Commissioner's Award for Distinguished Service in Community Health Services

For individuals or groups who have contributed to advancement in the field of public health

The Commissioner's Award for Distinguished Service in Community Health Services was created in 1992 to acknowledge long-term contributions, involvement, achievement and commitment to CHS. The recipients of this award have demonstrated this kind of long-term commitment, and have contributed to advancement within the public health field.


Eligibility requirements include: Current State CHS Advisory Committee Member or Alternate Member, Local Community Health Services Staff, Local Advisory Committee Member, Elected Official, Volunteer, or Past Local and State Health Staff.

Past Award Winners

2015 Shannon Bailey, Dakota County Public Health
2014 Ann Stehn, Kandiyohi County Health and Human Services
2013 Carol Schefers, Wright County Public Health
2012 Sue Zuidema, formerly of Hennepin County
2011 Lois Ahern, Freeborn County
2010 Marina McManus, Anoka County
2009 Del Hurt, Carver County
2008 Becky Felling, Meeker County
2007 Lt. Phil Bartusek, Albert Lea Police Department
2006 Wayne Carlson, Minnesota Dept. of Health
2005 Mary McGlothlin, Washington County
2004 Karen Zilliox, Minnesota Dept. of Health
2003 Carol Carlson, Crow Wing County
2002 Lori Wedeking, Minnesota Dept. of Health
2001 Donna Anderson, Dakota County
2000 Theresa St. Onge, Minnesota Dept. of Health
1999 Virginia Rootkie, Pine County
1998 Robert Bambrino, Stearns County
1997 Vonna Henry, Sherburne County
1996 Signe Hill, Winona County
1995 Bonnie Frederickson, Nobles-Rock Counties
1994 Michael Duffy, Carlton-Cook-Lake-Saint Louis Counties
1993 Rosemary Lamson, Cook County
1992 Ann Moorhous, Minnesota Dept. of Health