Provider's Quick Reference on Minnesota's Immunization Laws

A quick reference guide for healthcare providers, daycare, and school personnel on Minnesota's immunization laws.

To help prevent over-immunization and missed opportunities, providers are encouraged to enroll in the Minnesota Immunization Information Connection (MIIC) web-based application, which allows immunization providers to enter and view all immunizations given to their patients.

Download PDF version formatted for print:
Provider's Quick Reference on Minnesota's Immunization Laws (PDF: 40KB/2 pages)

On this page:
Immunizations Required for Licensed Child Care Facilities and School Grades K - 12
Exemptions to the Child Care and K-12 School Immunization Law
Immunizations Required for Post-Secondary Schools and Colleges
Exemptions to the Post-Secondary School and College Immunization Law
Related Legal Requirements for Child Care, Schools, and Colleges

Immunizations Required for Licensed Child Care Facilities
and School Grades K - 12

Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.15, subd. 1

  • Age/Grade of Child - A vaccine dose administered four or fewer days before the minimum age required by law is considered valid.

  • Varicella - As of September 1, 2010, only a health care provider (physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant) can verify history of chickenpox disease for a child entering child care or school.

Birth to 2 months

PCV13 Hib DTaP Polio MMR Var HepB
None None None None None None None


2 months to 15 months

PCV13 Hib DTaP Polio MMR Var HepB
Age appropriate* Age appropriate Age appropriate Age appropriate None None None

*Pneumococcal vaccine is required for children 2 to 24 months of age.

15 months to kindergarten age

PCV13 Hib DTaP Polio MMR Var HepB
Age
appropriate*
1** Age
appropriate
Age
appropriate
1 1 None

*Pneumococcal vaccine is required for children 2 to 24 months of age.

**Minnesota law requires children enrolled in a child care facility have at least one dose of Hib vaccine given at or after 12 months of age; however, it is always recommended to vaccinate children according to age appropriate recommendations.

Pre-kindergarten (3 to 4 years)

PCV13 Hib DTaP Polio MMR Var HepB
None 1* 4-5** 3-4** 1 1 None

*Minnesota law requires children enrolled in a child care facility have at least one dose of Hib vaccine given at or after 12 months of age; however, it is always recommended to vaccinate children according to age appropriate recommendations.

**MDH recommends that school "boosters" for DTaP/DTP/DT and polio be administered before entrance to kindergarten.

Kindergarten

PCV13 Hib DTaP Polio MMR Var HepB
None None 5 4 2 2 3

 

1st grade through 6 years

PCV13 Hib DTaP Polio MMR Var HepB
None None 5* 4** 0 None None

*The fifth dose of DTaP is not required if the fourth DTaP was administered after the fourth birthday.

**The fourth dose of polio vaccine is not required if the third dose of polio was administered after the fourth birthday.

7 years thorough 6th grade

PCV13 Hib DTaP Polio MMR Var HepB
None None 3* 3 0 None None

*Pertussis vaccine is not required of students age 7 years or older.

7th grade

PCV13 Hib DTaP Polio MMR Var HepB
None None 3 plus booster* 3 2 2 2-3**

*If a child in grades 7 through 12 received a Td booster after their seventh birthday but before age 11 they are exempt until 10 years  have elapsed since that dose was given.

**A two-dose hepatitis B adolescent schedule is acceptable; however, it must be clearly documented that the two-dose product, such as Recombivax, was given.

8th through 12th grade

PCV13 Hib DTaP Polio MMR Var HepB
None None 3 plus booster* 3** 2 None None

*If a child in grades 7 through 12 received a Td booster after their seventh birthday but before age 11 they are exempt until 10 years  have elapsed since that dose was given.

**Students age 18 years or older are exempt from the polio vaccine requirement.


Exemptions to the Child Care and K-12 School Immunization Law
Minnesota Statutes, 121A.15, Section 3

  • For a medical contraindication to the required vaccine(s), including anaphylactic reaction to a previous dose or to vaccine component(s), the parent/guardian must have a signed statement by a physician specifying the vaccine(s).
  • For laboratory evidence of immunity to a disease covered by the law, the parent/guardian must have a signed statement by a physician specifying the vaccine(s).

For conscientious objection by a parent or legal guardian to one or more of the vaccine(s), the parent/guardian must have a notarized statement that specifies the vaccine(s) and is signed by the parent/guardian.

Immunizations Required for Post-Secondary Schools and Colleges

Minn. Stat. Section 135.14

Required Vaccines

Number of Doses

Tetanus and diphtheria (Td or Tdap)

One dose given in the 10 years prior to initial enrollment

Measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR)

One dose given on or after the first birthday (a second dose is recommended)

Recommended Vaccines Number of Doses

Meningococcal

Medically acceptable standard

Hepatitis A and B

Medically acceptable standard

Exemptions to the Post-Secondary School and College Immunization Law
Minnesota Statutes, section 135.14, subd. 3

  • A person who graduated from a Minnesota high school in 1997 or later is exempt from these requirements because they will already have met them as a high school student.
  • For a medical contraindication to required vaccine(s), including anaphylactic reaction to a previous dose or to vaccine component(s), the patient or parent/guardian must have a signed statement by a physician specifying the vaccine(s).
  • For laboratory evidence of immunity to a disease covered by the law, the patient/parent/guardian must have a signed statement by a physician specifying the vaccine(s).
  • For conscientious objection by the patient/parent/legal guardian to one or more of the vaccines, the patient/parent/guardian must have a notarized statement specifying the vaccine(s) and signed by the patient/parent/guardian.
Related Legal Requirements for Child Care, Schools, and Colleges
  • Exemption Information: It is a state law that any written materials given to parents of pediatric patients about vaccines required for grades K-12 or child care must contain information on legal exemptions. The exemption information must be in the same font size and style and on the same page as the requirements.

  • Vaccine Information Statements: It is a federal requirement that providers must give a copy of the Vaccine Information Statement (VIS) to any patient/parent/guardian receiving a vaccine.


Updated Tuesday, 05-Mar-2013 09:07:19 CST