Loan Forgiveness and Repayment Programs

The Office of Rural Health and Primary Care offers a range of loan forgiveness and repayment programs to health care students or residents. Some of these programs require the participant to work in a designated rural area. According to Minnesota statute 144.1501, a “Designated Rural Area” for the Loan Forgiveness Programs is defined as a statutory and home rule charter city or township that is  (1) outside the seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2 excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester and St. Cloud.


The tables below briefly describe two programs: the Loan Forgiveness Program and below that the Loan Repayment Programs.

View each of the following program links for detailed information and application deadlines.

Minnesota Loan Forgiveness Program

For more information and assistance,
contact Brenda Flattum
brenda.flattum@state.mn.us
651-201-3870

Applications for Fiscal Year 2016 are now closed.
Please check back in August 2015 for the next application cycle.

For the first time, MDH will solicit, award and manage this grant electronically, using the WebGrants@MDH grant management system. Application information and materials can be found at WebGrants@MDH. View the Instructions for using WebGrants@MDH (PDF).

Program

Eligible Health Professionals

Terms of Practice

Annual LFP Amount

Rural Physician

 

RESIDENTS in Pediatric, Family Practice, Internal Medicine, Psychiatric, or OB/GYN programs OR Licensed Physicians

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in rural area

$25,000

Urban Physician

 

RESIDENTS in Pediatric, Family Practice, Internal Medicine, Psychiatric, or OB/GYN programs OR Licensed Physicians

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in federally designated urban Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) or Medically Underserved Area (MUA)

$25,000

Rural Mental Health Professional

 

LICENSED in Psychology, LICSW, LMFT or LPCC

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in rural area

$12,000 for Psychologists $7,000 for LICSW, LMFT, LPCC

Urban Mental Health Professional

LICENSED in Psychology, LICSW, LMFT or LPCC

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in federally designated urban Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) or Medically Underserved Area (MUA)

$12,000 for Psychologists $7,000 for LICSW, LMFT, LPCC

Rural Midlevel Practitioner

STUDENTS in NP, PA, CNM, Nurse Anesthetist & Advanced CNS Programs OR Licensed in NP, PA, CNM, Nurse Anesthetist & Advanced CNS

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in rural area

$12,000

Nurse

STUDENTS in RN and LPN programs OR Licensed RN/LPN

Serve 2 years minimum with option to extend 2 additional years in nursing homes or ICF for persons with developmental disabilities OR hospital if owns/operates a licensed nursing home (must work 50% time in nursing home)

$5,000

Public Health Nurse

Licensed RN with certificate as public health nurse

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in rural area

$9,000

Allied Health Care Tech and Nurse Faculty

Individuals studying to teach in allied health care or advanced nursing

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum as postsecondary faculty

$6,750

Rural Pharmacist

STUDENTS and RESIDENTS in Pharmacy Programs OR Licensed Pharmacists

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in rural area

 

$20,000

Dental Therapist

STUDENTS in Dental Therapist/Advanced Dental Therapist Programs OR Licensed Dental Therapists/Advanced Dental Therapists

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in rural area

$10,000

Dentist

STUDENTS and RESIDENTS in Dental Programs OR Licensed Dentists

Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum. 25% of patient visits are public programs or sliding fee scale

$30,000

 

 

Loan Repayment Programs

For more information on these programs,
contact Deb Jahnke
debra.jahnke@state.mn.us
651-201-3845

View each of the following program links for detailed information and application deadlines.

Program

Eligible Health Professionals

Terms of Practice

Annual LFP Amount

Federal National Health Service Corps (NHSC)

 

Primary Care Physicians (MD or DO), Dentists, Dental Hygienists, CNMs, NPs, PAs, Clinical Psychologists, Licensed Clinical Social Workers, Psychiatrists, Licensed Professional Counselors, Psychiatric Nurse Specialists, Marriage & Family Therapists

2 years minimum (cannot coincide with any other service obligation) in federally designated HPSA, rural or urban

$30,000 (HPSAs scoring 14 and higher) $20,000 (HPSAs scoring 13 and under)

Minnesota State Loan Repayment Program (SLRP)

PC Physicians (MD or DO), Dentists, Dental Hygienists, CNMs, NPs, PAs, Clinical Psychologists, Licensed Independent Clinical Social Workers, Psychiatrists, Licensed Professional Counselors, Psychiatric Nurse Specialists, Marriage & Family Therapists

2 years minimum (cannot coincide with any other service obligation) federally designated HPSA, rural or urban

$20,000

 

Updated Thursday, July 09, 2015 at 05:42PM