Provider’'s Quick Reference on Minnesota’s Immunization Laws

To ensure Minnesotans receive correct and timely vaccinations, providers are encouraged to enroll in the Minnesota Immunization Information
Connection (MIIC). MIIC is a confidential immunization information system that combines the vaccinations a patient has received into a single
record, even if they were given at different clinics in the state.

Immunizations Required for Licensed Child Care Facilities, Early Childhood Programs, and School Grades K - 12
Minnesota Statutes, section 121A.15, subd. 1

Number of Doses Required by Vaccine Type
Age/Grade of Child*
Hep B PCV-13 Hib DIl Polio MMR |Varicella'| Hep A MCV4
pneumococcal Tdap / Td meningococcal
Age 13 Age . Age Age
2 months through 15 months appropriate Age appropriate appropriate Age appropriate appropriate None None appropriate None
L .. 3 4 . .5 Age Age
15 months through pre-kindergarten 3 Age appropriate 1 Age appropriate appropriate® 1 1 appropriate None
Kindergarten 3 None None 5>° 4>° 2 2 None None
1% grade through 6 years 3 None None 5° 4>° 2 2 None None
7 years through grade 6 3 None None 3 3 2 2 None None
a2 3 plus Tdap 12
Grade 7 2-3 None None booster”® 3 2 2 None 1
a2 3 plusTda 10 Age
Grades 8 through 12 2-3 None None boosternp 3 2 2 None appropriate®®
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A vaccine dose administered four or fewer days before the minimum age
required by law is considered valid.

A two-dose hepatitis B adolescent schedule given between the ages of 11
through 15 years is acceptable; however, it must be clearly documented
that the two-dose product, RecombivaxHB 10 mcg was given.

Pneumococcal vaccine is required for children 2 to 24 months of age.

Minnesota law requires children enrolled in a child care facility have at
least one dose of Hib vaccine given at or after 12 months of age; however
it is always recommended to vaccinate children according to age
appropriate recommendations.

MDH recommends that “kindergarten boosters” for DTaP/DT and polio be
administered before entrance to kindergarten and the law requires that the
final dose be on or after the fourth birthday.

The fifth dose of DTaP is not required if the fourth DTaP was administered
after the fourth birthday.
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If a child in grades 7 through 12 received a Td after their seventh birthday
but before age 11 years they still need Tdap, regardless of the interval
since their last Td dose.

If a child in grades 7 through 12 received a Tdap booster after their
seventh birthday but before age 11 years, they are exempt until 10 years
have elapsed since that dose was given, and then a Td is required.

The fourth dose of polio vaccine is not required if the third dose of polio
was administered after the fourth birthday.

% Students age 18 years or older are exempt from the polio vaccine
requirement.

If the child has already had chickenpox disease, varicella shots are not
required. If the disease occurred after 2010, the child’s doctor must sign a
form.

Doses given before age 10 years do not count toward the law requirement.
Booster dose of meningococcal vaccine is recommended at age 16 years.
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Immunizations Required for Post-Secondary Schools
and Colleges
Minn. Stat. Section 135.14

Required Vaccines Number of Doses

Tetanus and diphtheria (Td or One dose given in the 10 years prior
Tdap) to initial enrollment

One dose given on or after the first

Measles, mumps, and rubella birthday (a second dose is

(MMR) recommended)
Recommended Vaccines* Number of Doses
Meningococcal Medically acceptable standard
Hepatitis A and B Medically acceptable standard

*Some colleges may require these vaccines

Exemptions to the Immunization Law for Child Care, Early
Childhood Programs, Schools, and Colleges

Minnesota Statutes, 121A.15, section 3 and section 135.14, subd. 3

e Medical contraindication: the parent/guardian must have a
signed statement by a physician specifying the vaccine(s). A
delayed (alternative) schedule is not considered a medical
exemption.

e Laboratory evidence of immunity: the parent/guardian must
have a signed statement by a physician specifying the vaccine(s).

e Conscientious objection: the parent/guardian must have a
notarized statement that specifies the vaccine(s) and is signed by
the parent/guardian.

e For post-secondary schools and colleges: A person who
graduated from a Minnesota high school in 1997 or later is exempt
from these requirements because they will already have met them
as a high school student.

Immunization Program

P.O. Box 64975

St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
651-201-5503 or 1-800-657-3970
www.health.state.mn.us/immunize

Related Legal Requirements for Child Care, Early
Childhood Programs, Schools, and Colleges

Vaccine Information Statements: It is a federal requirement that
providers must give a copy of the Vaccine Information Statement
(VIS) to any patient/parent/guardian before receiving a vaccine.

Providing exemption Information: It is a state law that any
written materials given to parents of pediatric patients about
vaccines required for grades K-12 or child care must contain
information on legal exemptions. The exemption information must
be in the same font size and style and on the same page as the
requirements.

Be sure you have up-to-date information on Minnesota’s School
Immunization Law by visiting the MDH website at
www.health.state.mn.us/immunize.
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