Reporting Rubella and Congenital Rubella Syndrome - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Reporting Rubella and Congenital Rubella Syndrome

On this page:
What to report
How to report
Submitting clinical materials
Who is required to report
More about Rubella

What to report

Rubella and congenital rubella syndrome must be reported to MDH immediately 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Case definition

  • Rubella Clinical Information
    Information on rubella for health professionals, including epidemiology, communicability, and treatment of cases and contacts.

How to report rubella and congenital rubella syndrome

  • Call 651-201-5414 or 877-676-5414 immediately to report rubella and congenital rubella syndrome.
    24-7 Phone Reporting
    This disease must be reported immediately by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Submitting clinical materials

For rubella and congenital rubella syndrome, submission of clinical materials (isolate, if available) to MDH is required by rule.

Who is required to report

  • Health care practitioners (health care facilities, medical laboratories, and in certain circumstances veterinarians and veterinary medical laboratories) are required to report disease to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) under Minnesota state law.
    • Unless previously reported, every licensed health care provider who provides care to any patient who has, is suspected of having, or has died from a reportable disease is required to report.
  • Any person in charge of any institution, school, child care facility, or camp is also required to report disease to MDH.

More about Rubella

Updated Tuesday, 03-Jan-2017 15:10:26 CST