(animal and human cases and suspected cases)
What to report
Cases or suspect cases of rabies in an animal or human must be reported to MDH immediately 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Physicians and veterinarians may obtain information on rabies, including human exposure, prophylaxis, and bite management by calling 651-201-5414.
- Rabies, Human Case Definitions, CDC
Case definition from CDC's National Notifiable Disease Surveillance System (NNDSS) for human rabies.
- Rabies, Animal Case Definitions, CDC
Case definition from CDC's National Notifiable Disease Surveillance System (NNDSS) for animal rabies.
How to report rabies
- Call 651-201-5414 or 877-676-5414 immediately to report rabies.
24-7 Phone Reporting
This disease must be reported immediately by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Who is required to report
- Health care practitioners (health care facilities, medical laboratories, and in certain circumstances veterinarians and veterinary medical laboratories) are required to report disease to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) under Minnesota state law.
- Unless previously reported, every licensed health care provider who provides care to any patient who has, is suspected of having, or has died from a reportable disease is required to report.
- Any person in charge of any institution, school, child care facility, or camp is also required to report disease to MDH.
More about rabies
MDH comprehensive rabies resource page.