As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 149A.40, subdivision 1, Morticians and Funeral Directors must renew their license to practice before December 31 of each year.
If you are renewing your license to practice for the 2019 calendar year, and your license ends in an odd number, you are required to submit a continuing education (CE) report form with your renewal application and application fees. Minnesota Statutes, Section 149A.40, Subd 11. requires 15 hours of CE with your renewal. Your CE report requires nine hours in the following areas:
- Body preparation, care or handling, 3 CE hours
- Professional practices, 3 CE hours
- Regulation and ethics, 3 CE hours
Please note you may be required to complete one hour of CE as required by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) (PDF). OSHA CE hours count for credit towards your 15 hours of CE under body preparation care and handling, regulation and ethics or general categories.
If you are renewing this year, and your license ends in an ODD number, you must submit CE hours that you earned from January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2018.
If you license number ends in an EVEN number, you must submit CE hours that you earned from January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2019.
2019 Continuing Education (CE) Report Form
Please use this link to print copies of the 2019 CE Reporting Form. You may make copies of this form as needed.
You may submit your form by emailing it to email@example.com, by fax to 651-201-3839 or by mail to Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section, PO Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882.
Approved Continuing Education Programs
The following calendar contains information on approved continuing education programs. If there is a continuing education program that offers credit and the program is not listed on the calendar, we may require additional information about the course.
Continuing Education Courses from the following organizations are accepted:
- Minnesota Funeral Directors Association
- National Funeral Directors Association
- Academy of Professional Funeral Service Practice
- Cremation Association of North America
- The Conference
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration
To access the Application for Continuing Education Approval, visit Mortuary Science's Forms page.
Courses listed are available in Minnesota AND nationwide.