporary technician.
- If you want to become a Full licensed Technician
- If you are licensed in another state and want to become a MN Full licensed Technician (reciprocity)
- Full Technician License Application 2017 (PDF)
- Body Art Licensing Verification of Credential Form 2017 (PDF)
- Bloodborne Pathogen Training Information - UPDATED JULY 2017
- If you want to become a supervisor to a Temporary or Guest Technician
- Address/Employer Change Form (PDF)
- Establishment Renewals
- If you want to open a Body Art establishment
- Body Art Establishment Application 2017 (PDF)
- Body Art Establishment Inspection Checklist (PDF)
- Body Art Establishment Exemption Application (PDF)
If you are under the age of 18:
You CANNOT get a tattoo in Minnesota—even with the consent of your parent or guardian.
You MAY get a piercing, BUT you will need parent/guardian consent AND your parent/guardian must be present during the procedure. You CANNOT get the following, even with consent: nipple piercing, genital piercing, branding, scarification, suspension, subdermal implantation, microdermal, or tongue bifurcation.
Be an informed consumer. Make sure your tattooist or piercer is licensed by MDH, and make sure they are working in a licensed body art establishment.
MN body piercing regulation does not include the piercing of the outer perimeter or the lobe of the ear using a presterilized single-use stud-and-claps ear-piercing system. The single-use stud-and-claps ear-piercing system should not be used to pierce any part of the body besides the lobe of the ear.
MDH does not regulate temporary/henna tattoos. See Additives Used in Henna Tattoo Materials - Potential Health Concerns if you have questions regarding temporary tattoos or if you want instructions on how to report an adverse reaction to a temporary tattoo.
Current Body Art licenses in Excel spreadsheets available for download below:
- Licensed Establishments (Excel)
- Exempt Establishments (Excel)
- Licensed Technicians (Excel)
- Temporary Licensed Technicians (Excel)
- Licensed Guest Artist (Excel)
- Temporary Event Permit
- Disciplinary Actions
- Body Art Related Links
- Contact Us
*Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 146B.02, subdivision 9, an establishment located in a jurisdiction which has enacted an ordinance that either meets or exceeds the state statute is exempt from the state licensure requirement. However, regardless of the establishment location all technicians must be licensed. Currently, establishments in the following jurisdictions are exempt from the state licensure requirement for establishments: the Cities of Minneapolis, Maplewood, Bloomington, Edina, Richfield, Brooklyn Park, Minnetonka and New Hope; and the Counties of Anoka, Hennepin, and Steele.