

memo

DATE: June 30, 2017

TO: Trainee Applicants

FROM: Hearing Instrument Dispenser Credentialing, Health Occupations Program

SUBJECT: Trainee Application

Minnesota Law requires that all persons who dispense hearing instruments must either 1) pass the Minnesota Hearing Instruments Dispenser Examination or 2) be approved by the Minnesota Department of Health to work as a trainee. A trainee must be at least 21 years of age.

If you are a licensed audiologist or in an audiology masters or doctoral program, you are not required to apply for trainee status. Persons who dispense hearing instruments are responsible for knowledge of the information contained in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 153A and Minnesota Statutes Sections 148.5195, 148.5197 and 148.5198, Minnesota Statutes Section 325G.06 – 325G.14 and 325G.203 – 325G.208 as well as the Food and Drug Administration regulations Sec. 801.420 Hearing aid devices; professional and patient labeling and Sec. 801.421 Hearing aid devices; conditions for sale. Please pay particular attention to Minnesota Statute Section 153A.14, Sub 4a which details the requirements and responsibilities of trainees and supervisors.

The fee for a person seeking trainee status and qualifying for certification are as follows:

- Trainee Application Fee \$230.00
- Practical Examination Fee \$1,200.00
- Annual Certification Application Fee for Hearing Instrument Dispensers \$750.00

If you have any questions concerning the trainee application, please call 651-201-3724.

Mail/Courier Drop-off

Mail	Courier Drop-Off Delivery
Minnesota Department of Health	Minnesota Department of Health
Health Occupations Program	Health Occupations Program
P.O. Box 64882	85 E. 7 th Place, Suite 220
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882	St. Paul, MN 55101

Minnesota Department of Health PO Box 64882 St. Paul, MN 55164-0882 651-201-3731 health.hid@state.mn.us www.health.state.mn.us

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-3731. Printed on recycled paper.