What to report
Measles (rubeola) must be reported to MDH immediately 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Information on measles for health care professionals, including epidemiology, testing, and post-exposure and vaccination recommendations.
How to report Measles
- Call 651-201-5414 or 877-676-5414 immediately to report Measles.
24-7 Phone Reporting
This disease must be reported immediately by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Submitting clinical materials
For Measles, submission of clinical materials (isolate, if available) to MDH is required by rule.
- Clinical Materials
Clinical materials must be submitted according to these guidelines.
- Lab Testing for Measles at the MDH Public Health Laboratory
More about testing and submitting clinical specimens for Measles.
Who is required to report
- Health care practitioners (health care facilities, medical laboratories, and in certain circumstances veterinarians and veterinary medical laboratories) are required to report disease to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) under Minnesota state law.
- Unless previously reported, every licensed health care provider who provides care to any patient who has, is suspected of having, or has died from a reportable disease is required to report.
- Any person in charge of any institution, school, child care facility, or camp is also required to report disease to MDH.
More about Measles
- Measles (rubeola)
MDH comprehensive Measles resource page.