Reporting Q Fever - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Reporting Q Fever
(Coxiella burnetii)

On this page:
What to report
How to report
Submitting clinical materials
Who is required to report
More about Q Fever

What to report

Q Fever (Coxiella burnetii) must be reported to MDH immediately 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Case definition

How to report Q Fever

  • Call 651-201-5414 or 877-676-5414 immediately to report Q Fever.
    24-7 Phone Reporting
    This disease must be reported immediately by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Submitting clinical materials

For Q Fever, submission of clinical materials (isolate, if available) to MDH is required by rule.

Who is required to report

  • Health care practitioners (health care facilities, medical laboratories, and in certain circumstances veterinarians and veterinary medical laboratories) are required to report disease to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) under Minnesota state law.
    • Unless previously reported, every licensed health care provider who provides care to any patient who has, is suspected of having, or has died from a reportable disease is required to report.
  • Any person in charge of any institution, school, child care facility, or camp is also required to report disease to MDH.

More about Q Fever

  • Q Fever
    Information from the CDC on Q Fever. Attention: Non-MDH link

Updated Friday, 06-Jan-2017 09:55:32 CST