Mortuary Science Internship Information
As of October 1, 2017 our application process has changed, follow the instructions below.
Along with the intern registration application you must submit the following:
- Your official academic transcript(s). you must send in a request to your academic institution asking for an official transcript(s) to be sent to you in a sealed envelope. Do NOT open the transcript(s). The transcript(s) must be included with your application. The transcript(s) results must be received by the Department in a sealed or unopened envelope. If your school will only provide electronic verification please have them send the verification to firstname.lastname@example.org. Your transcript(s) must have a total of 120 semester credits or 180 quarter credits.
- National Board Examination results. You must send in a request to The Conference asking for your results to be sent electronically to email@example.com.
- Copy of your driver's license or State I.D.
- Check or money order for $75.00 payable to Commissioner of Finance.
- Submit the State Exam application and fee of $125.00
- Supervising Mortician Registration form
- Please make a copy of the instructions and completed Mortuary Science Internship Registration application for your records. Mail the original instructions, application, fee and all requested documents to the address provided at the bottom of the application.
Failure to submit the required information all together as instructed will result in your application being mailed back to you. If your application is mailed back to you, you will be provided with instructions on what is needed to continue the application process.
- Mortuary Science Internship Registration (PDF)
- Supervising Mortician Registration (PDF)
- Notification of Transfer by Licensed Intern (PDF)
Minnesota Statute 149.20 Subd. 6(b) requires interns to complete 25 case reports in each of the following areas; embalmings, arrangements, and funeral services. Please submit your case reports via email on a monthly basis to prevent processing and licensing delays. Interns are required to submit their application and fee for initial licensure two weeks prior to completion of an internship.
If you have additional questions, please contact the Mortuary Science Section at the Minnesota Department of Health at 651-201-3829.
- Internship Time Sheet (PDF)
- Internship Embalming/Funeral Case Report Form (PDF)
- Internship Funeral Service Case Report Form (PDF)
- Internship Funeral Arrangement Case Report Form (PDF)
Supervising Mortician and Internship Statutory Requirements
It is the supervising mortician's responsibility to provide guidance and "direct supervision" to registered interns while interns assist in licensed work. Please keep in mind that interns are not licensed by the Commissioner of Health to practice mortuary science. Interns are registered with the Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section and are required to be under the "direct supervision" of a Minnesota licensed mortician when assisting with licensed activities.
Note: Interns should not be hired as staff morticians.-
"Direct supervision" means overseeing the performance of an individual. For the purpose of a clinical, practicum, or internship, direct supervision means that the supervisor is available to observe and correct, as needed,the performance of the trainee. The mortician supervisor is accountable for the actions of the clinical student, practicum student, or intern throughout the course of the training. The supervising mortician is accountable for any violations of law or rule, in the performance of their duties, by the clinical student, practicum student, or intern.
a) A person who attains a passing score on both examinations in Subdivision 5 must complete a registered internship under the direct supervision of an individual currently licensed to practice mortuary science in Minnesota. Interns must file with the Commissioner:
- (1) the appropriate fee; and
- (2) a registration form indicating the name and home address of the intern, the date the internship begins, and the name, license number, and business address of the supervising mortuary science licensee.
- (3) Any changes in information provided in the registration must be immediately reported to the Commissioner. The internship shall be a minimum of 2,080 hours to be completed within a three-year period, however, the Commissioner may waive up to 520 hours of the internship time requirement upon satisfactory completion of a clinical or practicum in mortuary science administered through the program of mortuary science of the University of Minnesota or a substantially similar program approved by the Commissioner. Registrations must be renewed on an annual basis if they exceed one calendar year. During the internship period, the intern must be under the direct supervision of a person holding a current license to practice mortuary science in Minnesota. An intern may be registered under only one licensee at any given time and may be directed and supervised only by the registered licensee. The registered licensee shall have only one intern registered at any given time. The Commissioner shall issue to each registered intern a registration permit that must be displayed with the other establishment and practice licenses. While under the direct supervision of the licensee, the intern must complete 25 case reports in each of the following areas: embalming, funeral arrangements, and services. Case reports, on forms provided by the Commissioner, shall be completed by the intern and filed with the Commissioner prior to the completion of the internship. Information contained in these reports that identifies the subject or the family of the subject embalmed or the subject or the family of the subject of the funeral shall be classified as licensing data under section 13.41, subdivision 2.
(f) Funeral providers must give an itemized written statement, for retention, to each consumer who arranges an at-need funeral or other disposition of human remains at the conclusion of the discussion of the arrangements. The itemized written statement must be signed by the consumer selecting the goods and services as required in section 149A.80. If the statement is provided by a funeral establishment, the statement must be signed by the licensed funeral director or mortician planning the arrangements.
No person subject to regulation under this chapter shall remove or cause to be removed any human body from the lace of death without being licensed by the Commissioner. Every dead human body shall be removed from the place of death by a licensed mortician or funeral director, except as provided in section 149A.01, subdivision 3.
The preparation of a dead human body for final disposition shall be performed in privacy. No person shall be permitted to be present in the preparation room while a dead human body is being embalmed, washed, or otherwise prepared for final disposition, except:
- (1) Licensed mortician;
- (2) Registered interns or students as described in subdivision 6;
- (3)Public officials or representatives in the discharge of their official duties; and
- (4)Licensed medical personnel.
Licensed funeral homes may work with family and friends of the deceased to allow for their participation in washing and dressing of the body in a private location other than the preparation room of the funeral home.
Subdivision 6. Mortician Required.
Embalming of a dead human body shall be performed only by an individual holding a license to practice mortuary science in Minnesota, a registered intern pursuant to section 149A.20, subdivision 6, or a student registered for a practicum or clinical through an accredited college or university or a college of funeral service education accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education. An individual who holds a funeral director only license issued pursuant to section 149A.40, subdivision 2, is prohibited from engaging in the embalming of a dead human body.
A licensed alkaline hydrolysis facility must employ a licensed mortician to carry out the process of alkaline hydrolysis of a dead human body. It is the duty of the licensed alkaline hydrolysis facility to provide proper procedures for all personnel, and the licensed alkaline hydrolysis facility shall be strictly accountable for compliance with this chapter and other applicable state and federal regulations regarding occupational and workplace health and safety.