2007Community Health Conference - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Community Health Conference: 2007

Prevent, Promote, Protect: Public Health at the Crossroads

The State Community Health Services Advisory Committee (SCHSAC) Community Health Conference Planning Workgroup was charged to select a theme, objectives, format, and speakers for the 2007 Community Health Conference and assist MDH staff in hosting the conference.

Summary of Activities

This Workgroup organized the program and speakers for the Minnesota Department of Health 2007 Community Health Conference: Prevent. Promote. Protect. Public Health at the Crossroads held September 26-28, 2007 at Cragun's Resort and Conference Center in Brainerd, Minnesota. Nearly 360 people from around the state attended the conference.

Conference goals focused on learning about the current state of public health nationally; discussing the roles and responsibilities of public health leaders and considering what can be done to support and nurture the next generation of leaders; and thinking creatively about the growing diversity in our Minnesota communities.

The conference featured keynote speaker Patrick Libbey, the National Association of County and City Health Officials Executive Director, who spoke on the new national public health brand identity and ways to help promote it. There were three general session presenters. Deputy State Chaplin Major John Morris, of the Minnesota Army National Guard, spoke about the support activities planned for returning veterans and ways communities could become involved. Janet Porter, Harvard University, shared strategies to achieve effective partnerships. The concluding conference speaker was Tou Ger Xiong, a diversity consultant, comedian, storyteller, rapper and actor who taught culture through laughter. Nineteen concurrent sessions focused on topics that included leadership and workforce issues, holistic health, chronic disease prevention, Freedom to Breathe legislation, children's mental health, storytelling, drug use, and community gardening.

The community health awards and reception once again celebrated some of Minnesota's outstanding public health programs and leaders.

2007 Conference Planning Committee

Gary Sorenson, Chair, Cottonwood-Jackson Community Health Board
David Benson, Nobles-Rock Community Health Board
Carol Berg, Minnesota Council of Health Plans
Ben Brunsvold, Clay-Wilkin Community Health Board
Lowell Johnson, Washington County Community Health Board
Helene Kahlstorf, Beltrami-Clearwater-Hubbard-Lake of the Woods Community Health Board
Idelle Longman, City of Edina Community Health Board
Julie Myhre, Carlton-Cook-Lake-St. Louis Community Health Board
Joyce Mueller, Crow Wing Community Health Board
Bev Wangerin, Meeker-McLeod-Sibley Community Health Board
Diane Winter, Meeker-McLeod-Sibley Community Health Board
Marcia Ward, Winona County Community Health Board

MDH Representatives

Debra Burns, Community and Family Health
Kim Edelman, Healthy Policy
Erica Fishman, Health Promotion Chronic Disease
Kathy Grantham, Information Systems and Technology
Larry Gust, Environmental Health
Cynthia Hickman, Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Prevention and Control
Janice Jones, Compliance Monitoring
Ann Kinney, Health Policy
Marcia Robert, Office of Emergency Preparedness
Kristen Tharaldson, Health Policy

MDH Staff to the Workgroup

Peggy Malinowski, Office of Public Health Practice, Community and Family Health Division
Allison Thrash, Office of Public Health Practice, Community and Family Health Division