Urban Physician Loan Forgiveness Guidelines

Minnesota Urban Physician Loan Forgiveness Guidelines


Application timeline: The application period for the Fiscal Year 2018 cycle of the Minnesota Health Care Loan Forgiveness Program is from Tuesday, November 1st to Friday, January 6, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. CST. The application must be emailed to: health.loanforgiveness@state.mn.us
Application materials:

Available November 1
Program administrator: Paia Vang, 651-201-3895, paia.vang@state.mn.us
Eligible licensed health professionals: Residents in Pediatric, Family Practice, Internal Medicine, Psychiatric, or OB/GYN programs or Licensed Physicians
Minimum service obligation: Serve 3 years minimum/4 years maximum in federally designated urban Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) or Medically Underserved Area (MUA)
Annual repayment amount: $25,000
Urban mental health professionals and urban doctors must practice within a federally designated Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) or in a Medically Underserved Area/Population (MUA/P).
The HPSA "Find by Address" query available on the HRSA Data Warehouse at http://datawarehouse.hrsa.gov/tools/analyzers/geo/ShortageArea.aspx will identify if an address is located within a Geographic HPSA, Population HPSA or an MUA/P. It will not identify if the address has a Facility HPSA, a type of HPSA designation that is specific and unique to the facility located at that address. If you think your facility may have a Facility HPSA or you have questions about HPSA Find, you can contact the program administrator within the Office of Rural Health and Primary Care.
The purpose of Minnesota’s Loan Forgiveness program is to recruit and retain health care professionals to needed areas and facilities within Minnesota. Loan forgiveness is an important benefit for health care professionals as well as health care facilities and communities experiencing a shortage of access to primary health care services.
The Office of Rural Health and Primary Care (ORHPC), Minnesota Department of Health administers this program. It is funded by the State of Minnesota. Program eligibility requirements and benefits are established by state statute, 144.1501 authorizing the health professional education loan forgiveness program.

This program is offered to primary care medical professions, which include Family Practice, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pediatrics, Internal Medicine and Psychiatry, who plan to practice in an underserved urban community. A prospective participant must submit an application to ORHOC during the open application cycle, as a practicing physician or while completing their final year of medical residency training.
The Urban Physician Loan Forgiveness Program provides funds for repayment of qualifying educational loans for primary care physicians. Applicants are responsible for securing their own educational loans. Qualified loans include government, commercial and foundation loans for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education and living expenses related to the graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.
This is a competitive selection process. Selections are made based on suitability for practice as indicated by personal and professional experience and training noted on an application, as well as preference given to those closest to completing their training. Preference will be given to applicants who document diverse cultural competencies. The number of applicants ORHPC may select for participation varies annually and is contingent upon state funding.
Participants are required to practice for at least 30 hours per week, for at least 45 weeks per year, for a minimum of three years in an underserved urban community. An underserved urban community in Minneapolis or St. Paul is defined by Minnesota statute 144.1501 as a health professional shortage area (HPSA), medically underserved area (MUA), or with medically underserved populations (MUP). Use the website from the federal Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) to verify that a clinic or facility is in one of these designations.

Selected participants shall provide direct patient care hours/client–centered services. Hours cannot be fulfilled meeting with providers, process improvement, policy development, supervising, or administering programs.

Participants must begin their service obligation under this program no later than March 31 following completion of their licensure or residency. Participants must complete their residency program as originally stated in their application.

Participants are eligible to participate for up to four years of loan forgiveness during which they serve as a physician in an underserved urban community. ORHPC will make an annual payment to the participant in the amount of $25,000, not to exceed $100,000 total for the maximum four-year period or the balance of the designated loan(s), whichever is less subject to the availability of funds appropriated by the Minnesota State Legislature for the loan forgiveness program.
Annually, the ORHPC will request participants to verify their employment and document that they have applied the loan forgiveness funds to their designated educational loan(s). This information will be verified prior to each annual disbursement. It is the decision of the participant to pay their loan servicer(s) with a lump sum payment, or make monthly payments that total the annual disbursement.
Loan forgiveness payments made to participants under the loan forgiveness program are considered exempt from federal and state income taxes. The State of Minnesota will not issue a 1099 form.
Service obligations may be suspended as a result of an illness, disability or temporary job transfer lasting less than a total of 12 months during a three- or four-year commitment. All requests for temporary suspension of service must be in writing in advance (if known) and substantiated by documentation deemed acceptable and approved by the state on a case-by-case basis. The agreement end date will be extended by the amount of time a participant is in suspension status. Suspensions cannot exceed 12 months.
If a participant does not fulfill the minimum obligation of three years of practice in an underserved urban community in Minnesota, or if the participant cannot verify that program funds were spent towards approved student loans, the participant will be required to repay the total amount ORHPC paid plus interest, at a rate established according to Minnesota Statutes 270C.40.

 

Updated Tuesday, October 03, 2017 at 12:03PM