Award for Outstanding Dedication to Local Public Health - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Award for Outstanding Dedication to
Local Public Health

For individuals who have made a significant contribution to the promotion and implementation of local public health in Minnesota.

The Award for Outstanding Dedication to Local Public Health was created in 1998 to recognize locally elected officials who make a significant contribution to promoting and implementing local public health in Minnesota. This award reflects the dedicated spirit of elected officials whose significant contributions have defined community health services and local public health today. The first Award for Outstanding Dedication to Local Public Health was presented in memory of Kal Michels, Wilkin County Commissioner and 1990 SCHSAC Chair.


Eligibility requirements include: Local elected official, former or retired elected official, or appointed representative to a community health board or local board of health.

Past Award Winners

2017 Susan Morris, Isanti County Commissioner
2016 Rosemary Schultz, Jackson County Commissioner
2015 Bev Bales, Douglas County Commissioner
2014 Nancy Schouweiler, Dakota County Commissioner
2013 Karen Nordstrom, Bloomington City Council
2012 Larry Kittelson, Pope County Commissioner
2011 William Montague, Polk County Commissioner
2010 David Benson, Nobles County Commissioner
2009 Helene Kahlstorf, North Country Community Health Board
2008 Marcia Ward, Winona County Commissioner
2007 Karen Pfeifer, Nobles-Rock Community Health Board
2006 Marvin Tinklenberg, Pipestone County Commissioner
2005 Bev Wangerin, McLeod County Commissioner
2004 John Baerg, Watonwan County Commissioner
2003 Ed Larson, Crow Wing County Commissioner
2002 Harlan Madsen, Kandiyohi County Commissioner
2001 Jean Michaels, Olmsted County Commissioner
2000 Mary Haug, Aitkin County Commissioner
1999 Dean Masset, Goodhue County Commissioner
1998 Bill Brakke, Rock County Commissioner
in memory of Commissioner Kal Michel