A to Z Navigation

Glossary of Terms and Acronyms Related to e-Health

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

The Federal Advisory Committee Act was enacted in 1972 to ensure that advice by the various advisory committees formed over the years is objective and accessible to the public. The Act formalized a process for establishing, operating, overseeing, and terminating these advisory bodies and created the Committee Management Secretariat to monitor compliance with the Act. The processes utilized by the ONC to receive advice and input on rules and policy related to the HITECH Act are in accordance with this Act.

Reference: http://www.gsa.gov/portal/content/104514

FHA is a collaborative body composed of several federal departments and agencies, including the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), the Department of Defense (DoD), and the Department of Energy (DOE). FHA provides a framework for linking health business processes to technology solutions and standards, and for demonstrating how these solutions achieve improved health performance outcomes.

Reference: http://www.hhs.gov/

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC)

HIT Policy Committee

HIT Standards Committee

Includes information related to ARRA and HITECH Act and web site of ONC. A variety of coordinated federal programs are currently underway to implement strategies to address the goals and objectives comprising the nation’s Health IT agenda. (Stay informed by subscribing to listserv at http://healthit.gov)

See Also: Office of the National Coordinator (ONC)

Federally Qualified Health Centers are public and private non-profit health care organizations that meet certain criteria under the Medicare and Medicaid Programs (respectively, Sections 1861(aa)(4) and 1905(l)(2)(B) of the Social Security Act and receive funds under the Health Center Program (Section 330 of the Public Health Service Act). Types of FQHC include: Community Health Centers, Migrant Health Centers, Healthcare for Homeless Programs and Public Housing Primary Care Programs. The main purpose of the FQHC Program is to enhance the provision of primary care services in underserved urban and rural communities.

Reference: http://bphc.hrsa.gov/about/ or http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/orhpc/shortage/fqhcsection330.html

A formulary is a list of medications (both generic and brand names) that are covered by a specific health insurance plan or pharmacy benefit manager (PBM), used to encourage utilization of more cost-effective drugs. Hospitals sometimes use formularies of their own, for the same reason.

Updated Tuesday, May 01, 2018 at 08:07AM