2010 Community Health Conference - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Community Health Conference: 2010

Looking, Leading, Moving Ahead

The State Community Health Services Advisory Committee (SCHSAC) Community Health Conference Planning Work Group selected the format, theme, objectives, and speakers for the 2010 Community Health Conference, and assisted Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) staff in hosting the conference.

Summary of Activities

The 2010 Community Health Conference Planning Workgroup worked with MDH staff to organize the format, program, and speakers for the 2010 Community Health Conference, Looking, Leading, Moving Ahead. The conference was held on September 29, 30, October 1, 2010, at the Cragun's Conference Center in Brainerd, Minnesota.

308 people statewide attended the conference, including: local elected officials; local public health administrators, directors and staff; SCHSAC members and alternates; community-based organization leadership and staff; community health board and advisory committee members; MDH leadership and staff; and other public health professionals.

Conference participants had the opportunity to:

  • Meet and network with public health colleagues
  • Develop an understanding of the public health community's role in the electronic health movement
  • Contemplate and consider if you can ... or you can't
  • Learn about the impact of recent economic and demographic events on Minnesota's future
  • Hear about important public health issues from national leaders
  • Be inspired to meet the challenges of the future
  • Gain fresh perspectives by attending timely concurrent sessions; and
  • Receive tips, tools, and resources to assist in "looking, leading, and moving ahead"

The conference featured five general sessions:

  • Arthur Davidson, MD, Director Public Health Informatics and Preparedness Denver Public Health
    Public Health Informatics: What is it? and What Does it Mean for Me?
  • Karla Heeter, Motivational Speaker
    If You Think You Can!
  • Tom Gillaspy, PhD, Minnesota State Demographer
    Minnesota and the New Normal
  • Paul Jarris, MD, Executive Director of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, with Bobby Pestronk, MPH, Executive Director of the National Association of County and City Health Officials
    Looking, Leading, Moving Ahead: National Perspectives
  • Sanne Magnan, MD, PhD, Commissioner of Health
    Conference Closing Address

In addition, 20 concurrent sessions were offered on the following topic areas:

  • Upstream approaches to health promotion
  • Partnerships that work
  • Embracing quality improvement
  • Staying ahead of emerging issues
  • Leveraging the social determinants of health

Conference participants continue to see value in the annual Community Health Conference; participants continue to respond that they most like the networking time provided during the conference.

2010 Conference Planning Committee

Dave Perkins, Chair, Olmsted County Commissioner
Bev Bales, Douglas County Commissioner
Kenneth Bence, Minnesota Council of Health Plans / Medica
Cynthia Bennett, Aitkin-Itasca-Koochiching Community Health Board
David Benson, Nobles County Commissioner
Jill Briggs, Chisago County CHS/PHN Service
Patti Constant, MDH, Public Health Labs
Maggie Diebel, MDH, Community and Family Health
Gail Gentling, MDH, Office of Performance Improvement
Samantha Herrington, MDH, Office of Emergency Preparedness
Ardis Henriksen, Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Pipestone PHS
Jay Jaffee, MDH, Office of Statewide Health Improvement Initiatives
Helene Kahlstorf, North Country Community Health Board
Ann Kinney, MDH, Health Policy
Idelle Sue Longman, Edina Community Health Board
Randy Maluchnik, Carver County Commissioner
Karen Nordstrom. City of Bloomington Council Member
Dan Symonik, MDH, Environmental Health
Isaac Triebold, MDH, Infectious Disease Epi. Prevention and Control
Eileen Grundstrom/Nyagatare Valens, Office of Minority and Multicultural Health
Bev Wangerin, McLeod County Commissioner

Staff to Conference

Chelsie Huntley, Office of Performance Improvement
Peggy Malinowski, Office of Performance Improvement
Nicole Parsons, Office of Performance Improvement