A to Z Navigation

Glossary of Terms and Acronyms Related to e-Health

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Under the direction of CMS, the Quality Improvement Organization program consists of a national network of fifty-three QIOs responsible for each U.S. state, territory, and the District of Columbia. QIOs work with consumers, physicians, hospitals, and other caregivers to refine care delivery systems to make sure patients get the right care at the right time, particularly among underserved populations. The program also safeguards the integrity of the Medicare trust fund by ensuring payment is made only for medically necessary services, and investigates beneficiary complaints about quality of care.

Reference: http://www.cms.gov/

See Also: Stratis Health

Updated Monday, May 01, 2017 at 10:33AM