Blueprint for Successful Local Health Departments Workgroup (2009-2010)

This workgroup was convened to answer the following questions: What makes a strong local public health organization? What factors contribute to its success? How do different "operating environments" (e.g., the unique local mix of politics, finances, and geography) influence public health outcomes for the community? The workgroup will identify both positive and negative trends in organizational change currently affecting local health departments, and will identify and recommend strategies for maintaining and strengthening public health roles and responsibilities in today's operating environments.

Final Report

Updating Minnesota's Blueprint for Public Health (PDF: 442KB / 86 pages)
December 2010

Other Publications and Resources

CHS Administration: What It Is and Why It Matters (PDF: 102KB / 12 pages)
August 2010

A Discussion Guide for Exploring Public Health Governance and Structure Change (PDF: 148KB / 8 pages)
Draft, September 2009

Factors Positively Associated with Local Health Department Performance (Literature Review) (PDF: 62KB / 5 pages)
May 2009

Workgroup Membership

* CHS Administration Subcommittee Members

Larry Kittelson, Chair * (Mid-State)
Pat Adams (MDH Assistant Commissioner)
Elizabeth Auch (Countryside)
John Baerg (Watonwan)
Ann Bajari * (Meeker-McLeod-Sibley)
David Benson (Nobles-Rock)
Merrilee Brown (Scott)
Bonnie Brueshoff * (Dakota)
Patricia Coldwell (Association of Minnesota Counties)
Christopher Dahlberg (Carlton-Cook-Lake-St. Louis)
Renee Frauendienst * (Stearns)
Rachel Green * (Quin County)
Lester Kachinske (Itasca)
Karen Main (Goodhue)
Susan Morris (Isanti-Mille Lacs)
Julie Ring (Local Public Health Association)
Diane Thorson (Otter Tail)

MDH Workgroup Staff

Debra Burns (Office of Performance Improvement)
Mary Rippke (Office of Performance Improvement)
Allison Thrash (Office of Performance Improvement)
Additional OPI staff as needed