Reporting Meningococcal Disease
(Neisseria meningitidis) (all invasive disease)
What to report
All invasive meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis) must be reported to MDH immediately 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
- Isolates are considered to be from invasive disease if they are isolated from normally sterile sites.
- Neisseria meningitidis Case Definitions, CDC
Case definition from CDC's National Notifiable Disease Surveillance System (NNDSS) for Neisseria meningitidis.
How to report meningococcal disease
- Call 651-201-5414 or 877-676-5414 immediately to report meningococcal disease.
24-7 Phone Reporting
This disease must be reported immediately by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
- ABCs Case Report Form
AFTER a case or suspect case of meningococcal disease is reported to MDH immediately by phone, more detailed information on the case should be submitted using this form.
Submitting clinical materials
For meningococcal disease, submission of clinical materials (isolate, if available) to MDH is required by rule.
- Clinical Materials
Clinical materials must be submitted according to these guidelines.
Who is required to report
- Health care practitioners (health care facilities, medical laboratories, and in certain circumstances veterinarians and veterinary medical laboratories) are required to report disease to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) under Minnesota state law.
- Unless previously reported, every licensed health care provider who provides care to any patient who has, is suspected of having, or has died from a reportable disease is required to report.
- Any person in charge of any institution, school, child care facility, or camp is also required to report disease to MDH.
More about meningococcal disease
- Meningococcal Disease
MDH comprehensive meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis) resource page.