Minnesota Immunization Rule Revision
Federal ACIP Recommendations vs. Law

This table compares the federal childhood and adolescent immunization recommendations against existing Minnesota immunization law for licensed child care centers and school. It should be used as an informational guide to help determine what changes may be necessary in order to update the Minnesota Immunization Law.

Federal ACIP Childhood Immunization Recommendations vs.
Minnesota School Immunization Laws
This chart does not contain the proposed Immunization Rule changes. It is only provided as an informational resource.
Vaccine Federal ACIP Childhood Immunization Recommendations Minnesota School Immunization Law Requirements
DTaP
Diphtheria, Tetanus, acellular Pertussis
  • At age 2, 4, 6 and 15-18 months
  • Last dose at 4-6 years
  • Five doses of DTaP unless fourth dose was given after age 4 years; but no requirement that last dose be given after 4 years
Hepatitis A
  • At age 12 months, two doses six months apart
  • No child care or school requirement
Hepatitis B
  • At birth and age 1-2 and 6-18 months
  • Requires hepatitis B in kindergarten and 7th grade only
  • No requirement for child care or other grades
Hib
Haemophilius influenzae, type B
  • At age 2, 4, 6* and 12-15 months 
    (*product dependent)
  • Only one dose is necessary if child is incompletely vaccinated and 15-59 months of age
  • Age-appropriate doses of Hib vaccine for children 2-15 months in child care; for children 15-59 months, one dose given after 12 months is required
HPV
Human Papillomavirus
  • At age 11–12 years
  • No school requirement
Influenza
  • Annually for all children over age 6 months
  • No child care or school requirement
MCV
Meningococcal
  • MCV at age 11 – 12 years
  • MCV booster dose at 16 years
  • No school requirement
MMR
Measles, Mumps, Rubella
  • First dose at age 12-15 months and
  • Second dose at age 4-6 years
  • One dose of MMR for children enrolled in a licensed child care settings
  • Two doses of MMR for children entering kindergarten
PCV7
PCV13
PCV

Pneumococcal conjugate
  • PCV13 at age 2, 4, 6 and 12-15 months
  • One dose is necessary if incompletely vaccinated and child is 15-59 months old
  • Supplemental PCV13 dose to children through age 4 who previously completed PCV7 series
  • PCV doses according to medically accepted standards for children age 2-24 months enrolled in a licensed child care settings
  • No requirement applies after age 24 months
Polio
  • At age 2, 4, and 6-18  months
  • Last dose at age 4-6 years (on or after 4th birthday)
  • If third dose is on or after 4th birthday, a fourth dose is not necessary
  • Four doses of polio for kindergarten entry, unless third dose given after age 4 years; but no requirement that last dose be given on or after 4th birthday
Rotavirus
  • At age 2, 4, and 6 months
    • Do not initiate series after age 15 weeks
    • No further doses after age 8 months
  • No child care requirement
Tdap/Td
Tetanus, diphtheria, acellular pertussis
  • Tdap at age 11-12 years
  • Catch-up for all adolescents
  • Td for children entering 7th grade, (Tdap can be given instead of Td)
Varicella
Chickenpox
  • First dose at age 12-15 months
  • Second dose at 4-6 years
  • One dose of varicella for children enrolled in a licensed child care settings after 18 months
  • Two doses of varicella for children entering kindergarten and 7th grade only

 

Updated Monday, 04-Jun-2012 13:16:15 CDT