Public Health Nurse Loan Forgiveness Guidelines

Minnesota Public Health Nurse Loan Forgiveness Guidelines


The application period for the Fiscal Year 2018 cycle of the Minnesota Health Care Loan Forgiveness Program is from Tuesday, November 1st to Friday, January 6, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. CST. The application must be emailed to: health.loanforgiveness@state.mn.us
Application materials:

Available November 1
Program administrator: Paia Vang, 651-201-3895, paia.vang@state.mn.us
Eligible licensed health professionals: Licensed Registered Nurse (RN) with certificate as public health nurse
Minimum service obligation: Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in rural area
Annual repayment amount: $5,000
The purpose of Minnesota’s Loan Forgiveness program is to recruit and retain health care professionals and educators to needed areas and facilities within Minnesota. Loan forgiveness is an important benefit for health care professionals and educators as well as health care facilities and communities experiencing a shortage of access to primary health care services.
The Office of Rural Health and Primary Care (ORHPC), Minnesota Department of Health administers this program. It is funded by the State of Minnesota. Program eligibility requirements and benefits are established by state statute, 144.1501 authorizing the health professional education loan forgiveness program.

This program is offered to registered nurses licensed in Minnesota who have obtained a registration certificate as a public health nurse from the Board of Nursing in accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 6316. A prospective participant must submit an application to the ORHPC during the open application cycle.
The Public Health Nurse Loan Forgiveness Program provides funds for repayment of qualified educational loans for registered nurses. Applicants are responsible for securing their own educational loans. Credit card or loans from family members do not qualify. Qualified loans include government, commercial, and foundation loans for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education and living expenses related to the graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.
This is a competitive selection process. Selections are made based on suitability for practice as indicated by personal and professional experience and training noted on an application, as well as other relevant factors. Preference will be given to applicants who document diverse cultural competencies. The number of applicants ORHPC may select for participation varies annually and is contingent upon state funding.
Participants are required to practice for at least 30 hours per week, for at least 45 weeks per year, for a minimum of three years in a designated rural area. A designated rural area is defined by Minnesota statute 144.1501 as a statutory and home rule charter city or township that is (1) outside the seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2 excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester and St. Cloud.

Selected participants shall provide direct patient care hours/client–centered services. Hours cannot be fulfilled meeting with providers, process improvement, policy development, supervising, or administering programs.

Full–time patient/client–centered services, may include:
  • Patient/client health teaching and care coordination
  • Provision of home care and/or hospice nursing services
  • WIC assessment of nutritional and medical risk factors
  • Long term care assessments and care coordination
  • Family home visiting assessment of risk factors such as adverse childhood experience
  • Immunizations and case management for persons with communicable diseases such as tuberculosis
  • Counseling and medication management for family planning services
  • Correctional health assessment and care coordination
  • Care coordination for children with special health needs
  • Other patient/client-centered services
Participants must begin their service obligation under this program no later than March 31 following completion of their nursing program. Participants must complete their nursing program and certification as originally stated in their application.

ORHPC will make an annual payment to the participant in the amount of up to $5,000, not to exceed $20,000 total for the maximum four–year period or the balance of the designated loan(s), whichever is less subject to the availability of funds appropriated by the Minnesota State Legislature for the loan forgiveness program.
Annually, ORHPC requires participants to verify their continued employment and submit documentation that they have applied the loan forgiveness funds to their designated educational loan(s). This information will be verified prior to each annual disbursement. It is at the discretion of the participant to pay their loan servicer(s) with an annual lump sum payment, or make monthly payments that total the annual disbursement from ORHPC.
Loan forgiveness payments made to participants under the loan forgiveness program are considered exempt from federal income taxes. The state of Minnesota will not issue a 1099 form.
Service obligations may be suspended as a result of an illness, disability or temporary job transfer lasting less than a total of 12 months during a three- or four-year commitment. All requests for temporary suspension of service must be in writing in advance (if known) and substantiated by documentation deemed acceptable and approved by the state on a case-by-case basis. The agreement end date will be extended by the amount of time a participant is in suspension status. Suspensions cannot exceed 12 months.
If a participant does not fulfill the minimum obligation of two years of practice in a designated rural area, or if the participant cannot verify that program funds were spent towards approved student loans, the participant will be required to repay the total amount ORHPC paid, plus interest, at a rate established according to Minnesota Statutes 270C.40.

 

Updated Tuesday, October 03, 2017 at 12:04PM