State Community Health Services Advisory Committee (SCHSAC)

Executive Committee

The SCHSAC Executive Committee consists of representatives from each SCHSAC region. Each region also has an alternate to the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee meets five to eight times per year; three meetings take place in the Twin Cities metro area, and the fall meeting is typically held in northern Minnesota in conjunction with the Community Health Conference. The Executive Committee:

  • Develops the annual work plan for SCHSAC.
  • Conducts interim business of the advisory committee, and develops recommendations for decision by SCHSAC.
  • Examines ways to increase the capacity of SCHSAC

Members and Alternates

Chair Karen Ahmann (Polk-Norman-Mahnomen) NW
Past Chair Larry Kittelson (Horizon) WC
Chair-Elect Doug Huebsch (Partnership4Health) WC
Central Regional Member: Susan Morris (Isanti-Mille Lacs)
Regional Alternate: Warren Peschl (Benton)
Metro Regional Member: Nancy Schouweiler (Dakota)
Regional Alternate: Cynthia Bemis Abrams (Bloomington)
Northeast Regional Member: Loren Bergstedt (Carlton-Cook-Lake-St.Louis)
Regional Alternate: Betsy Johnson (Aitkin-Itasca-Koochiching)
Northwest Regional Member: Betty Younggren (Quin)
Regional Alternate: Helene Kahlstorf (North Country)
South Central Regional Member: Bill Groskreutz (Faribault-Martin)
Regional Alternate: Amy Roggenbuck (LeSueur-Waseca)
Southeast Regional Member: Marcia Ward (Winona)
Regional Alternate: Ted Seifert (Goodhue)
Southwest Regional Member: Rosemary Schultz (Des Moines Valley)
Regional Alternate: Jenna Wiese (Countryside)
West Central Regional Member: Bev Bales (Horizon)
Regional Alternate: Don Skarie (Partnership4Health)

Meetings and Materials

Visit: SCHSAC Meetings & Materials


The functions of the Executive Committee are to assist the MDH in preparing issues for discussion by the SCHSAC; to assist SCHSAC in managing its business efficiently; and, under special circumstances, to act in the name of the SCHSAC (subject to formal approval by SCHSAC at its next meeting). The Executive Committee is responsible for preparing the annual SCHSAC work plan.

The Executive Committee briefly meets prior to the full SCHSAC meetings to make final changes to the agenda and to discuss related issues. Additional meetings are scheduled throughout the year, as needed.


There are eleven members, representing the eight Community Health Board (CHB) districts, plus the SCHSAC Chair, Chair-Elect, and Past Chair. Usually, five to eight meetings (including at least one prior to each full SCHSAC meeting) are held.