Baskets of Care Steering Committee - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Health reform logo

Baskets of Care Steering Committee

The Baskets of Care Steering Committee will play an active role over the course of developing and defining the baskets of care. The steering committee will recommend the seven initial baskets of care to the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Health and provide direction to subcommittees whose purpose is to recommend definitions for each basket of care.

Steering committee members will review proposed uniform definitions of the seven baskets of care and provide final recommendations about those definitions; recommend quality measures for the baskets of care; identify operational and administrative challenges associated with market adoption of baskets of care and participate in identifying solutions to those issues.

The steering committee consists of 14 members with medical, health care delivery and health care administration expertise representing stakeholder groups that may implement or use baskets of care. Steering committee members represent stakeholders such as health care providers, health plans, consumers and other organizations that have experience working with baskets of care.

The Minnesota Department of Health has awarded a contract to the Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement (ICSI) to facilitate the steering committee process.


Meetings will be open to the public.

Past Meetings:

Friday, January 9, 2009

Friday, January 16, 2009

Thursday, June 4, 2009

Future Meetings:

Thursday, October 15, 2009
Noon – 5 p.m.
Minnesota Department of Health
Snelling Office Park Building, Mississippi Room
1645 Energy Park Drive
Saint Paul, MN 55108
Google map


Steering Committee Chairs:

Minnesota Council of Health Plans
George Isham, M.D., M.S., Chief Health Officer and Plan Medical Director

Mayo Clinic
Douglas L. Wood, M.D., cardiologist
Mayo Clinic

Steering Committee Members:

Minnesota Medical Association (primary care)
David Estrin, M.D., pediatrician
South Lake Pediatrics

Minnesota Medical Association (specialty care)
Michael Tedford, M.D., otolaryngology
The Ear, Nose and Throat Clinic and Hearing Center

Minnesota Nurses Association
Andrew Calkins, MMA, director of organizing and member information
Minnesota Nurses Association

Minnesota Hospital Association (urban hospital)
David K. Wessner, MHA, president and CEO
Park Nicollet Health Services

Minnesota Hospital Association (rural hospital)
Carl Vaagenes, president and CEO
St. Gabriel’s Hospital

Buyers Health Care Action Group
Jeanne Denz, director of global benefits
General Mills

National Partnership for Women and Families
James Hansen, treasurer and assistant to business manager
IUOE Local 49/Consumer Worker Coalition

Carol, the Care Marketplace
Tom Valdivia, M.D., president
Carol, the Care Marketplace

Minnesota Council of Health Plans
Jim Eppel, vice president of network management
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota

Insurance Federation of Minnesota
Joseph J. Lotus, director

Minnesota Medical Group Management Association
Darla Morris-Preble, R.N., MBA, administrator
Specialists in General Surgery

AARP Minnesota State Office
Kenneth Zaiken
AARP Great Team


Updated Tuesday, November 16, 2010 at 12:33PM